We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a nice place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn St. Louis Galleria
manhattan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Not a nice place to stay!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The idea of this place is nice. The units are like little condos with kitchens, and upstairs loft where there is a queen bed, a master below and pull out couch. Our room is at the far corner of the property, in the rear and up an outdoor flight of stairs. So away from the main office. At the front desk, upon checking in, I was required to sign a waiver that there would be no more than four people staying in the unit, no parties thrown, and that the guest is responsible for any damage. I thought that was a bit odd, until we noticed that the two rooms below us seem to be a never ending party with a constant stream of people passing through. It seems to be an all day/all night thing. The activity seemed really not what I would have expected staying at a Marriot property because the activities off these people partying day and night seemed a bit "seedy". You would never know that this was a creepy place to stay by the look of it. It has the same appearance as any respectable second tier, smaller property of a big hotel corporation. We saw similar activity to what I described above in another unit. We would have complained or request to be moved but we were staying there one more night.
I would have to say the rest of our experience with the hotel was mixed. There are no pots and pans supplied in the kitchen. If you want to boil water in a tea kettle, you cannot. There is a coffee maker provided with no filters, so you have to use their crummy coffee in pods provided unless you want to go out and buy supplies for a 3 night stay. The mattress on the pull out couch felt like it was stuffed with metal bars so my daughter couldn't sleep the whole first night. The WiFi keeps dropping so we've been constantly having to refresh it. I would NOT stay here again, not recommend The Residence Inn by Marriot at the St. Louis Galleria!

Room Tip: If I HAD to stay at this place, I would request a room close to main building as rowdy people less l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank projectgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI_Marriott_GM, General Manager at Residence Inn St. Louis Galleria, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very sorry that your stay was so poor. I really wish that you would have contacted the Front Desk so that we could have taken care of your issue for you. Please contact me at the hotel at 314.862.1900 so that we can further discuss your list of issues with the property. Once again I apologize and hope to hear from you soon.


Adam Plous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    84
    34
    24
    17
See reviews for
82
44
15
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Nice location, safe but slightly dated property. Went to several rooms each of which had the distinct odor of tobacco smoke. Staff assured us the rooms " had been cleaned" . Stayed only out of necessity and other local properties already full.
Will not stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask any property when they were built vs. when they became a non-smoking hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalcolmOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI_Marriott_GM, General Manager at Residence Inn St. Louis Galleria, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review our hotel. I am truly sorry that you had an issue with a smoke smell in your room. The hotel is most definitely 100% non smoking since 2008, unfortunately some guests still decide to smoke in their suites. I am very sorry that we did not get that smoke smell out of the room before you checked in. Please feel free to contact me at 314.862.1900 and we can discuss further.

Adam Plous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Richmond Heights hotels

Freeport, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

fantastic service - we had studio rooms - it was neat and clean - refrigerator and dishwasher as well as sink and table, fireplace and dual closets - price was good and staff very friendly and helpful fairly close to malls and restaurants - has fitness room as well as a nice outside pool

Room Tip: they also offer family suites that have pull out hide beds and two bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank svfv70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI_Marriott_GM, General Manager at Residence Inn St. Louis Galleria, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay so much including the spacious room and our friendly staff. We hope to see you again sometime!


Adam Plous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
134 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

First the good: this hotel is well located, right across from the St. Louis Galleria, off a major highway. relatively close to the airport. The rooms have apparently been redone recently, are attractively furnished, and the kitchen area is very well equipped. Free wifi. Pleasant staff.

Now the bad: this is an old facility, two stories, and all rooms open to the outside. In addition, there seems to be no soundproofing at all. Noise from the outside, and pounding noise from upstairs at all hours. Some of the rooms are right next to a very busy highway and I think sleeping in those rooms would be a challenge. Finally - and this may seem picky but I have come to expect more from hotels - the sheets were scratchy, the kind that feel as if they have been washed a million times in very strong detergent.

I would not stay here again because of the noise, and general feeling of insecurity being on the ground level with direct access from the outside.

Room Tip: If you decide to stay here, ask for a room in the rear of the facility, as far away from the highway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCvagabond1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI_Marriott_GM, General Manager at Residence Inn St. Louis Galleria, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed the spacious rooms, pleasant staff, and great location. We are sorry however that had issues with some noise and also with your sheets. In the future please notify the Front Desk about these things are our excellent staff will make sure that you have comfortable sheets and a quiet environment. Thanks again for staying with Marriott!


Adam Plous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington
Level Contributor
143 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed in an accessible room and was glad the room entrance was a few steps from the parking place, although others might prefer a lobby entrance rather than a "down and out" motel-like arrangement. The room was spacious with a full kitchen that included an oven and a full-sized refrigerator. The accessible bathroom was excellent with a large roll-in shower and sturdy grab bars. The major downside was an extremely noisy a/c system that had no adjustment on the fan speed. We turned it off and lived with ambient temperatures.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Arlingtonfoodie31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI_Marriott_GM, General Manager at Residence Inn St. Louis Galleria, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay especially the full kitchen. We are truly sorry about the loud A/C unit. In the future, please contact the Front Desk so one of our associates can get that taken care of for you. Thanks again for staying with Marriott and we hope to see you again.


Thank You,

Adam Plous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Thought I reviewed this hotel after our stay and realized I didn't. Great hotel!
We needed a two bedroom unit and was cheerily accommodated.
The rooms are clean and spacious. Do ask to be away from the highway and you will not hear any traffic noise.
Breakfast is good - there are many options. It can be a bit tight in the breakfast area - but you could also bring it back to your room.
Parking is free.
Everyone associated with the hotel was warm and friendly. They went out of their way to be helpful. I thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelcrazy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI_Marriott_GM, General Manager at Residence Inn St. Louis Galleria, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Hello and thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed breakfast and that everyone you came acrsoss was warm and friendly. We hope to see you again sometime!


Thanks,
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This place is Awesome! It's tucked away in a quaint area very close to the train stop, very close to the Galleria and other shopping. My family and I stayed (my parents, myself and my daughter) in a 2 bedroom/2 bath suite and couldn't have been more pleased with our stay. It was spacious, we weren't all over each other but close enough to feel like home. My only wish is that we stayed longer. The staff was great, especially Kesha at the front desk. She's very professional and makes you feel at home. Breakfast was good and hot. I will definitely recommend this place to anyone that needs a little more than average space for their stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsKimMorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI_Marriott_GM, General Manager at Residence Inn St. Louis Galleria, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel and for giving us such an excellent review! We atre thrilled that you loved your spacious 2 bedroom suite and also that you enjoyed our staff, especially Kesha. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond Heights
Homewood Suites St. Louis - Gall...
#1 of 2 in Richmond Heights
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clayton Plaza Hotel
#3 of 5 in Clayton
945 reviews
Forest Park
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Louis / Forest Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn St. Louis Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn St. Louis Galleria

Property: Residence Inn St. Louis Galleria
Address: 8011 Galleria Pkwy, Richmond Heights, Saint Louis, MO 63117-1311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Richmond Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Richmond Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn St. Louis Galleria 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn St. Louis Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn St. Louis Galleria Hotel Richmond Heights
Residence Inn Saint Louis
Saint Louis Residence Inn
Residence Inn St. Louis Galleria Saint Louis, MO - Richmond Heights

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing