We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas at Homewood Suites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites St. Louis - Galleria
DC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Christmas at Homewood Suites”
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We stayed here from December 23-28 while visiting family. We'll definitely stay here again. The idea of being in a hotel on Christmas didn't appeal to me, but Homewood Suites made it all okay. Our one-bedroom suite was very roomy, with a full kitchen that had everything we needed. The king-sized bed was comfortable, and the bathroom and vanity areas were large. Our room was on the 9th floor overlooking the Galleria, so we watched the crazy last-minute shoppers looking for parking spaces. We did bring an Aerobed in case the sofa bed was uncomfortable, and we were glad we did.

Every morning, the breakfast room was full of people doing just what we were doing, so it was actually very cheerful to be there for the holiday. Breakfast was Hilton-style fare, which we're used to, and we like it fine (we usually just have cereal, fruit, and yogurt). We even ran into someone from our hometown!

The staff was superb--friendly greeting, a nice conversation about where we were from, and great service throughout our stay. Sometimes our schedule conflicted with the housekeeping staff's, but we worked around that. The gym doubles as a membership gym for locals, so the equipment was in great shape and the amenities (headphones) were nice. Our grandson swam in the pool. If you want to stock the kitchen, you'll find Trader Joe's, Whole Foods, and Dierberg's nearby.

Minor recommendations: It would be nice to have a chair and a reading light in the bedroom as well as the living room. The sofa beds should be better quality.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    197
    70
    48
    27
See reviews for
325
110
26
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

This hotel was in a great location. Short walk to Metro. Quiet hotel. Very clean. We stayed on the interstate side and it wasn't noisy. Really good breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monkeyKentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

After reading the other reviews, I made my reservation a month in advance and requested a room not facing the highway. Sadly, the "only" rooms of my type (1 bedroom with 2 queen beds) overlook the highway. The nice lady at check in recommended closing the curtains and turning on the fan on the heating unit, but still there was the lull of the highway.
My suggestions would also include-1. Eating until you are stuffed and sleepy at the dinner provided M-Thursday. 2. Drinking until you can not hear the noise (with the free wine and beer provided at the dinner) or 3. Working out in the AWESOME fitness room until you are too pooped to move. (It has treadmills, elipticals, ex. bikes, circuits, free weights, etc....)
Location aside, this is an awesome hotel. The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean, the housekeeping is attentive, and the meals are great and free. They had the biggest workout center I have ever seen in a hotel.

Room Tip: Try 2 king suites that adjoin instead of the 2 queen 1 bedroom units and ask what the room faces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texboymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

The Homewood Suites St. Louis Galleria is located right off the highway next to the galleria mall. The area can get quite busy, but access to the important areas is easy. Overall, I enjoyed the hotel and will plan for it to be regular hotel when visiting that part of St. Louis.

PROS:
-Full studio suites with popcorn
-Honors HHonors preferences
-Free breakfast and manager's reception dinner at night
-Good Service and attentive employees
-Good area of town- lots to do within walking distance for out-of-towners!

CONS:
-Manager's reception and breakfast quality are lower than other Homewood Suites. I understand these free receptions are typically hit-or-miss, but this hotel seems to 'miss' a lot more often than other Homewood Suites
-Right next to the highway/train can be convenient, but it's also pretty noisy.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ring0rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
155 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Stayed here many times within the last 24 months for business close by the hotel. They will shuttle you to and from nearby businesses in Clayton, to the mall, and to other restaurants nearby. Standard hot/cold breakfast items, but all good. Evening free dinner and beer/wine. Dinner is good in a pinch if you need to work or want to save money, but nothing too fancy. Staff is helpful and nice with any needs or requests. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Rooms NOT on the highway (those facing the mall) are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pack-Less
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
160 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

The hotel is located IMMEDIATELY near a busy highway and a Metrolink station. I expected lots of noise, lights, and other nightmares that would prevent me from sleeping well. To my surprise, I found no distractions and had 2 great nights of sleep. They did a great job of sound-proofing the building and provide excellent window coverings to keep out light. The hotel is located next door to the Galleria, one of the largest malls in St. Louis. You also have quick access to 2 interstates and major roads to get you around the city very quickly. The complementary breakfast was excellent, along with the service for the meal. Yeah, they even cleared our tables for us when we finished! The other staff members were very friendly. We had a great stay.

Room Tip: The rooms are suites with 1 or 2 beds in a separate bedroom and a pull-out couch in the living room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MUTigerInIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, OK
Level Contributor
536 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2011

We stayed here with a wedding party and were very impressed. We were in a mini-suite with a small refrigerator, microwave and sink. The bed was extremely comfortable and we enjoyed sleeping late with the great black-out drapes. There were fresh, hot cookies at the reception desk when we checked in. Everyone who worked for the hotel was not only friendly but went out of their way to greet us and make sure we were enjoying our stay. There was a hot breakfast that was better than most hotel breakfasts. Apparently, they also have an evening meal M-T. There was free Internet and free parking. For those not traveling with a laptop, there were several computers for guest use. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morrishj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond Heights
Clayton Plaza Hotel
#3 of 5 in Clayton
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Forest Park
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Louis / Forest Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites St. Louis - Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites St. Louis - Galleria

Property: Homewood Suites St. Louis - Galleria
Address: 8040 Clayton Rd, Richmond Heights, Saint Louis, MO 63117-1102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Richmond Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Richmond Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites St. Louis - Galleria 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A home away from home for business, shopping and exploring St. Louis Centrally located with easy access to Lambert-St. Louis International Airport (STL) and downtown St. Louis, the Homewood Suites by Hilton® St. Louis – Galleria hotel puts you in a great place to make the most of your stay. In the heart of Clayton’s business district you can make this all-suite hotel your home for a few days or a few months. With the St. Louis Galleria Shopping Center only yards away you can shop as much as you’d like. Keep active on the road with a workout in the 1,400 sq. ft. fitness center, have a swim in the indoor pool or soak in the whirlpool. Complimentary Wi-Fi lets you surf the web or get some work done from the comfort of your spacious Richmond Heights hotel suite. Start every day off in style with a full hot breakfast. Take the hassle out of the end of the day when you come home to our complimentary evening social*, available every evening Monday through Thursday. This St. Louis extended stay hotel’s meeting room is the perfect venue for your intimate St. Louis meeting or celebration. *Local and state laws apply ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Homewood Suites St. Louis - Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites St. Louis - Galleria Hotel Richmond Heights
Homewood Suites St. Louis - Galleria Saint Louis, MO - Richmond Heights

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing