We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique Experience”
Review of The Cave - CLOSED

The Cave
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating
springfield, mo
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unique Experience”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Dining in a real cave...in a country setting. Unique. Food is adequate, but don't make the trip for the food...but for the experience of the setting.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blacksmith48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    24
    14
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cornish, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
83 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Strange Start!”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The Cave is off the main road for miles. When you arrive there is an old steel shed with a sign that says to wait here for the next shuttle. The shuttle arrived, it was an old van. The van should not be used to transport customers, it is old with no seat-belts, or much else working! We almost left then, but were told by others the food is good. It was an experience that will not be forgotten. The food was excellent even though the wait was a long time. Everything would be a little better with cleaner more up to date shuttles. I wonder what the kitchen looks like???

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nhscooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lloydLebanonMo, Owner at The Cave, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thanks for visiting the Cave. I am glad that you enjoyed the food. We get lots of compliments on it. I can promise you that the kitchen is in much better shape than the vans. We have to follow the health codes and we nave never failed a health inspection. As far as the vans, I do understand your concern, but the problem is, the road is dirt and it tears up the cars as soon as we buy them. We buy old vans and drive them for a short time and then replace them. When I first bought the business I purchased a new van and it only lasted a few months. There are lots of obsticales in running a business in the country and also in a cave. We try to do the best we can with what we have to work with. Thanks again for your patronage and I appreciate you letting us know of your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The Cave Part is Neat”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I'm not exactly sure how to write this review. The Cave was... interesting. If you are really dying to eat in a cave, you may want to go here. Otherwise, definitely save your money. The place is very fitting for the area, let's just say that. It's not terribly awful but it certainly isn't a nice place. Very diner-esque. The van shuttle up to the restaurant was actually disgusting. Filthy, old, smelly, scary. The service was painfully slow but we did have a very large group. The food was cheap, greasy, heart-attack food.
They were also selling leftover Easter candy (in October) in plastic baggies by the register. Just sayin...
The property seemed like it once may have been a sight to see. Not so much anymore.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SeeTheWorldMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lloydLebanonMo, Owner at The Cave, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments on the Cave. We are sorry that you didn't have a good experience here at the Cave. We try to not mislead anyone about our restaurant. We are out in the country, on a dirt road, in a cave. What else can I say. For the most part everyone enjoys their experience here at the Cave, but you cannot please everyone. We try. If you would let us know of your problem at the time, we would be more than happy to try to correct the situation, or at least try to make sure that it doesn't happen again. We have many books of guests that have raved about our restaurant, so we couldn't be all bad. That is why there are so many different restaurants because everyone enjoys different things and tastes. Again, I thank you for comming to the Cave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson, Missouri
Level Contributor
101 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The Cave”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The food was very good as was the service. The roads getting there are partly gravel and partly paved. You park at the bottom of the hill and they take you to the top in a van. The van needed to be cleaned up. I had a white slacks and was concerned about setting on the seats. Other than the van up to the top everything else was great. We walked back down the hill to our car and enjoyed the walk. Overall I would recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank basket46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great surprise”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We went floating today on the gasconaide and put in at the Cave so after the float we decided to eat there. My husband was reluctant because he didn't think it would be a very nice place but we got there and it was very nice. The atmosphere was very neat and the staff was very friendly and we had the Prime Rib and it was great! What a wonderful way to end the day!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LINDAB072261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cave also viewed

Richland, Pulaski County
Richland, Pulaski County
 
Richland, Pulaski County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing