We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Food in a Unique Setting”
Review of The Cave - CLOSED

The Cave
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious Food in a Unique Setting”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We actually visited this restaurant about 15 years ago and were NOT impressed. So when it was suggested that we give it another try, we were very skeptical. However, due the weather, our original plans for the day were cancelled and we found ourselves with nothing else to do for the afternoon/evening. SO GLAD WE GAVE THE CAVE ANOTHER CHANCE!!! What a DELICIOUS surprise! Apparently the restaurant changed hands about four years ago. The food was delicious! I can't even begin to describe how wonderful it was. Our group of seven people tried the blue cheese burger (excellent!) the catfish (excellent!) the smoked chicken and ribs (excellent!) and the chicken fried steak (excellent!). There was nothing disappointing in the entire meal. The fresh pumpernickel bread was incredible. The seafood chowder was delicious. I seriously can not rave enough! The waitress was friendly and available. The owner, Gary, stopped by our table to check on us. Gary even ran the register when we paid our bill and asked again to make sure everything had been satisfactory. All of this amazing food in a unique setting with live music! Our kids thought we'd won the lottery by choosing this restaurant. Slightly more expensive than we normally look for...it was about $25 per person including the tip, but definitely worth every penny. Wonderful experience and we will definitely be back!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank amy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    24
    14
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter NEbraska
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unique Experience”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We visited The Cave again, probably the 6th time we have been there. Always an adventure, which we enjoy! Gary, the current owner has made ALOT of improvements. One has to realize that the resort was in very poor condition when he took over.
The food quality has improved immensely. Prices are not out of line, considering the package of entertainment-adventure ride in shuttle, historic tour, and pleasant, funny waitress (Debbie).
We will bring more friends and family back with us for "The Cave" experience!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“This is really a unique restaurant!”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We have visited here quite a few times and it just keeps getting better. They have added a few new ideas since we were here last time. Now they have a new (very large) hamburger meal that if you eat it in so many mins, it's free! Next time we come thru here we want to stay in a cabin again and take the float trip down the river!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rjconi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good!”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We were looking for somewhere to eat out with my family the night before graduation at MO S&T in Rolla, the Cave did not disappoint us, in fact the food was great and very reasonably priced. It's a little of the beaten track but well worth the experience. We certainly appreciated the history lesson that the waitress Debbie gave us, the drive up was interesting too!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SuperCooper06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Quirky, Fun Adventure, and Good Food, Too!”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

After reading the varied reviews here, we decided to try the Cave. We went knowing that it was going to be different and our attitude was, "Sounds like fun!" I grew up in rural America, and I had a good idea of what to expect. We were not disappointed! Yes, it is in a remote location. Yes, the van that carries you up to the Cave is well worn. Yes the driver is a "Good Ol' Boy." Yes, you dine in a cave. However, the staff is friendly and proud of their little establishment. The views are wonderful as you climb to the Cave. The greeting as you enter the Cave is warm and friendly. The tables are in what appears to be an old cavern, decorated with string lights and a few examples of the native fauna. The food was very good. We were there on "All You Can Eat Catfish Wednesday", so catfish it was for all of us. It was lightly breaded and very good. The navy bean with ham soup was also quite good. The cole slaw was fresh and wonderful. Our server was very attentive and really trying to make a good impression as it was her first day! Everyone was just so eager to make our experience a positive one.

Bottom line: If you want to a high end, gourmet meal in a plush atmosphere, eat on Park Avenue. If you want a little adventure, some fun times and a good, hearty country meal, then this is the place for you.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elman1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cave also viewed

Richland, Pulaski County
Richland, Pulaski County
 
Richland, Pulaski County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing