We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Suprisingly terrible”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Super 8 Potosi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Potosi
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Potosi
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Suprisingly terrible”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

One word for this hotel: dirty.

Since I spend as much time in hotels as I do my own bed I can tolerate a lot. However this hotel had all the things that I can't handle. I only stayed one night and there was nothing else available so I put up with the room for the night. I wouldn't suggest you do the same....

*Dirty hotel room floor: hair, and various other things all over the floors meant I never took off my shoes.
*Dirty sheets and bed spreads: hair all over, stains on the bed spread. Clearly they don't wash the bed spread and blankets very often.
*Furniture was stained
*Had a room facing the main street which was very noisy

If I ever travel through Potosi again I won't stay here again!

Room Tip: My tip: don't stay here and if you have to call ahead and ask for clean sheets/blankets. Also as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KnowingThisKnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna D, General Manager at Super 8 Potosi, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
I'm sorry for your bad experience at our hotel, we have put new policies in place to insure this never happens again! Hopefully you will give us another chance. Donna Valle, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    49
    36
    25
    16
See reviews for
62
24
18
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

I was a little nervous about booking the Super 8 in Potosi, MO, since it was the only hotel in town. I was amazed at how helpful the evening manager was. She went out of her way to help me with an item I had forgotten to pack. This is a well run, clean, and easy to find hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room with two queen size beds. It included microwave, fridge, recliner, and coffee. We we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeautyMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna D, General Manager at Super 8 Potosi, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, hopefully we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

This property has a lot to offer. The rooms are small but comfortable. The housekeeping staff does a good job of keeping everything clean. Everything is up-to-date and kept in good condition. The staff is outstanding, doing all they can to make sure you have an enjoyable stay. Fresh cookies are baked daily and the coffee pot is always on. The rooms have both a small microwave and refrigerator. They allow pets for a modest additional fee to their reasonable rates. This hotel has much to recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna D, General Manager at Super 8 Potosi, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is the only motel in Potosi but they don't act like it. Over the years the owners have funneled money back into improvements and upkeep. The rooms are clean and have a mini refrigerator and microwave. The staff is helpful and pleasant.
The breakfast is about what you'd expect: coffee, tea, juice, some fruit plus yogurt, cereal and bread items. Not great but not bad either. They've added a waffle maker.
The wi fi connection in my room worked well and there is a computer in the lobby you can use.
I am a repeat customer and find my stay comfortable with no nasty surprises.
The furnishings are adequate, not stylish and brand new but certainly in keeping with the price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna D, General Manager at Super 8 Potosi, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your review! We do strive to keep updated and will continue to do so. We hope you will visit again as we will be doing more updates soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

The hotel was not very nice. It was clean, but furnishings were not very modern or stylish. The breakfast items were subpar. I actually purchased breakfast elsewhere. If I were staying in Potosi again, I would stay at this hotel because it's the only one in town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna D, General Manager at Super 8 Potosi, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
We are very sorry you were not pleased with your stay. We are however glad for your helpful input! We are continuously working on improving our property, and hopefully you will give us a second chance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Potosi
13.1 mi away
Super 8 Bonne Terre
Super 8 Bonne Terre
#1 of 2 in Bonne Terre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
21.1 mi away
Tradition Inn
Tradition Inn
#5 of 6 in Farmington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
23.0 mi away
Shepherd Mountain Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Quality Inn Farmington
Quality Inn Farmington
#4 of 6 in Farmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
20.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Farmington
Hampton Inn Farmington
#1 of 6 in Farmington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
20.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Farmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Potosi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Potosi

Property: Super 8 Potosi
Address: 820 E High St, Potosi, MO 63664-1410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Potosi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Potosi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Potosi 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Potosi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing