We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid food.”

Tio's Mexican Bar and Grill
Ranked #10 of 75 Restaurants in Poplar Bluff
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Conway, Arkansas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Solid food.”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I got a little concerned when I saw the 'Speedy Gonzales' on the menu - that's usually how I identify a bad southern Mexican restaurant. But although the menu was straightforward, the food was quality. We asked for a side of jalapenos, and I expected slices from a jar, but we got real jalapenos, sliced and grilled. For a random restaurant in an out-of-the-way city, this place exceeded our expectations.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank odoketa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    16
    3
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“NOT For Lovers of Taco Bell!”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

If tacos and burritos are your idea of good Mexican food, forget about Tio's. However, if you like a true Mexican dish order something like Tio's Molcajete. A TON of Beef and chicken served in a sizzling stone bowl as big as a soup tureen! Do not forget the tableside made guacamole' ( if you're not worried about cost order a double order on the guac and put it on EVERYTHING! ) or the above average Margarittas. Good service, efficient and attentive if not overly friendly. Nice pricing for what you get too. We're from Wisconsin and will try to talk our daughter and her family who live in Poplar Bluff into eating here every time we visit!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hugh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lunch break”
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Great, fresh, made at table guacamole. Eat here a few times and service has been consistent. Don't get to poplar bluff much, but when I'm here and craving Mexican, this is where I eat.

Helpful?
Thank Soupbones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poplar Bluff, Missouri
Level Contributor
146 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“we use to eat there often”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

It is hit or miss. Recently service has been fair to poor. The prices are average fore the area. We have started going elsewhere for Mexican in bluff. It was much better a few years and it is unclear what has happened. Portions are good size and are pretty typical.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank southwesttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doniphan, Missouri
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Mexican food for Missourians”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We have visited Tio's at least a dozen times since it opened and have never been disappointed with the food or the service. We are from San Diego and this restaurant is as good as any chain there. Yes, there are more 'authentic' mexican restaurants, but not around here.
If you like good mexican food, this place is hard to beat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tio's Mexican Bar and Grill also viewed

Poplar Bluff, MO
Poplar Bluff, MO
 

Been to Tio's Mexican Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing