We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had better”
Review of Myrtle's Place

Myrtle's Place
Ranked #5 of 74 Restaurants in Poplar Bluff
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
poplar bluff mo.
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Had better”
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

The buffet choices is not good. Service is real bad. The food does not taste that great. It use to be better. Do not know what happened. The restrooms are real nasty

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 9mmjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanna A, Manager at Myrtle's Place, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review our restaurant. We do not have a buffet, so unsure of your review or was at the right place. We take pride in customer services and clean restrooms. We have a new non smoking entrance and look forward for you to try us again. Again we don't have a buffet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    10
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sikeston
1 review
“character!”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stopped in after reading the reviews here on trip advisor and did NOT tell the staff. I had to wonder if being "new" had anything to do with the "greatness" of this place. Our waitress seemed to know we were newbies anyways but you could tell she treated everyone the way she was treating us.
These ladies are on top of their game! We watched and noted that if a regular did walk in, they had their drinks brought to the table just as they were sitting down.
The dining area is a bit cramped which was a turn off at first but the waitresses do such a great job at making everyone feel like family that in no time it felt less cramped and like a big family dinner.
We ordered the "debbie special" and you get eggs, meat, hashbrowns, and biscuits and gravy all for under $5! The eggs that were supposed to be over easy actually came out quite hard but I didnt have to say a word. Once I cut into them the waitress either noted the eggs or the expression on my face and was more than happy and I dare to say..Eager, to get it right.
Other than that the food was pretty good. Its like something you could go to grandma's and get.
I would go back for the character of the staff though and I think that may be the reason they have so many "regulars" since they playfully banter back and forth with each other and really do make people feel like they have coming there for years even if its their first time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anne f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poplar Bluff, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Too smokey”
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

The food is good nothing amazing. I quit eating here because of the smoke. It's worse than a bar in there. You have to walk through the smoking to get to non smoking and I couldn't really tell a difference in non smoking.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brandi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poplar Bluff, MO
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pretty good place. exelent omelets.”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Not the fanciest of places and the dining room is a little cramped. But the food is very good. Probably one of the best western omelettes Ive ever had. Good pecan pie also.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jconr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poplar Bluff, Missouri
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Has the best breakfast in town with a home like atmosphere and service

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Myrtle's Place also viewed

Poplar Bluff, MO
Poplar Bluff, MO
 

Been to Myrtle's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing