We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too Much Stuff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ralph Foster Museum

Ralph Foster Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Ralph Foster Museum contains a vast collection of artifacts with special emphasis on the history and culture of the Ozark Mountain Region. Originally housed in Abernathy Hall, a boy's dorm on the campus of College of the Ozarks, the building has been transformed into three floors of exhibits where visitors will find many items of interest, such as antiques, dolls, clocks, music items, a large firearms collection, natural history, and textiles, in addition to the Beverly Hillbillies truck that was used in the television series.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
187 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Too Much Stuff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

There are some interesting things here but surely they have displayed everything they were ever given. It was visual overoad and not user friendly. They would do well to brush up on current thought on museum collection display.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank zullsandraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    58
    11
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“So much more than I expected!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

This is a great museum!! Tons of very interesting exhibits. The day we visited was homecoming for the College of the Ozarks, where it's located so admission was free! I think it's only $6 and kids under 17 free anyway, so great value anytime! This is one of the best museums I've visited, second floor has tons of guns on display, my son and my dad spent an hour just in one room! I would definitely recommend checking this place out if you have the chance!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank asreed75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Level Contributor
239 reviews
116 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“an alternative activity”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is a well done museum located on a college campus. After paying for admission, you enter the museum display area and one of the first things you see is the car from The Beverly Hillbillies TV series. There are many other items on display most concerning life in the Ozarks. This is a good rainy day activity or an alternate if you want to skip a day of shows.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank journalmytrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson, Missouri
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“wide variety”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Wide variety and bigger museum than I realized. It is 3 levels with elevators. The Beverly Hillbillies car, dishes, dolls, clocks, knives, art and antiques on the first floor. Second floor is guns and hunting animals. Third floor is more stuffed animals, veteran tribute. Priced right for families--kids are free, adults $6. Wheelchairs available.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank amy257_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Museum at a low price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We don't like museums, but needed a place to go because the weather was not very good; however, I really enjoyed this museum. It is put together very well and admission is cheap. I would recommend the Ralph Foster Museum as a must see.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ralph Foster Museum also viewed

 

Been to Ralph Foster Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing