We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Class Act” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dobyns Dining Room

Dobyns Dining Room
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $24
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Whether it's a casual lunch, intimate dinner for two or an elegant private dinner party for sixty, our student culinary and service staff at The Keeter Center offer something for every taste. Join us Thursday through Saturday evenings and your dining experience will be enhanced by student entertainment from the wide range of musical talent on our campus. For the sweet tooth anytime of the day, our bakery and college creamery will satisfy with pastries, desserts, homemade ice cream, and a variety of coffee drinks.
Arvada, CO
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A Class Act”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

So near to Branson with all its "famous" BBQ and "homemade" biscuits, the restaurant at the Keeter Center is a true gem of the Ozarks.
Hotel Management, Restaurant Management, and Chef Skills are all part of the curriculum at College of the Ozarks. But students don't just read books about it, they DO it! The Keeter Center's restaurant and its hotel are all there to give students hands-on experience at every level.
An added bonus is that most of the products used for the restaurant meals are raised right on the campus. Even the wheat and corn flour are ground at the water-powered mill, outside the windows of the restaurant.
The prices were a fair value for the excellent quality received. If the staff should make a minor mistake, they are quick to apologize and accept responsibility. After all, they ARE learning. And from what we experienced, anybody in the hospitality industry would eagerly have graduates of College of the Ozarks join their staffs.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MacPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,966
    240
    62
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Benton, Arkansas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fine Dining!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

It was beautifully decorated especially at Christmastime! Perfect for holiday pictures. The food was elegant and decadent. Great place for romantic dates or family dinners. Lunch is the best priced, dinner does get expensive.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Meg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Disappointing Customer Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

We were anxious to try this restaurant since we pass by it many times on our trips to Big Cedar Lodge. We called for reservations on Wed. Nov. 21, 2012 for 5:00 pm. When we arrived, a few minutes early, the 2 hostesses at the reception stand were hesitant in acknowledging our presence. We spoke first informing them of our name and reservations. We were seated promptly, told our waiter would be with us soon, & then promptly ignored. After seeing a nearby table seated, greeted and then having their order taken, we were bewildered where our wait staff was. Several wait staff passed our table without any acknowledgement of our presence. We finally stopped one of the waitresses who passed our table & asked who was assigned to us as we had been sitting over 5 minutes and no one had been to our table. She assured us she would see that someone would be with us shortly. Again, we waited another 5 minutes. At that point, we got up to leave, was intercepted by Emily Howard, the assistant restaurant manger, who assured us there was a misunderstanding of who was assigned to our table. She offered us a "free appetizer" if we wanted to stay. Here is the issue: there were only 5 other couples in the restaurant. There were at least 5 servers. How is it possible for wait staff in training, to not notice a table with patrons who didn't even have drinks on the table. We decided, at that point, to chalk it up as a bad experience and move on. Emily did give us her business card with comments for free desserts with our next visit. We could have understood if the restaurant had been very busy with many guests, but, it was not. We did notice the food being served around us looked very good, but unfortunately, we never had the chance to even order our meal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lkayb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving brunch was excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

We will make this our go-to Thanksgiving meal for our holiday vacation in the Ozarks. The students were quite attentive and personable. Food was plentiful, diverse and simply delicious!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield MO
Level Contributor
50 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Always a special treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

This unusual restaurant consistently provides outstanding, innovative food made from fresh ingredients that are raised locally by students at the College. You’ll start with cranberry muffins served with homemade apple butter that are a taste of the special meal to come. For an appetizer we had fried green tomatoes served with green pepper jelly, fresh salsa and a smoked tarter sauce that was so good we are still trying to replicate it at home. Since the pork is raised and smoked on campus, I had a wonderful pulled-pork quesadilla with caramelized onions and pepper jack, drizzled with BBQ sauce. Our guest thoroughly enjoyed a fajita salad with pulled marinated chicken, sauteed onions, green peppers, diced tomatoes, black beans, served with guacamole. For dessert you can always have one of the delicious ice creams made on campus. Placed in a spacious, lodge-like setting, this is one of the best restaurants in the Ozarks. For any meal you must make reservations unless you want to wait 15-30 minutes. Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ClioSpringfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dobyns Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing