We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is a dive!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Piedmont
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clearwater Lake Resort
Reviewed August 3, 2012

The pictures on the website are very misleading. Our first clue should have been the filthy office. And they make you pay in full before you get the keys to the room. One of our rooms had exposed electrical boxes, a shower w/no showerhead even though they tout 2 showers, a refrigerator that would not close & a phone that didn't work but made wierd clicking noises all night long. The other "cabin" we had was a run down trailer that was about to fall in. It was more disgusting that the first place. We brought food but were afraid to cook any of it in the rat hole of a kitchen. Do Not Believe the picturess on their website - the place is a dive!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rhonda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrell B, Owner at Clearwater Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

We thank you for your visit back in 2012. It is true that we had a shower that was out-of-order in your cabin with an out-of-order sign, we apologize for this and since have updated all of our showers. We also have purchased a commercial steamer which we use on each shower and spray bleach at every cleaning. We also have sold our only mobile home since they are difficult to clean and maintain. In addition, we have totally repainted our cabins. We have added many new features, such as porch swings, new playground and pool furniture. Our pool is second to none since its the only deep full sized pool in the area and tout a kiddy-pool with rain maker palm tree. The kids love it! As for our office, we have made it from a storage place where people can look into the windows, into now our main office. We try to keep coffee available for our guests in it as well as a 48" TV with an Xbox for the children. We sincerely hope that you will try us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
There are newer reviews for Clearwater Lake Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 33 of 33 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2012

We went here with some extended family this past week. My husband, 8 month old baby and myself were in one cabin and my dad, stepmom and siblings were in the mobile home. I don't even know where to start...faulty wiring, water stains in the carpet, ceilings falling down and stained, a ducktaped shower head..a rusted refridgerator. A shower that leaked into a closet and soaked anything on the floor. Our freezer that was covered in about 3 inches of ice so thick that our refridgerator door wouldn't shut all the way. It was discusting, I couldn't set my 8 month old on the floor to play because of the filth and the outlet that wasn't screwed in properly. I wouldn't say the website was misleading, it was just a flat out lie. There were no updates in either of the cabins my family used nor was there any new leather furniture as the website implies. There was mold in numerous places in both cabins, it was bad. I'm not usually a complainer but I feel people should be informed about this place. The pack of wild cats and family of skunks really didn't seem bad compared to the dumpster full of maggots. I really can't believe we actually stayed here, I guess because you have to pay in full before you get the keys to the rooms and we couldn't find a place near by that could accomodate us.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Theold96er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrell B, Owner at Clearwater Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Again thank you for your visit in 2008. We are sincerely sad that you had an unsatisfactory visit and hope that you will try us again. We have sold our mobile home since it was very difficult to clean and maintain even though we have several groups still asking for it. We have made many updates as seen by your groups previous report. We do require a non-refundable deposit since we have had many occurrences of people or groups making a registration just in case they want to visit us and then cancel leaving us to turn down ligament family reservations and causing us a financial loss. We have also had people come in that are already upset before they check in and then want an immediate refund which we have refunded everything except their deposit. Please try us again and we will try our best for you to have a more than satisfactory.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

I just stayed there this past weekend and it was disgusting! You know what you are getting when you pay upwards to $20 to sleep on the ground at a neighboring campsite, but to pay FIVE times that much to live in god knows whose filth...Yuck! Yes it was still considered the "off season" but they could clean the brown dirty fingerpints off the doorframe, the snot on off the bathroom door, spring for very inexpensive shower rings OR a new shower curtain that wasnt torn so you soak down the whole bathroom. Buy some ajax and clean their fixtures once in a while. Between both toilets running, both showers dripping and all three siniks in the cabin dripping, Im shocked I slept at all! The coffee pot had black slime coming out of it...Im surprised I made it out of their without gettign bed bugs much less mudered... it was like the freaken bates motel but JANKY AND FILTHY

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rmclem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrell B, Owner at Clearwater Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

We are sorry that you had an unsatisfactory experience. Its true that the off-season especially May is a time that we have a great deal of work to prepare for the upcoming season. It is a time when we are maintaining and updating/upgrading so many projects from over the last season and winter months. We can't respond to the exact issues you are protesting but we assure you that the pictures that we have on our web-site are clear, updated and not miss-leading. We also since your visit have made numerous updates and upgrades. Please try us again if you want to visit the area, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clearwater Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearwater Lake Resort

Address: Lake 3 Rd, Piedmont, MO 63957
Location: United States > Missouri > Piedmont
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Piedmont
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing