We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth a visit”
Review of Cafe Des Amis

Cafe Des Amis
Ranked #1 of 30 Restaurants in Parkville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

We have eaten here several times, both as a couple and with groups of friends. The food is very good (especially by Kansas standards - where anything that's not Barbequed or deep fried can be hard to find).
They also provide excellent European style service - that is they give you time to enjoy your meal, although American friends we took thought the service was slow, we really enjoyed the more relaxed pace of the meal. (I'm sure it could have been sped up on request).
They have an excellent wine list, including great imported wines. The only downside to the restaurant is that their wines are overpriced - disappointing considering that the food menu is well priced.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    13
    1
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kearney, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
110 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful food - great service”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This small french restaurant has fabulous food and a wonderful staff. It is great for a special occasion, one of their special event dinners, or just because. Have eaten here three or four times. Its always good and a gastronomic experience..

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank lvs_dgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
182 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Charming and delicious”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The town is cute as can be and the owner could not have been more charming. The food was very good, really 4.5 stars at least - I almost never give a 5. Thought the prices were reasonable. The pacing of meal was spot on- not as rushed as most restaurants but we never felt impatient. And no one said "Are you still working on that?" Hurray.
It is less than eight miles from the airport and very much worth the drive if you are headed in or out.
My only small complaint- One overhead light, even set at dim, is simply not flattering or comfortable, not for me, but I am very picky about lighting so take that with a grain of salt.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
828 reviews
429 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“a very friendly French cafe”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This out of the way gem is one of the most friendly French cafes I have had the pleasure of dining in. The menu has lots of great options. Prices are not inexpensive as is the usual case with French cuisine. This is a lovely place for a nice lunch date or for a romantic dinner. Most of us have to walk up the long stair case. There is a place up top to drop off folks who are unable to navigate the stairs.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dixiepeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly wonderful French food in Missouri.”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Very worth trying but expect to drop at least $60 per person. Delicious, unpretentious food, fantastic service and a quaint atmosphere add up to a very pleasant experience. We will likely become regulars (even though it's a thirty minute drive for us.)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jadesilverspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Des Amis also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Des Amis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing