We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Clean newer Hotel.”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ozark
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed here in March 2013. The room was clean. The staff was excellent, always willing to help. Even though they work long hours they were always accomadating. The only draw back was the breakfast it was good but was not planned very well. They ran out of gravy for biscuits for a short time. But I have found this at other Comfort Inn's as well. Need to assign a staff member to do only the breakfast and nothing else. It seems that management is assigning additional duties along with breakfast duties. But over all it was good place to stay and will return. Also is close to Lambert's Resturant, which is an excellent place to eat. Home of The Throwed Rolls. Also there are about 5 Antique Stores within walking distance.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn773, Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thank you for staying at our hotel! We appreciate your review and are glad you had a nice stay. We are so sorry for the problem with the biscuits, we have since then hired a staff member just to work at the breakfast. We have never run out of an item before and this was a first time for us also. We hope you come and stay with us again, without any issue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 74 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2013

This hotel is very old. It does not have an elevator. They tried to put us on the 2nd floor but we protested because we had a lot of things to carry into the room. There is not much to choose from in the area so we ended up here. They told us that it usually costs $89.00 a night but we could stay for $79.00. The Drury Inn we stayed in in Fenton was $89.00 a night a far exceeds this hotel in every aspect.

First of all it is old and smells bad. The pool area is falling apart and is very dimly lit. You can hardly see when swimming at night. Lots of rust along the edge of the pool and the hot tub. The furnishings were old and mismatched. The beds were uncomfortable and old. The pillows were smashed and gave no support. The TV is an old tube TV. The coffee was weak and the breakfast was cold. I mean COLD!

I give them 2 stars because when I complained about being on the 2nd floor when there is no elevator the girl quickly gave us a room on the ground floor. Nice customer service. Thank you.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn773, Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

We are so sorry to hear about your bad stay. We had renovated the building just a few years ago, and are getting all new furniture at the end of this year. We cannot help that there is no elevator, but are glad that this issue was solved when you requested a downstairs room. We warn our guests that the bottom floor is partly smoking so that is why we automatically give room upstairs, and we apologize if this was a problem for you. Also, regarding the pool room, we have since then installed another light and it is much better lit. We think you may have mistaken the paint color as rust, because the tiling around the pool and spa is just painted in that color. Additionally, we didn't really understand what you meant by our "old tube tv's" as we only got new flat screen LED Sony TV's last year. If you could please clarify, then we can solve this issue. Again, we apologize for your bad stay and hope to fix it in any means we can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had reserved a room over the Choice Hotel's website and booked for one night in Ozark for a wedding of a friend's son. The wedding was at 2:00 pm and we arrived a couple hours early and tried to check in earlier than the 2:00 check in time. We were told by the young woman at the desk that it was company policy not to let anyone check in early. When asked if there was a room that we could at least get dressed in she told us the restroom would be the only thing. We have stayed at many Choice hotels in the past and have never had trouble checking in early if the hotel wasn't crowded which this one wasn't. We left and tried to find another hotel in the area that would allow us to check in early and had no problem doing so. When we went back to cancel the room for the night, the desk clerk was very uncooperative. She told us that we had to cancel the same way that we booked the room. Looking at our confirmation it said that the room couldn't be cancelled on line and that we would have to contact the hotel. She told me that she couldn't do that and then I asked what number was I to call since the only number on the confirmation form was their number. She then snipping at me said you have to call Priceline.com or Hotels.com which ever one I had used. At that point, I told her I had booked through the Choice Hotels website and then she grudgingly cancelled our room for the night. I don't think the girl had ever heard about good customer service or if she had she didn't apply it that day. Another couple that we knew also had reservations there and experienced much the same thing. Definitely would not even attempt to stay there again and would think twice about using any Choice Hotel again.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn773, Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

We are very disappointed to hear that you had such an experience with our employee. We train and test them regularly to see if they are properly and respectively accepting customers, and are not happy to hear that such an issue occurred with you. We have talked with the employee that you had a problem with and they have had to deal with the consequences. It is indeed in our policy that we do not accept guests earlier than the check in time unless we have clean rooms, and it is possible that we did not have the room you had requested clean at that time. Again, we are very sorry for the inconvenience and hope that you do not blame all Choice Hotels for one bad night, and also hope you can give us a chance to fix all of your issues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have come to this location several times over the past 10 years. We have always received good service and usually stay in the "Jacuzzi room" on the second floor which has always been clean and fresh. The place is always quiet and the room rate is acceptable. The pool facility is nice and clean.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn773, Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thank you for choosing our hotel again and again to stay at! We appreciate your business and always look forward to seeing you every year. We are glad that you enjoy our rooms, facilities, and breakfast, and hope you continue telling others about the wonderful experiences you have here. Thank you for your review, and see you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We have been staying at this hotel for years when we come down to visit family. At least once a year. Truly there is such a limited choice in this area without traveling a distance that this is probably the best of the worst. It does appear clean, I have no problem with cleanliness of beds or rooms. I did think that they could keep the coffee maker in the rooms cleaner, as I had to clean it before I dared brewed my coffee. The bathrooms are a good size with a vanity the whole length of the bathroom. Rooms are a nice size. Breakfast is about the same at any free breakfast. Someone was always present to refill juices or milk, which is nice. Front desk could use an additional helper at checking or check out time. We had troubles with our room key not working, as did most of the guests while we were there. Keys worked about every fourth time you tried. Think we went down for keys to be remade three to four times on an overnight stay. I even suggested to the front desk clerk that she needed to contact the owner or boss, because people were going to start getting mad at her which it is not her fault they have faulty equipment. The one good thing about this pool that keeps me coming back is that the pool area is very nice. The temperature is comfortable and the pool water is actually heated to a nice temperature. Would be nice if they had the pool towels in the pool area. We always seem to forget them til we are wet, then have to walk to get them at front desk while dripping. Location is good, right off the highway, and easy to get to. Not far from a walmart or eating places.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TnTDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn773, Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thank your for reviewing your hotel and coming here repeatedly. We have addressed many of the issues you had during your stay, and hope that you will have a more smooth one next time. We have fixed all our doors and do not have problems with keys anymore, and have made it mandatory to have two employees when we have an abundance of rooms. We have also had all our equipment checked in the hotel, and even added a rack for towels in the pool area. Next time you come here, please let us know if there is anything else that we can do to help make your stay more comfortable. We value your thoughts and ideas, and look forward to seeing you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We have been staying at this hotel for years whenever we visit friends/family in Ozark. However, each time we stay we always say it will be the last. They do have non-smoking rooms, however the whole hotel smells like cigarette smoke! Even though we stayed in a non-smoking room, you can still smell cigarette smoke in the room, the smell comes in room anytime you open the door as the hallways reek of tobacco smoke. Our last visit was in November and when we arrived we had to wait 10 minutes for the front desk clerk to get off the phone with a customer making reservations. At 3:00 pm they need to have 2 front desk clerks, but I've never seen more than one. We were finally checked in, had 2 connecting rooms. Only one card key would work, so went back to front desk and reported problem and she made another key. This time it worked and we were able to get in our room. However, that was the last time our key worked. Kept going to front desk and clerk kept making us new keys. Fortunately we had left connecting door open so were able to go in through sister's room to get to ours. Never got a key that worked. Talked with several other customers in hallway who had keys that would not work. An older couple got so agitated, so helped the elderly man to the front desk where they made him another key, which worked, but next day was not working. Beds are so/so, usually too tired to really care and sheets have been clean as I always pull the covers back and check; they did smell freshly laundered. Breakfast was okay, half frozen muffins, bagels, cold cereal, but we don't expect much from a free breakfast. Breakfast area is really small, so when hotel is busy there is no place to sit. There is a nice TV in lobby, but who spends all their time in the lobby when paying for a hotel room. The day we checked out I had to turn the a/c on, which caused the lights in the room to blink off and on about every 3 minutes. Smoke alarm in our room was hanging from ceiling and not connected. Now for the good part - the pool area is wonderful! Always nice and warm, pool water warm and usually clean. The tile around pool is starting to crumble, but this last visit was the first time I had seen that, so hopefully will be repaired. Hot tub is hot and clean. The pool area is why we keep returning, very nicely decorated and the kids love the pool. Only problem is that they will not keep the pool towels in the pool area, so you have to go dripping to the lobby to get towels and usually have to wait several minutes before getting helped. Still up in the air if we will return here or not, keep hoping a Fairfield (Marriott) will be built close by, as there isn't many choices near where our friends/family live unless we want to go into Springfield or down to Branson, which would make us a 30 minute trip to get to and from family.

Room Tip: We have stayed on second floor and bottom floor - not sure if any are better than others - all smell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gigi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

WORST HOTEL STAY EVER. No elevator and no ramps in this two-story hotel; entire place reeked of tobacco smoke, including our “nonsmoking room” (I woke up with a sore throat); heat/AC didn’t work (desk clerk couldn’t help, and apparently there were no maintenance personnel on site); side door to parking lot had a card reader, but the door could be opened without a key; room keys worked only once, then had to be reissued; adjustable shower head didn’t work; no screens in the windows; the soap bars were ridiculously small; the sofa sagged in the middle; and there was no desk in our suite. I asked the desk clerk (who was very courteous, but who was wearing a baseball cap, shorts, and no name tag or any other indication that he worked there) if we could extend our checkout time to noon; he said he “didn’t know.” This hotel needs to be razed and a new one built in its place (with a different operator). I can’t begin to tell you how disappointed I am in Choice Hotels for allowing this property to be part of its chain.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ozark
0.2 mi away
American Inn Ozark
American Inn Ozark
#3 of 4 in Ozark
88 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
#9 of 52 in Springfield
726 reviews
13.3 mi away
University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Springfield
9.3 mi away
Days Inn Battlefield Rd/Hwy 65
Days Inn Battlefield Rd/Hwy 65
#21 of 52 in Springfield
796 reviews
9.5 mi away
Quality Inn - US65 & East Battlefield Rd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 1900 W Evangel St, Ozark, MO 65721-9166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Ozark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ozark
Price Range: $70 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ozark
Ozark Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing