We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed in lunch time service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lambert's II

Lambert's II
Ranked #1 of 69 Restaurants in Ozark
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Virginia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Disappointed in lunch time service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Was looking forward to having family enjoy the unique experience that is Lamberts so you can imagine my disappointment at the lack of "pass arounds" for the Saturday lunch crowd. Hot rolls were in abundance and our personal waitress was attentive but we had to ask servers passing by what they had in the pots they were carrying.Perhaps they hired a batch of shy high schoolers? Not the usual hollering out that Lamberts is famous for.
Dinner service in the past has never been this poor. Had I chosen only to have "pass arounds" as a meal I would have starved. We received our check but weren't ready to leave due to this issue. Our waitress had to find the servers and bring them to our table ( and they weren't even busy this day)
The food is always dependable and that's what keeps people coming back. REMEMBER THEY ONLY ACCEPT CASH OR CHECKS so be prepared.

Helpful?
Thank KathleenVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,629 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,058
    355
    149
    43
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Licking, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

The joy of eating hear is great fun and "FILLING" the service is super and someone is always walking around asking you if you would like some fried potato's, okra, black eye peas and dinner rolls, "WATCH OUT FOR THR DINNER ROLLS" as they are fresh hot out of the pan and tossed to you so heads up and be ready to catch them.
Be ready to take part or most your meal home with you as you will never be able to eat it all.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
89 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Still A Great Place With One Of A Kind Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Late last Nov. & early Dec. Myself happened to be down in the part of Ozark, MO. Area...While "Riding'' by both times couldn't help but stop by & eat that remarkable homemade Food'' Lamberts Café serves...Especially just seeing em pass those Roll cart's around, throwing em to customers, saying HOTT ROLLS''' :-) Watching and seeing) such one of a kind Service, as well as getting it is more then a worthwhile experience...Travel Channel has it right whenever they show footage about the place...Theres about 4 different kinds of Pass Around Foods.. Fried Okra, Fried Potatoes, Black Eyed Peas, etc.. Rolls taste so darn good, myself can do with -out spreading Butter of em...Anyone looking to get plenty filled up, & eating) till your well filled you cannot go wrong at Lamberts...(AWESOME)) Love it....Id Travel over 425 Miles to "EAT' There.......Keep On Throwing Those ROLLS......... When finished eating main Entrée being GIZZARDS I Was very impressed they brought me out more, all for no extra $$$ Charge - Such experiences make me wanna keep on Returning) Again & Again Again YES :-) YES YES :-)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffro F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberling City, Missouri
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fun place to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

We live in the area and try to go to Lambert's several times a year. We go more often in the Winter as it's not quite as busy. The food is always good and the pass arounds are great. Sometimes you have to ask for certain pass arounds as they're not really good about making sure they get to everyone. The main feature is the "throwed rolls" ..... What fun!! Kids especially love this concept. I agree with others though about not taking credit cards. Who carries cash in this day and age?? Thus the reason for 4 stars, not 5.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffeyville, Kansas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food, fun atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Always enjoy going to Lamberts. It is fun for the whole family or visitors coming through the area. Just good home cooking.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lambert's II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing