We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“something to do”

Smallin Civil War Cave
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Ozark
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discovered in 1818, Smallin Cave’s breathtaking ten-story arch will lead you into rich human history, unusual geology and rare cave life. One-hour guided tours, Open year-round.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Leavenworth, Kansas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“something to do”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

we really wasn't impressed with this one. The guide really wasn't all that great. He talked more about what Indians did in the cave and nothing about the civil war. Probably won't go back any time soon.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaylean E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    26
    7
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful secret in Ozark”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

During a very rainy camping trip to Table Rock Lake, we decided on a cave day to stay out of the weather. Seeing the signs it seemed a good as any place to start the day.

Kevin, the cave owner, was a very friendly and knowledgeable with a willingness to answer any and all questions. Our guide, whose name I cannot remember (his most discernible feature was his left hook hand), was outstanding. His knowledge of geology and caves as a whole was amazing. He took the time on the tour to answer questions. There are several fossils, lovely formations, and it's an easy walk.

I'm already looking forward to a return trip for one of the civil war tours and an off trail wild tour.

Well worth the money and the time to see this cave.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Icy_Blues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in Ozark!”
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

Lived in Ozark for 5 yrs and never visited. Finally took some family from out of town to the cave and was very impressed. Loved it! Easily accessible if you're worried about the walk - and great history about the cave and area. Worth the short drive off 65.

Helpful?
Thank MizzouTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely cave and valley”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Cave is large and sits in a lovely wooded valley. It has not been fully studied or explored, so contains many mysteries. Evidence of humans goes back to maybe ten thousand years ago, and there are fossils and bones of ancient mammals. Guide was entertaining.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lowkeytraveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Affordable family tour”
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

We went as a family. We had 11 people, some with children under 10 and over 16 this tour was affordable, fun and the staff was very friendly and nice. They made the tour fun for all. My family had a great time. The cave was awesome.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leesaleesa130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smallin Civil War Cave also viewed

 

Been to Smallin Civil War Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing