We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Seabreeze Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Otago Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. The office staff were extremely helpful and the accommodation was exactly what we expected for the money. Loved the location, far enough away from the beach that it was a quiet place, but close enough that we could be at the beach within minutes. Can imagine it is very popular with a range of people, but mid January it was peaceful (even though the rooms were all occupied). Lots of options of things available to rent including shovels for digging the beach. Would not hesitate to return. Only disappointment was rude cleaning staff.

Room Tip: If you can, go self contained, no timers on the showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nieci48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    19
    16
    7
    4
See reviews for
20
27
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I camped here with a friend for 5 nights over New Year and think that this place has everything you need for a campsite, brewery included! The facilities are great and staff really friendly and helpful.We were really grateful for a campers kitchen with fridge and freezer facilities, a lounge for the evenings, and obviously having the brewery for meals/coffee/beer is awesome. The bathrooms were very clean and it was great to have bikes, BBQs and spades for free hire -just a deposit required. The food at the brewery is great and they had someone on security at night which made you feel safe. There were quite a lot of people staying there over New Year but even on NYE the place was silent by 12:30! It's in a great location too, not far from Hot Water Beach, Cathedral Cove and the rest of the Coromandel. My only complaint is that they don't seem to have a consistent system for allocating camping spots, which resulted in us having to move people off our allocated site who had been told to just camp anywhere.

Room Tip: The campsites nearest the reception area are much quieter and closer to facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed here for one night in a double room. We arrived late but the host still arranged the key for us. The location is extremely handy Hot Water Beach, Hahei & Cathedral Cove and beaches in this area.

I am not sure is the yellow card received when checking in is valid for free parking at Hot Water Beach or not coz we werent explained clearly about it.

No free Internet, $2 for 20mins of usage but who really needs it when getting away. One inconvenience is you have to use tokens or 2$ coins for hot water usage. This is totally understanding because this is a water conservation area.

They also have a big deck and free BBQ stoves, free spades and bicycles for usage.

The cancellation policy here is once you book, they charged you 1/2 rate for 1 nights if you cancel so please beware of decision making.

In general, this is a very good place to stay to explore the Hahei area. Staff is very friendly as well. It is definitely worthy to come back again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tngphm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Maybe I'm the not the camping type, or maybe this park is just abysmal, I don't know. All I have to say is that if I want to spend a brief three nights staying in Coromandel over New Years, I should not be required to pay $200 because the minimum stay is five nights. As if I want to spend almost a week saying in a blistering hot tent in a place where the cafe doesn't open until 11am, and the showers are $2 for a minuscule 5 minutes of hot water!

I do appreciate that my party and I chose to sleep in tents. I wouldn't dream of how much they would want to rip us off for booking a cabin.

Not to mention the fact that the other people staying at the park were disgusting, loud, obnoxious and just plain revolting!

On a higher note, the cafe did serve us some very nice curly fries with aioli. However, the coffees took a very long time to come, and when they did, they weren't worth the wait. I've made a better latte at home with an espresso machine.

Quite honestly, you need to get it together Seabreeze. I definitely will not return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annoyed437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here- we had a powered site for our campervan. Staff were friendly , welcoming and helpful. We took advantage of the shovel for hot water beach. The new micro brewery / brasserie on the site was great and we had a very good meal here and this lifted our rating to 4.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Janwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We loved this holiday park and would highly recommend it to people thinking about staying at the area.
I think some of the reviews are a bit harsh, I found the property to be clean and the lovely man that was on duty was so friendly and helpful.
We stayed in the Tui cabin, it was spacious, clean and away from everything so we had our own peace and privacy. The property was a short drive away from Hot Water Beach, Cathedral Cover & Cooks Beach (nice place to get some Fish n Chips for dinner).
Even though we had our own facilities in our cabin, we did check out the lounge (cosy and warm) the toilets (very clean) and the backpacker rooms (once again very clean).
The Tui cabin was well worth the $100 and I would like to thank the staff for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCstar14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeabreezeHolidayPark, Owner at Seabreeze Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. Glad you enjoyed your stay and Yes Alan is a wonderful host to all our guests . You will have to come back and sample our craft beer in the summer time! Thank you again,
Travel safely, Kind regards,
Dawn .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Another conversion, another joining the hostel market. While when you enter it is a bit strange as its more like a RV site feel but after you park, its quite okay. Their supermarket should be stocked more adequately and they do have a small and nice video collection you could borrow. you could borrow spades as well to use. The rooms were clean but the bunk beds are a bit low on one side which is a bit strange. The toilets felt really sterile but its clean but I hated the fact that we had to deposit coins for hot water(its free from the front desk) but its still weird.. We stayed in the room opp the toilet which was okay as there wasn't really much toilet movement. The staff is really nice too.

Side note: we were like the only guests in the entire hostel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeabreezeHolidayPark, Owner at Seabreeze Holiday Park, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We do appreciate it. We do agree our store needs more stock and have increased our campstore items as best we can in terms of space available. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you again, Kind regards,
Dawn and Alan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whenuakite
18.9 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
7.2 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
493 reviews
9.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
5.4 mi away
Hahei Holiday Resort
6.8 mi away
Mercury Bay Holiday Park
Mercury Bay Holiday Park
#5 of 23 in Whitianga
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seabreeze Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seabreeze Holiday Park

Property: Seabreeze Holiday Park
Address: 1043 Tairua Whitianga Road | Sh25, Whenuakite 3591, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whenuakite
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Whenuakite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seabreeze Holiday Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly hosts are onsite to welcome you. Tranquil and spacious accommodation on the Coromandel, midway between Whitianga and Tairua. Just 10 minutes to Hot Water Beach (free spades to dig your own pool), Cathedral Cove, Hahei. 5 Minutes from Coroglen. We are a sustainable, family friendly, 4 Star Campground.Seabreeze the ideal gateway from which to explore the Coromandel.Seabreeze Holiday Park offers a range of accommodation for all budgets. Self-contained chalets, backpackers lodge & motorhome/tent sites. Craft Brewery and Restaurant onsite. Small campshop, fish-cleaning facilities. Pets welcome by prior arrangement. Playground, Free Wi-Fi, volleyball & studio gym. Free bikes, BBQs, and spades.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Seabreeze Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing