We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed at the resort and service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Osage Beach
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very disappointed at the resort and service.”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We have visited your resort several times and always had a pleasant experience. We checked in a few hours ago and were told we got the last 2 rooms on the main property. Although we weren't pleased with the location, we thought we would give it a try. I am presenting at a conference and have lots of materials and equipment. My building has no elevator, my room is 15 steps down from the main level and is almost a 10 minute walk (half of the walk outside). When we arrived at the front desk to ask if we could be switched since we are presenting, two friends were checking in who arrived after us. One received a room closer. The clerk did not even check the computer but told us we could be put on the waiting list. While we were being told that we could be added to the waiting list to be moved, the other colleague who was originally placed at The Estates was asking to be changed and was given a room in Building D, 30 seconds after we asked for a room change. When we questioned this, we were chastised by both male desk clerks. Instead of apologizing or being empathetic, we were told that we should've made a reservation the night the conference registration opened and there is no guarantee. I am currently nauseous not only because of the way I was treated by your staff but also from the horrible stench in the room.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianneS0260, Guest Relations Manager at Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Wendy A,

We apologize that your first room did not meet your expectations. We were happy to move you to a room that was more suited to your needs, and did so as soon as we received your communication. Our clerk did place you on a waiting list for a room closer to your activities when you checked in, but unfortunately, at that time we had no rooms available.

We did try to contact you via your cell phone, and by leaving messages in your guest room, to let you know we could move your room.

Please accept our sincere apologies for your inconvenience, and I am sorry if our staff was anything less than courteous and efficient.

At your service,

Dianne Steingrubey
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    257
    213
    113
    67
See reviews for
291
154
11
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Creston, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

This was our second time to Tan-Tan-A, because of my husband's business. This time we stayed in the new building which was considerably nicer that the older buildings. The kids and I needed things to do while he was in meetings. There are a lot of things to do, however everything costs a fortune. Absolutely nothing is included with your stay. We went to the waterpark at about 6:00 in the evening and I think it closes at 8pm. It was going to be $25 per person and then we would have had to buy it all over again if we wanted to use it the next day! We asked for an hour later check out because that's when the meetings were out, but they would not let us have even one hour later! I would not come here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianneS0260, Guest Relations Manager at Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Rachael T,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our resort. Positive or not, the feedback we receive from our guests is greatly appreciated. We are disappointed to read that you will not be returning due to the price of our recreation and activities. Included in the price of your room is the use of the swimming pools, fitness center and tennis courts. As far as the activities that are not included, we’ve done research and found that our prices are comparable to the activities in the area. Timber Falls Indoor Waterpark is $17 per hotel guest because it is intended for guests that want to use it all day. Additionally, we do our best to accommodate late checkouts for our guests, but there are days where we may be sold out of a specific room type or the resort is sold out for a special event and we cannot accommodate these requests. On these days, the front desk will offer to store your luggage while you are out and about. I apologize if this option was not offered to you during your stay. We hope to that you will give us another opportunity if you return to the lake area.

Sincerely,

Dianne Steingrubey
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Osage Beach hotels

Jefferson City, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Wolf spider every where. Will not go back for staying. Location is good and you will enjoy the outside activities.

Wolf spider every where. Will not go back for staying. Location is good and you will enjoy the outside activities.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sudheer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianneS0260, Guest Relations Manager at Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Sudheer P,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback of your stay with us. I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy every aspect of your stay. Wolf spiders are usually found near moist areas such as leaf litter, the edges of ponds and lakes, and on sandbars. They are large but not poisonous to people. It’s our hope that you will give us another chance if you visit the Lake of the Ozarks in the future.

Warm regards,
Dianne Steingrubey
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

have stayed there many times and they are going through a renovation that is making all the difference in the world. Staff continues to be one of the best. Great hide away great price. once renovations is completed I will be back this summer to take advantage of all the resort has to offer

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TryingOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianneS0260, Guest Relations Manager at Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear TryingOne,

As a returning guest, I’m delighted you were able to see some of the great improvements we are making around the property. Thank you for your kind review and loyalty. We’re looking forward to seeing you again at Tan-Tar-A Resort.

Sincerely,
Dianne Steingrubey
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We wanted to explore Lake of the Ozarks when it wasn't crowded. We rented a one bedroom cottage and it was quite nice. Very spacious rooms with new linens on beds, updated tiled bathroom, great kitchen. Wish the weather had been warmer for us to enjoy the great screened-in porch. A few disappointments: every window was high so we couldn't enjoy any views while sitting in the living room, the wifi was very weak, and no TV in the bedroom. We had breakfast in the Black Bear Restaurant - an ample buffet with good food and outstanding service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianneS0260, Guest Relations Manager at Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Nancy R,

Winter is indeed a wonderful time to visit Tan-Tar-A! Although we’re glad that you enjoyed our Estates Complex suite, we wish that every aspect exceeded you expectations. We have several different room types and I’m sure we can find one that best meets your needs. Please feel free to reach out to me if you make a future reservation.
Every guest room in our Resort Complex and Estates Complex is furnished with a television. If possible, we would like to find out which unit you stayed in so we can look into this issue. You can reach me at 1-800-826-8272.
Thank you for your review of our resort. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm regards,
Dianne Steingrubey
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We attended the 2013 New Years Eve party at Tan-Tar-A and it was FANTASTIC! My husband and I are middle-aged (47 & 52) and it is hard to find a NYE party that isn't full of obnoxious drunk people, but this was the perfect event. We checked in the afternoon of the 31st, had an awesome room, buffet dinner to die for (think oysters and prime rib), open bar with premium drinks, a few hours at the "casino", and dancing to a band that played songs we actually knew! The midnight countdown with balloon drop and toast was perfect. All of this was included in the package. We will make every attempt to attend this event regularly!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjtmict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianneS0260, Guest Relations Manager at Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear bjtmict,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We were so thrilled to read that our New Year’s Eve ballroom celebration is the “perfect event.” A lot of planning and preparation goes into this event and we’re glad that you and your husband enjoyed every aspect. Your review is greatly appreciated and it would be a pleasure to have you back next year.

Warm regards,
Dianne Steingrubey
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emporia, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I have been to Tan-Tar-A Resort two summers in a row and have every plan of returning every summer from now on. I've stayed in the main lodge and also in the houses on the lake. I prefer the cottages on the lake with the private pool. Drinking is allowed (no glass) and the other guest have been super nice!

Going to Osage Beach, you must visit the Outlets and the vineyards around. They aren't Napa, but fun for Missouri!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Callie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianneS0260, Guest Relations Manager at Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Callie F,

Thank you for your loyalty to Tan-Tar-A Resort! We are delighted to hear that you enjoy our lakefront suites. The views give you a front row seat to watch boats and beautiful sunsets!
We are grateful for your kind review. and can’t wait to have you back this summer!

Warm regards,

Dianne Steingrubey
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Osage Beach
2.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Osage Beach
10.0 mi away
The Lodge at Old Kinderhook
4.9 mi away
Osage Village Inn
Osage Village Inn
#9 of 15 in Osage Beach
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Inn At Grand Glaize
Inn At Grand Glaize
#13 of 15 in Osage Beach
294 reviews
1.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Osage Beach
Red Roof Inn Osage Beach
#5 of 15 in Osage Beach
88 reviews
4.4 mi away
Lodge of  Four Seasons
Lodge of Four Seasons
#2 of 13 in Lake Ozark
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark

Property: Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark
Address: 494 Tan Tar a Drive, Osage Beach, MO 65065
Location: United States > Missouri > Lake of the Ozarks > Osage Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Osage Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark 3*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Tan-Tar-A Resort, we provide guests endless excitement with an abundance of year round recreational activities in a casual and relaxed resort setting with an experienced team of friendly staff. Conveniently located on the shores of the Lake of the Ozarks in Central Missouri,Tan-Tar-A Resort offers a great value for families, couples, and conference attendees with:- Exciting water adventures including wave runners, and ski, pontoon & paddle boat rentals- Wet, wild indoor family fun at Timber Falls Indoor Waterpark- 27 holes of championship golf with tree-lined fairways, rolling hills and breathtaking vistas of the Lake of the Ozarks- The "Bears Den" Arcade, guided horseback trail rides, miniature golf, a bowling alley and two outdoor tennis courts provide guests of all ages a variety of fun experiences- Seasonal supervised fun for kids ages 4-12 at "Kids Kabin" and "Camp Tan-Tar-A". While the adults are golfing or enjoying a romantic day at the spa, the kids can have the times of their lives with a variety of affordable fun activities2- Windjammer Spa and Salon is the place to spend a day nourishing your body and soul in an intimate, relaxed setting- 9 restaurants & lounges available to suit every palate and pocketbook, from hardy casual Ozark favorites to lakeside dining- Over 90,000 square feet of customizable indoor meeting space with 30 meeting rooms,as well as multiple scenic outdoor venues- Experienced, down-to-earth conference planning team offering solutions to unique group events- Personalized, custom wedding services, down to the last detail ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tan-Tar-a Resort, Golf Club, Marina And Indoor Waterpark
Tan-Tar-a Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark Hotel Osage Beach
Osage Beach Tan Tar a Resort
Tan Tara Resort
Tan Tar Hotel Osage Beach
Tan Tar Resort Osage Beach
Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark Lake Of The Ozarks/Osage Beach, MO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing