We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just OK nothing special!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Osage Beach
Warsaw, Missouri
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just OK nothing special!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

This was my first stay at Tan Tar A. The hotel staff were friendly but unfortunately understaffed resulting in a long line at check in. The facility is just plain old and worn out. I needed a map to navigate the long hallways and parking facilities. My room was clean and in the main building which is an advantage if the weather is bad. The TV in the room was an antique as is most of the decor and carpeting throughout the resort. I have to admit I was not confident in the condition of the elevators and kept to taking the stairs. I will probably stay somewhere else when visiting the area again.

Room Tip: A room in "A" which is the main building is an advantage
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sksloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    241
    204
    105
    65
See reviews for
271
143
11
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

First of all, DO NOT HAVE YOUR NAILS DONE at the spa!!! I had Gel nail polish on when I arrived. They did not offer gel polish and did not know how to take it off. I mentioned to them a number of times that you scuff then let soak in acetone. They did not scuff and soaked. It did not come off. They then filed it off by hand as they did not have a dremmel and in the process filed my real nail off on 4 nails nearly to the quick. It was darker pink in the over filed area and painfull. I had to cut them all down as the thin ones kept splitting down the middle. Then they slapped on polish. Got it all over my fingers and cuticles. It bubbled, smeared and they had no quickdry top coast or UV lights so it was botched in about 5 minutes after leaving. The massage was good as was the facial. The resort is OK. A little dated and musty smelling in halls. Breakfast buffet not bad. DO NOT eat any of the lunch or dinner buffets. They are over priced and really really bad! They did not refresh the food when empty, old, off color and crusty. Most was not hot. Health inspector get your thermometer out.

Room Tip: Building A has updated rooms. Not sure about the other buildings. Al and the gentlemen at the bell s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foodybroker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at Tan Tar A hotel for a conference and was disappointed. The desk clerks appear indifferent. They maintained no eye contact and focused only on their computer screen. No smile or pleasantries. They need more training in hospitality.
The carpets in the hallway are worn and the paint on the doors are chipped. Meeting rooms are difficult to find and one has to go through arcane and confusing hallways. The elevator to the hotel rooms are a long ways away from the front desk. There was not enough chairs or area to sit down in the lobby.
One positive note, the lake view from my room was beautiful.
For a lake resort this only offers a lower to middling value for the price.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Yes, you can tell as soon as you walk in that the hotel is a little past its prime. However, the staff were extremely helpful and accommodating. They had plenty of space for the two medium conferences that were going on at the same time. The food was really good! It is a bit like a maze inside when trying to get from the registration area all the way over to the restaurant. There are a lot of different levels, not sure if it's because it kept getting added on to or because it is in a big hill and they tried to maximize their space.

My hotel room (in the main building) was really big! The view from my little balcony was great. It could have been a little cleaner (not gross by any means, just a little dusty) and definitely needs an update (carpet! toilets, etc).

We ate at the on-site restaurant (Black Bear) twice and it was very good both times. Though it did take a while to get our food.

Overall things were just fine. I've seen better and I've definitely seen worse! This was right in the middle as far as places to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beckasdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We enjoyed our stay! I agree with the previous reviewers who suggested the place needs a little updating. However, we did find our room (on the resort, not in the Estates) to be clean and comfortable.

The location is in relatively close proximity to shopping, dining and lake activities.

The resort offers golf, mini-golf, indoor and outdoor pools, lakeside loung chairs, restaurants (fast-food and sit-down), fitness center, marina, waterslide, horseback riding, spa, etc...

There was a resort fee of approximately $10.00 a night per room. I expected the fee, but I find such fees a nuisance.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GSR1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osceola, Missouri
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

This was an ok stay, however not a place I would recommend. I was here for business, the bed was comfortable and the room was very large and roomy but badly in need of renovation and updating? Staff was average, it is a long walk to get to coffee from the rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna0801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

I have always liked this particular hotel but it is very old. I usually stay in one of the rooms overlooking the lake but decided to try to get away from the crowds and was put into a room down by the pool. Was much quieter and more relaxing. Overall, the rooms at Tan-Tar-A are always just ok. Mine was clean but very old. The pool is fantastic and the grounds are very well kept and beautiful. The proximity to town isn't too bad either. The food there is lacking and is very expensive. They do, however, have very good coffee. Overall, if you want to just relax at the pool and enjoy the scenary this is a great place to do so. If you want a 5 star hotel room with marble accents, this isn't it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Conrads_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Osage Beach
10.1 mi away
The Lodge at Old Kinderhook
2.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Osage Beach
1.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Osage Beach
Red Roof Inn Osage Beach
#5 of 14 in Osage Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Days Inn Osage Beach
Days Inn Osage Beach
#4 of 14 in Osage Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
4.5 mi away
Lodge of  Four Seasons
Lodge of Four Seasons
#2 of 13 in Lake Ozark
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
5.6 mi away
Camden on the Lake Resort
Camden on the Lake Resort
#1 of 13 in Lake Ozark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark

Property: Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark
Address: 494 Tan Tar a Drive, Osage Beach, MO 65065
Location: United States > Missouri > Lake of the Ozarks > Osage Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Osage Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark 3*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Tan-Tar-A Resort, we provide guests endless excitement with an abundance of year round recreational activities in a casual and relaxed resort setting with an experienced team of friendly staff. Conveniently located on the shores of the Lake of the Ozarks in Central Missouri,Tan-Tar-A Resort offers a great value for families, couples, and conference attendees with:- Exciting water adventures including wave runners, and ski, pontoon & paddle boat rentals- Wet, wild indoor family fun at Timber Falls Indoor Waterpark- 27 holes of championship golf with tree-lined fairways, rolling hills and breathtaking vistas of the Lake of the Ozarks- The "Bears Den" Arcade, guided horseback trail rides, miniature golf, a bowling alley and two outdoor tennis courts provide guests of all ages a variety of fun experiences- Seasonal supervised fun for kids ages 4-12 at "Kids Kabin" and "Camp Tan-Tar-A". While the adults are golfing or enjoying a romantic day at the spa, the kids can have the times of their lives with a variety of affordable fun activities2- Windjammer Spa and Salon is the place to spend a day nourishing your body and soul in an intimate, relaxed setting- 9 restaurants & lounges available to suit every palate and pocketbook, from hardy casual Ozark favorites to lakeside dining- Over 90,000 square feet of customizable indoor meeting space with 30 meeting rooms,as well as multiple scenic outdoor venues- Experienced, down-to-earth conference planning team offering solutions to unique group events- Personalized, custom wedding services, down to the last detail ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tan-Tar-a Resort, Golf Club, Marina And Indoor Waterpark
Tan-Tar-a Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark Hotel Osage Beach
Osage Beach Tan Tar a Resort
Tan Tara Resort
Tan Tar Hotel Osage Beach
Tan Tar Resort Osage Beach
Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark Lake Of The Ozarks/Osage Beach, MO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing