We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outdated, but offers a nice variety of amenities!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Osage Beach
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outdated, but offers a nice variety of amenities!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We enjoyed our stay! I agree with the previous reviewers who suggested the place needs a little updating. However, we did find our room (on the resort, not in the Estates) to be clean and comfortable.

The location is in relatively close proximity to shopping, dining and lake activities.

The resort offers golf, mini-golf, indoor and outdoor pools, lakeside loung chairs, restaurants (fast-food and sit-down), fitness center, marina, waterslide, horseback riding, spa, etc...

There was a resort fee of approximately $10.00 a night per room. I expected the fee, but I find such fees a nuisance.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GSR1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    243
    206
    106
    65
See reviews for
273
145
11
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Osceola, Missouri
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

This was an ok stay, however not a place I would recommend. I was here for business, the bed was comfortable and the room was very large and roomy but badly in need of renovation and updating? Staff was average, it is a long walk to get to coffee from the rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna0801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

I have always liked this particular hotel but it is very old. I usually stay in one of the rooms overlooking the lake but decided to try to get away from the crowds and was put into a room down by the pool. Was much quieter and more relaxing. Overall, the rooms at Tan-Tar-A are always just ok. Mine was clean but very old. The pool is fantastic and the grounds are very well kept and beautiful. The proximity to town isn't too bad either. The food there is lacking and is very expensive. They do, however, have very good coffee. Overall, if you want to just relax at the pool and enjoy the scenary this is a great place to do so. If you want a 5 star hotel room with marble accents, this isn't it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conrads_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We were on a budget, so I was excited to have won a bid thru Priceline, but was sadly disappointed as soon as we checked in.

1. The room was hard to find, even with a map, as it winds (didn't help that we drove-in while it was raining and got assigned to an external building with external entrance).

2. Once we found the building and our room number, we realized we had to carry our heavy bags up several flights of stairs (did I mention it was raining outside?) and although we were in fine physical shape, I'm not sure if anyone had any physical impairments, they could do that hike as we were not offered any service person to assist (no one even told us about the stairs). And then had to wait in the rain for someone to get us in as our keys would not work.

3. Our room was dirty and small, VERY dated. All the negative reviews regarding the rooms were correct...

4. We're from Chicago and this was our first time at Osage Beach. We called the front desk to check on possible dinner options and the man was rude. He would not expound on any restaurants and said this is a lake town, as if that helps us? Do your research before you get there, as that helped us navigate and figure out where we wanted to go.

All that being said, this is a huge resort. There is a water park. They also seemed to have great golf and marina activities. Unfortunately for us, it was raining and did none of those things so I can't comment on them.

Overall, the service was mediocre to say the least and it made me happy to leave and move on to another resort for the next couple nights. As mentioned, I got stuck with this resort thru priceline bid, so we received a slight discount, but we needed to pay the additional "resort fee" and felt we overpaid in total cost. Next time, I would avoid that bidding hassle all together and book directly elsewhere!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fntrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Our semi-annual conference at the Lake rotates between the Lodge of the Four Seasons and Tan-Tar-A. I have always been a little nostalgic towards Tan-Tar-A, so I've always given it the benefit of the doubt. This time, however, I finally feel the need to write a review based on our trip. I plan to let our conference organizers know as well... Tan-Tar-A just doesn't cut it anymore.

First, I have to comment on the stench of the "resort" in general. It seemed like every stairwell (and they are interior) and parking garage had its own unappealing scent. It was just ick everywhere you went.

Second, our room may have been superficially clean (sink, toilet, tub seemed clean, bedding was clean, furniture looked all right), but the room was NOT clean. There were forehead marks from a previous guest leaning against the sliding glass door. A smashed spider was on the wall, as was some scotch tape (which made me wonder how long it had been since the walls got any attention). There were some sort of marks (maybe from dirty fingers) near the doorknob on the bathroom door. I was so happy I remembered my hair dryer, because the handle of the one in the room was unacceptably dingy/dirty.

Furthermore, I have yet to stay at a hotel that does not at a minimum have shampoo, conditioner, and lotion in the room. Ours came with shampoo. I asked the housekeeper if maybe they had conditioner on hand and just didn't put it in every room, but she told me that they no longer put out conditioner OR lotion. Nor, do they have any in case you accidentally forgot it. (Bad trip to forget my shampoo and conditioner on, huh? At least I remembered lotion)

Also, there are no hooks or anything of that sort to hang up used towels if you are of a mind to conserve washing and water. There is the rack behind the toilet, but that's not the best place to hang a fairly clean towel to dry (first, I don't trust that rack gets cleaned based on my other observations, and second, if it hangs down too low it's touching the toilet). How hard is it to put a hook on one side or the other of the bathroom door?

I won't go into how much the whole place needs an update...

That's my rant. I would like to compliment the bartender in the lobby bar for being super friendly and nice, which I would say all of the staff was friendly. No issue there at least.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erinbKansasCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Osage Beach hotels

Missouri
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Im sure this was a very cool place back in the Carter administration, but it's long overdue for a good bulldozing. First time I recall having a hotel room come with a placard to describe all the critters that may be crawling around you as you sleep, together with instructions on appropriate medical care for each sting, bite, etc. I'm not exaggerating. Most places you might find a room service menu and Gideon's Bible in your nightstand. Here you get an entomology lesson. Enough said. Won't even go into the utter filthiness. Consider yourself warned.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MissouriBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

The hotel had so many bugs in the room. I know the room was not properly cleaned because there was opened candy on the nightstand and several items under the bed, I.e brush and trash. I see why the bugs where in the rooms. The only appliance was a coffee maker that had seen better days. A microwave would of been nice. We decided to grill but there were no lights on the outside. We used our cell phone cameras fir a light source. When I called the front desk to complain the rep. said that was one of the A rooms. I really don't want to see B and C rooms. It would be nice if the cost of the water park was included in the price of the room. Overall I was very unhappy with the hotel. Never again will I stay there or use their water park. Weekend wasted!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Javante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tantara_Resort2012, Manager at Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Javante -

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. Please accept our apologies for cleanliness of your guest room. Please be assured that your comments will be shared with the appropriate departments.

We do not include TimberFalls Indoor Waterpark in our rooms rates for several reasons. Not everyone that stays at Tan-Tar-A is interested in going to our waterpark, therefore, we feel it is best not to include the price in our rates.

We appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention and we hope you would consider a future stay at Tan-Tar-A Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Osage Beach
10.0 mi away
The Lodge at Old Kinderhook
2.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Osage Beach
1.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Osage Beach
Red Roof Inn Osage Beach
#5 of 14 in Osage Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Inn At Grand Glaize
Inn At Grand Glaize
#10 of 14 in Osage Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
4.4 mi away
Lodge of  Four Seasons
Lodge of Four Seasons
#2 of 13 in Lake Ozark
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
5.6 mi away
Camden on the Lake Resort
Camden on the Lake Resort
#1 of 13 in Lake Ozark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark

Property: Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark
Address: 494 Tan Tar a Drive, Osage Beach, MO 65065
Location: United States > Missouri > Lake of the Ozarks > Osage Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Osage Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark 3*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Tan-Tar-A Resort, we provide guests endless excitement with an abundance of year round recreational activities in a casual and relaxed resort setting with an experienced team of friendly staff. Conveniently located on the shores of the Lake of the Ozarks in Central Missouri,Tan-Tar-A Resort offers a great value for families, couples, and conference attendees with:- Exciting water adventures including wave runners, and ski, pontoon & paddle boat rentals- Wet, wild indoor family fun at Timber Falls Indoor Waterpark- 27 holes of championship golf with tree-lined fairways, rolling hills and breathtaking vistas of the Lake of the Ozarks- The "Bears Den" Arcade, guided horseback trail rides, miniature golf, a bowling alley and two outdoor tennis courts provide guests of all ages a variety of fun experiences- Seasonal supervised fun for kids ages 4-12 at "Kids Kabin" and "Camp Tan-Tar-A". While the adults are golfing or enjoying a romantic day at the spa, the kids can have the times of their lives with a variety of affordable fun activities2- Windjammer Spa and Salon is the place to spend a day nourishing your body and soul in an intimate, relaxed setting- 9 restaurants & lounges available to suit every palate and pocketbook, from hardy casual Ozark favorites to lakeside dining- Over 90,000 square feet of customizable indoor meeting space with 30 meeting rooms,as well as multiple scenic outdoor venues- Experienced, down-to-earth conference planning team offering solutions to unique group events- Personalized, custom wedding services, down to the last detail ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tan-Tar-a Resort, Golf Club, Marina And Indoor Waterpark
Tan-Tar-a Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark Hotel Osage Beach
Osage Beach Tan Tar a Resort
Tan Tara Resort
Tan Tar Hotel Osage Beach
Tan Tar Resort Osage Beach
Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark Lake Of The Ozarks/Osage Beach, MO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing