We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chicken Livers Rock!!!!!!!!!”

J. Bruner's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
J. Bruner's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 100 Restaurants in Osage Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Lake Road 54-40 (Winn Road)
Description: You are invited to experience casual, fine dining at J. Bruner's! Savor steaks and seafood prepared using our exclusive recipes refined over the past thirty years. The warm and inviting dining rooms are the perfect setting for weekly casual dining or that special occasion. Enjoy our Red Room Lounge for a cocktail after work, cocktails before dinner, and/or a tasty ice cream drink afterwards. The best table service completes your dining experience, making J. Bruner's the Lake's Classic Steakhouse. Reservations recommended--book online.
Lebanon, Missouri
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Chicken Livers Rock!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The chicken livers rocked! Worth going just for them. Skip the salads, overpriced and nothing special. The rib-eye and prime rib were good. The tv with the fake "fire"..REALLY? Doesn't fit the attemped upscale, non-chain atmosphere. Overall the food was above average (not the salads-drive-thru type only), the atmosphere quirky. The evening was enjoyable. I will go back for the chicken livers, available as an appetizer or meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cori R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    33
    22
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moore, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Dinner Ever!”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Came up to the lake for a nice weekend and to celebrate paying off our house! Had dinner at Bruners this past Saturday night and could not have had a better time!
The onion rings are amazing, the steaks are great, and even the add-on fried lobster tail my wife got was amazing (and I don't like lobster)!

We had a nice little spot in the corner and received great service from Stephanie the entire time.
I cannot wait to go back next time we're in town!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Perfect New Year Celebration!!!”
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

The Ribeye was fantastic paired with the lobster tail as always. My wife tried the Red Trout for the first time and I think I'll have a hard time getting her to order something else in the future.

J Bruner's threw a Rockin New Years Eve Party. Bruce Benson and Studio B started playing down stairs during our 8:30 dinner reservation and it sounded like Saturday Night Live was starting in the Red Room Lounge.

The incredible food paired with the soul and jazzy "Barry White" like vocals brought the room to life.

The champagne toast at midnight where the band counted down the time in song was almost as incredible as when they broke straight into Auld Lang Syne; everyone kissed there significant other and celebrated the coming of 2013.

What an experience!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GwinnerStudios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Always Great”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Start with the chicken livers and onion rings. Ribeye was perfectly prepared. Learned they will be having excellent music on New Year's Eve.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good but not baxsters.”
Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

I tried this place for the first time. The onion rings are great! The food was ok but for the price I like baxsters way better! I don't like how everything here is À la carte. Way to expensive for what you get! I don't really care for the atmosphere either. They really need to remodel this place. Very dated.

Helpful?
Thank Natasha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J. Bruner's Restaurant also viewed

Osage Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
Osage Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
 
Lake Ozark, Lake of the Ozarks
Lake Ozark, Lake of the Ozarks
 
Osage Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
Osage Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
 

Been to J. Bruner's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing