We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lazy Time”
Review of Kapilana Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kapilana Resort
St Louis Co
1 review
“Lazy Time”
Reviewed August 26, 2009

Kapilana resort is a good place to stay. The management
is friendly. The rooms are very clean. We enjoyed our stay and will be comming back. Good location on the lake. They have a big swimming pool.

Helpful?
Thank jingle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    23
    3
    0
    7
See reviews for
75
20
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2009

Our most recent stay at Kapilana Resort was as enjoyable as all our previous vacations at this resort. The owners, Karen and Neil, were gracious and accommodating as we've grown to expect from them time after time. We stayed in a beautiful condo at the end of one of the buildings with spectacular views of the lake and gorgeous sunsets. Our unit, as well as the entire resort site, is clean, warm and inviting. In previous visits to this resort we stayed in an older, but charming, beach unit which sits right on the water and has a deck with umbrella tables for enjoying morning coffee at water's edge. I caught an 8 lb. fish right off this deck! The beach units had been recently updated to bright but cozy. They are one-room units with two double beds and a small kitchen area that brought back memories of visits to the lake as a child. We loved it! We have also stayed in the older but redecorated poolside units which are clean, spacious, have separate bedrooms, and are decorated with charming accents of "home". There is a very large concrete area just outside the pool area that accommodated our large group at dinner time. The kids loved the beautiful heated pool which is also at water's edge. If your budget is tight, I would recommend the fun, relaxed, reasonably priced beach or poolside units. For a little more luxury and a bit more money, enjoy the beautifully appointed condo units. We will definitely return to this enjoyable resort.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelChicStL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2009

We had a great time at Kapilana resort and have stayed in the resort rooms several times. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and right next to the pool and lake. Kapilana is a great place to bring the family as the entire resort is kid friendly. The service was great and the entire process of checking in and out was fast and easy. The price can not be beat for this type of accomdation. We will continue going back each year.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjsci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2009

On a positive note, this place has a pool and was close to shopping. The cleanliness and the service left a lot to be desired. This is a small, individually owned company...so we didn't go in with high expectations that this would be a fancy hotel. However, the cleanliness was poor even by motel standards. Upon arrival, the air conditioning was not on in the room in the middle of August. The room had flies in it. There were stains on the carpet, moldy sponges on the sink, the bathtub was filthy and the faucet was broken. When we asked the office regarding the issues, the 'service' received was non-existant, disrespectful, and argumentative. When we mentioned the broken faucet, the response that we got was that it had been like that for years and there was nothing they could (or would) do about it. I do not recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnyaRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2009

we had no air conditioning or fans in the bed rooms , no drapes on windows,fixtures in bath room broken , dishes dirty then we were informed if any towels had make up .or any damages not reported we were charged $250 to our credit card Never again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank liverbirdstlouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbrit, Owner at Kapilana Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2009
After years of business and thousands of happy customers and repeat visitors, we are disappointed to receive such a negative review.
Kapilana is a traditional lakefront “mom and pop” resort offering both older resort-type accommodations as well as modern residential-style suites. This guest stayed with us in one of our traditional resort accommodations, a type of accommodation to which she was unfamiliar.
Our smaller resort units are approximately 500 square feet, with a combined living and kitchen area and two separate bedrooms. The air conditioners are located in the living area and are rated for cooling the entire area, including the bedrooms. We have had no prior complaints regarding the adequacy of the air conditioning. With respect to the drapery, based on input from past guests, we removed the heavy drapery and installed new mini-blinds in every window to brighten the rooms. The feedback has been very positive.
As is common with many small resorts, and indeed major hotels, we DO charge for damages to the rooms or violations of policy. Our policies are not “hidden,” they are in fact posted on our website and acknowledged by every guest in writing on check-in. We are required to state a maximum amount that can be charged for damages (in this case $250, which is intended to cover the maximum damage to the room such as smoke recovery). We have only on two occasions charged guests minor incidental charges for damage, the amounts of which are likewise posted in the office and on our website. On check-out, we ask only two things…that the dishes be washed and that the trash be removed from the room. This guest in fact asked if we would remove the trash, which we did without charge.
We did make note of a small chip in one of the bathroom fixtures prior to this guest’s stay. However, as it is strictly cosmetic and does not in any way impact functionality, we plan to make the repair after the units close for the season. As we are almost entirely full for the whole summer season, we arrange to make such non-essential repairs in the off-season rather than disrupt a guest’s stay…unless of course the needed repair would impact the enjoyment of their visit.
We also spot-check the dishes during cleaning to ensure that no dirty dishes have been left behind. We do, however, have very hard water and occasionally water spots can be overlooked. Although we have never had a complaint of this nature in the past, we have as a result of this guest’s input advised our cleaning staff to now check every dish in every unit to ensure that this doesn’t happen again.
Traditional resort accommodations are not for everyone, particularly those that are normally used to major hotels and luxury resorts…but they do offer an affordable lakefront vacation for thousands of families every year. We invite you to review the many positive testimonials available on our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iowa
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2009

Your resort was given to my husband and I from our children as a 40th wedding anniversary gift...We live in Ottumwa, Iowa. We like to boat, but did not bring our own boat...Just a few blocks away was a boat rental place, very easy to get to . The owners are so friendly and go out of their way to make your stay wonderful... The resort is so nicly tucked away in a very quiet area, but you are also very close to places to eat and shop. I would highly recomment Kapilana as a great get away. Hope to visit again soon... Dennis and Roberta Archer, Iowa

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shoppieiowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2009

We spent Memorial Day weekend 2009 at the Kapilana resort on Osage Beach, and really had a great time. We rented a 2 bedroom condo for 2 couples with children. The rooms were right on the water, very clean and comfortable and the kitchen was well stocked with everything that you would need to spend a long weekend there. Excellent family place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TankerC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Osage Beach
2.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Osage Beach
12.2 mi away
The Lodge at Old Kinderhook
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Osage Beach
Days Inn Osage Beach
#3 of 15 in Osage Beach
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark
7.8 mi away
Camden on the Lake Resort
Camden on the Lake Resort
#1 of 13 in Lake Ozark
517 reviews
4.7 mi away
Lodge of  Four Seasons
Lodge of Four Seasons
#2 of 13 in Lake Ozark
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapilana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapilana Resort

Property: Kapilana Resort
Address: 793 Winn Rd, Suite 6A, Osage Beach, MO 65065-3566
Location: United States > Missouri > Lake of the Ozarks > Osage Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Osage Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kapilana Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll find a great Lake of the Ozarks vacation rental at Kapilana Resort Osage Beach. You can choose from traditional Lakefront apartment style Cabins to fully equipped, modern residential style Lakefront Suites. You'll have all you need for a self sufficient summer vacation relaxing by the pool, on the lake or golf course or book a great value off season break. Bring your family to our quiet no wake location for a safe, fun vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Kapilana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kapilana Hotel Osage Beach
Kapilana Resort Lake Of The Ozarks/Osage Beach, MO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing