We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Interesting View

Visitor area downstream of dam has self guided displays that provide historical facts and tidbits... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
ozarksguy573
,
Jefferson City, Missouri
via mobile
cool

Nice walk if you are at the Lake of the Ozarks. You can feed the fish at the dam and there are lots... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
makenslow
Read all 273 reviews
  
Reviews (273)
Filter reviews
273 results
Traveler rating
93
97
67
11
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
93
97
67
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews flood gates willmore lodge both sides visitor center interesting history follow the road viewing area great pictures on display lake ozark strip overlooked ozarks electricity turbine fishing scenic
Filter
Updating list...
261 - 266 of 273 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2014

....visiting the Bagnell Dam "Historic District" is not. Views from the dam are beautiful. The shops are a rundown collection of bars, t-shirt shops and tattoo parlors. Buildings are in terrible shape and the grounds are not being taken care of.
Was difficult to actually find the Historic District. No signage and the address is Bagnell Dam for all businesses. Didn't know on which side of the Dam to find the shops, or if they were even AT the Dam. The shopping area is not one of Missouri's finest.

Date of experience: June 2014
2  Thank PaigeDagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Was here when I was a teen. A lot has changed on the strip. A handful of the business' that were there have since went out of business. While there are many t-shirt shops and boat rentals, Osage Beach has more to offer.

Date of experience: May 2014
1  Thank Jeremy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

This was the entry to the condo we rented for our Lake of the Ozarks vacation. What a beautiful scenic view. If you have the time to cross the dam I would take the time. You won't be disappointed!

2  Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Bagnell Dam is located around the Osage Beach area within Lake of the Ozarks. It's truly a beautiful piece of history to observe and learn about. Once you've seen the dam go across it and visit the old Bagnell Strip area. At one time this was the place to be!! It was jam packed with visitors every weekend! They are currently in the process of reviving this older strip area.

Date of experience: May 2014
Thank Queen_Of_Road_Trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We went to the scenic outlook first and then down to the actually dam. It was cold and trying to spit rain so didn't stay long. It was awesome to take a new family who haven't been before but as always with little kids the actual dam area can scare me I put my littles in a stroller or just won't let them out of my hand. Its a great thing to see if you have never seen one. There a lot of history and education to be learned. There is a lodge we tried to visit across from the dam but we were not there during hours. We did see some fish at the base of the dam, but it didn't have much running the day we went, which is hit or miss. Did see some boaters on both sides of the lake.

Date of experience: May 2014
Thank Breanne07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews