We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large portions but average in every other way”
Review of El Charco Azul

El Charco Azul
Ranked #50 of 100 Restaurants in Osage Beach
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
St Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Large portions but average in every other way”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Lets face it. The building was a pasta house so the atmosphere is not exactly cozy. If you like a darker bar type of joint this is not it. Portions are large but only average in taste. Salsa is the thin type and we prefer thicker. Best salsa at lake is Sunrise Cantina but that is somewhere near Kansas.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GregStLouis_Missouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    24
    19
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Ozark, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Surprise”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We're from southern california, so we've eaten a lot of Mexican food. Surprise surprise, the best Mexican food I've ever had is right here at Lake of the Ozarks.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly service, good food.”
Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

We went here for a weekday lunch. The staff was friendly and attentive and the food was pretty good. Not great, but it was good. My biggest complaint is the cleanliness of the restroom. All in all, it's a decent place to eat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelsoMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson, mo
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“I frequent Mexican restaurants and this one is the best one I have ever ate at!!!”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Everything was delicious-- from the spicy salsa, burrito,tamale, kids tacos - excellent!! My son actually ate and loved the chicken taco! Service was awesome. And its true, the best margaritas in town!! Cannot wait to go back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank blw0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Hill, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great dinner!”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We ate here on a Saturday night with a party of 5. We were seated right away, and the service was quick with both the drinks and the food. We all loved our dinners. The sauces were good, the queso and the guacamole were excellent. I had the shrimp quesadilla and it was big and full of good quality shrimp, cheese and vegetables. My kids had enchiladas and some combination plates. My kids are unusually picky eaters, and they ate every bit of their dinners and loved them! The frozen margarita was awesome too!

I don't normally eat at restaurants that are in WalMart parking lots, and was leary of trying this one but the other places we had stopped at that evening all had wait times over an hour and we were hot, hungry and tired. So we looked at TripAdvisor, saw the ratings and decided to give this place a try. We are so glad we did! Would go back here to eat anytime - what a pleasant surprise this place turned out to be.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelingmominga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Charco Azul also viewed

Osage Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
Osage Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
 
Osage Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
Osage Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
 

Been to El Charco Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing