We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I frequent Mexican restaurants and this one is the best one I have ever ate at!!!”
Review of El Charco Azul

El Charco Azul
Ranked #42 of 100 Restaurants in Osage Beach
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
jackson, mo
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“I frequent Mexican restaurants and this one is the best one I have ever ate at!!!”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Everything was delicious-- from the spicy salsa, burrito,tamale, kids tacos - excellent!! My son actually ate and loved the chicken taco! Service was awesome. And its true, the best margaritas in town!! Cannot wait to go back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank blw0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    24
    18
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Hill, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great dinner!”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We ate here on a Saturday night with a party of 5. We were seated right away, and the service was quick with both the drinks and the food. We all loved our dinners. The sauces were good, the queso and the guacamole were excellent. I had the shrimp quesadilla and it was big and full of good quality shrimp, cheese and vegetables. My kids had enchiladas and some combination plates. My kids are unusually picky eaters, and they ate every bit of their dinners and loved them! The frozen margarita was awesome too!

I don't normally eat at restaurants that are in WalMart parking lots, and was leary of trying this one but the other places we had stopped at that evening all had wait times over an hour and we were hot, hungry and tired. So we looked at TripAdvisor, saw the ratings and decided to give this place a try. We are so glad we did! Would go back here to eat anytime - what a pleasant surprise this place turned out to be.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelingmominga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hope you have extra time...”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Would have to say the food was good, however really on the bland side. We have been to Mexico numerous times and this is not it. Don't get me wrong it is not bad but if you like tastes that really "pop" in your mouth this is not it. If you like spicy foods make sure to request the extra hot salsa, it is one of the best I have found in the states. Now the bad part, we arrived at 7pm waited 20 minutes to get a drink at the bar while waiting for our seats. About 20 minutes after that we were finally seated ( not bad it was busy) and our server was nice and courteous right away to get more drinks and bring the chips and salsa. We place our orders right away as we had ample time to look over the menu and an hour later we finally received our food. Yes an hour later. Needless to say this did not go over well with the family. The server did apologize many times due to the extremely long wait. As far as the margaritas, don't order thinking you will get an authentic experience. This is maragarita mix at its worse.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MephistoSoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious food, nice environment”
Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

Some of the best Mexican food I have had. Great portions for the price. Very high quality food as well. Great experience!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ladybug588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emporia, Kansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food!”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

And pretty cheap compared to other places! The restaurant was clean and the service was wonderful.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Charco Azul also viewed

Osage Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
Osage Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
 
Osage Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
 
Osage Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
Camdenton, Lake of the Ozarks
 

Been to El Charco Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing