We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Walk in the Woods.”
Review of Swinging Bridge

Swinging Bridge
Ranked #4 of 21 things to do in Osage Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Mexico, Missouri
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful Walk in the Woods.”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

As a past local, one of our favorite places to go when visiting friends in town is the swinging bridges. Although it is listed several places, it remains a little secret for most. The locals like this because it is rarely crowded. Great place to hike through untouched wilderness in Missouri.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    47
    20
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Joplin, Missouri
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This was quite a drive away from everything else. We weren't sure if we found the right place, since there were no signs. Some others walking on it told us we had found it. It is not just a walking bridge. Cars drive on it. We walked across it and it was a little scary when a truck would drive over it while were on it. There was no place to go other than squeeze against the side while the vehicle went by.

This was just not at all what I was expecting and not something worth making the trip out to.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Trisha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osage Beach, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

A beautiful piece of history, you must drive across and walk across to get the full experience! I have been to the bridge several times over the years. You have to do a couple miles on gravel, but it's something you just don't see every day, so well worth it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Jyll G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not very often”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

that you get to drive over something like this! It is a worthwhile drive to get to this place, the engineering alone is terrific, the creek underneath is delightful and something you need to see.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Curt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“It's free”
Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Its pretty cool to drive over the bridges and it's all free. Worth a trip if you are in the area and have extra time.

Helpful?
3 Thank Wearj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swinging Bridge also viewed

Camdenton, Lake of the Ozarks
Osage Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
 
Osage Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
Camdenton, Lake of the Ozarks
 

Been to Swinging Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing