We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice view, great food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Michael's Steak Chalet

Michael's Steak Chalet
Ranked #26 of 99 Restaurants in Osage Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $60
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Highway 54
Description: For over 20 years, Michael's Steak Chalet has been delighting steak lovers at the Lake of the Ozarks. Perched on a cliff and overlooking the lake at the 28 mile marker, Michael's Steak Chalet is just minutes from the hustle and bustle of Osage Beach, Missouri. Serving dinner daily from 5:00pm, you and your guests will enjoy a beautiful sunset dinner in our cozy dining room or weather permitting, settle in under the stars outside on our patio overlooking the lake. Famous for our Prime Rib, that is slow roasted every evening for 16 hours, Michael's also offers generous cut tender filets and strip steaks. All are aged 28 days, hand trimmed and cooked to your temperature. We also offer a wide variety of sea food including Grilled Salmon, Blackened Tuna, or an 8oz Lobster Tail. Consider Michael's Steak Chalet for your next meeting, reception or special event. Let our professional staff cater to your needs, however specific they may be.
Lake Ozark, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“nice view, great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

The quaint swiss village look is adorable. Food is pricey, but good quality for a fine dining establishment.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank 196stephc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    18
    13
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Osage Beach
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

This was ok, not bad, but for what I got I felt like it was over-priced

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann, Missouri
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent, as always!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

Michaels continues to provide a memorable experience to their guests. Excellent service (Thanks Karen!), excellent food (try their house salad dressing, a Rice Wine Vinigarette, with blue cheese crumbles), and excellent atmosphere (if you get there early enough in the evening, the view of the main challen is great!).
They are a little hard to find now, with the Osage Beach Expressway - Take the KK exit, enter the round-a-bout, exit on to Burton Duenke Drive, turn right on Swiss Village Road and Michael's is at the bottom of the hill.
Check their hours before you go - I think they close for a few months in the winter time.
You won't regret it!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MissouriLakeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lees Summit MO.
Level Contributor
214 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Primerib or bust!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

Michael's has been a favorite of ours for several years, a suprise find off the highway in Osage Beach; they have the best steaks in the world, I mean the world...Their primerib is so good we will drive down just for dinner and stay the night just because it is that good. Plenty of delicious food for a resonable price and you know it's good when the locals go even in the winter months when they are only open on weekends! Great view take a table next to the water get their about 5:30 pm and enjoy life with a glass of wine and a beautiful sunset. winters are beautiful as well only open on Friday and Saturaday.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Palcobaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, IL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Huge Portions, Great Steaks, and a Beautiful View!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

Amazing! My boyfriend and I went to Michaels for a date night for the first time and we were amazed! The view was the best I've seen in all of the Ozarks! We asked to be seated outsied and the hostess was happy for do that for us. The service was great and they took good care of us. We met the manager and he was very nice and thanked everyone from coming. I ordered the filet and my boyfriend ordered the NY Steak Strip. They both came with HUGE potatoes and a nice portioned salad. We were shocked by the huge portions! It was great! We will definitely be coming back to Michales as much as we can! If youre at the lake, then youve gotta try it!!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michael's Steak Chalet also viewed

Osage Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
Osage Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
 
Osage Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
Osage Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
 
Lake Ozark, Lake of the Ozarks
Osage Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
 

Been to Michael's Steak Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing