We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay and good value for money.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Old Baker's Cottage
Ranked #1 of 1 Newborough B&B and Inns
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay and good value for money.”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

My friend and I stayed in the twin room after a day put at Alten towers. The room was comfy and clean and the bathroom was huge and really nicely decorated. Don't rely on your mobile though as signal very bad.

Breakfast was lovely and Bev was so nice and could not do enough for us.

There is also a lovely pub accross the road for tea.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizzieT17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bev H, Owner at The Old Baker's Cottage, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Lizzie
Thank you very much for leaving us a lovely review, it's very kind of you - we are glad you enjoyed your stay here and also your food at the Red Lion too. (Unfortunatey many villages have intermittent mobile reception but with signal boost mobiles work well, we also have free wifi which most phones can connect to to make/receive calls, we are also happy for guests to use our landline if their mobile can't get a strong enough signal). We are glad you enjoyed your trip to Alton Towers too (I hear Smiler is now open as well) and it was a pleasure to have you both stay with us. Thanks again for booking by phone and choosing our home for your overnight stay. With kind regards, Bev.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    12
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
17
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Bev and gav were absolutely lovely and we received a warm welcome when we arrived. The B and B was clean and fresh and we had a lovely room. Can't say enough good things about the stay, definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guest123186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bev H, Owner at The Old Baker's Cottage, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Hi both
Thanks very much for your glowing review of our B&B, we very much appreciate feedback and we are very pleased that you had a wonderful stay. We hope you had a safe trip back to Bristol and thank you for booking by phone and choosing the Old Bakers Cottage for your overnight stay. WIth kind regards, Bev.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I stayed at the Old Baker's Cottage for three Fridays and can honestly say I was very comfortable . Gav and Bev made me very welcome. The cottage was full of character, breakfast was wonderful. I would thoroughly recommend this B and B.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elle2621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bev H, Owner at The Old Baker's Cottage, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Elaine
Thank you so much for your wonderful review, it was a pleasure to have you to stay on three occassions now and lovely to sit and chat over a drink before bed. Thank you also for recommending our accommodation to the training company you used, we do appreciate your positive feedback. Hope you are keeping well and we look forward to welcoming you back if you or any of your colleagues are in the area in the future. With kind regards Bev & Gav.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

A warm place to stay in, the guys there are friendly, near to FA St. George park (5 minutes by car),
Network for mobile phones is very poor in the hotel, yet free Internet access is quite good. The food is delicious (I was afraid Asa vegetarian; yet the guys were helpful).
I would recommend it to anyone who is coming for any activity at St. George park in comparison to SOMEHOW expensive alternatives.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HaythamSoliman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Having stayed for the first time at the old bakers cottage I can definitely say I will be returning. The place is charming and welcoming with a warm, friendly feel and comfortable, well thought through surroundings. Lots of original features make the cottage stand out from your average bed and breakfast.
The owners were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. A good home cooked breakfast and wonderful fresh coffees in the coffee shop added to the experience. If I lived closer I would certainly become a regular at the coffee shop for cakes and cappuccinos!
It's not often you find such homely, warm and welcoming accommodation.. Many thanks

S Pugh

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smp1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed here with for a one night stay and have to say that I was suitably impressed. The owners are two of the nicest people I've ever met. They can't do enough for you and make you feel very welcome. The cottage has real character, with a beautiful log burner in the coffee shop area which was very welcoming. I stayed in the family room, where the bed was extremely comfortable and loved the decor. I enjoyed a hot deliciously cooked breakfast in the morning. Great value for money and would highly recommend this beautiful quaint cottage. Looking foward to my next visit, which will hopefully be very soon. 10/10

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burntwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This beautiful, charming B & B offers a unique experience with an onsite coffee shop. The owners are extremely friendly and pleasant and do all they can to make your stay enjoyable. Breakfast was lovely and just enough with hot, cooked breakfast (bacon, hash browns, beans, egg, mushrooms etc.) and cereal.

Room Tip: Each room is unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sam r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newborough
1.8 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#6 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
304 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#8 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
476 reviews
7.3 mi away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
415 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Grail Court Hotel
The Grail Court Hotel
#11 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Baker's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Baker's Cottage

Property: The Old Baker's Cottage
Address: Old Bakers Cottage Duffield Lane, Newborough, Burton upon Trent DE13 8SH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent > Newborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Newborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Baker's Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small and friendly B&B in the quiet village of Newborough close to Burton upon Trent. We have two rooms, a family en suite and a twin with a large private bathroom. At the Old Bakers Cottage we also have a fabulous coffee shop and tea garden and serve homemade cakes. We often have business guests, families going to Alton Towers or Drayton Manor, visitors for St Georges FA ground and day guests for Hoar Cross stay at our accommodation. We pride ourselves on our customer service and like to ensure all our guests have a most enjoyable stay whether it be for business, pleasure or relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Old Baker's Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing