We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Would highly recommend"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Baker's Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Baker's Cottage
Ranked #1 of 1 Newborough B&B and Inns
Hertfordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Would highly recommend"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed here with for a one night stay and have to say that I was suitably impressed. The owners are two of the nicest people I've ever met. They can't do enough for you and make you feel very welcome. The cottage has real character, with a beautiful log burner in the coffee shop area which was very welcoming. I stayed in the family room, where the bed was extremely comfortable and loved the decor. I enjoyed a hot deliciously cooked breakfast in the morning. Great value for money and would highly recommend this beautiful quaint cottage. Looking foward to my next visit, which will hopefully be very soon. 10/10

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    12
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
17
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burntwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

This beautiful, charming B & B offers a unique experience with an onsite coffee shop. The owners are extremely friendly and pleasant and do all they can to make your stay enjoyable. Breakfast was lovely and just enough with hot, cooked breakfast (bacon, hash browns, beans, egg, mushrooms etc.) and cereal.

Room Tip: Each room is unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sam r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

The owners gave me a warm welcome and were unbelievable helpful for my one night stay. Would highly recommend this B&B.The Room was a little chilly however this is to be expected in Novmeber. There was real home from home feeling, the log burner in the cafe side made a very charming place to sit and watch some tv. 10/10

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank sophiecucs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bev H, Owner at The Old Baker's Cottage, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Hi Sophie, thanks ever so much for your lovely review, we appreciate feedback our guests leave us, we have also added some extras heaters to all the rooms (as well as the usual central heating) for these winter months, so everyone will be nice and warm and cosy. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon, with kind regards and our wishes for a Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is a charming Bed and Breakfast with friendly and extremely helpful owners.
The breakfast is delicious.
Great value.
The location is a lovely village, although don't rely on your mobile phone working, a it is a bit off the beaten track...
Going back this week...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bev H, Owner at The Old Baker's Cottage, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Hi Mike, thanks for your great review, we have also now installed a brand new router/modem which means the internet is further improved, we hope you had a lovely Christmas and New Year, and we look forwrad to welcoming you back again in January, with kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

This place is set in a beautiful location in the little village of Newborough. Just about half an hour from the M6 it's perfect for visiting Alton Towers as it's only 20mins away! The rooms were very clean and warm and beautiful decor. Another great thing was having the coffee shop downstairs as guests are welcome to sit in the coffee shop lounge area to watch TV and enjoy beautiful homemade cakes and beverages at your pleasure. Nice pub across the road (Marstons) for great pub grub. It is in a beautiful setting and also a little park 2mins walk away for kids to play and have fun. The owners are lovely and make you feel at home - nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast was lovely and just enough with hot, cooked breakfast (bacon, hashbrowns, beans, egg, mushrooms etc.) and cereal too! Also it has free Wi-Fi which was perfect access even in the Twin Room. We stayed as a family of 5 (3 children, one 14, one 12 and one 8). The 8 year old stayed in the main family room and the 2 older ones enjoyed being seperate in the twin room down the corridor. Parking can be in a safe place on Yoxall Road adajacent to the church entrance opposite the B&B. Would highly recommend this B&B and cafe!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dan769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Perfect place to stay. The owners gave us a warm welcome, and couldn't do enough for us.They even went to the local pub which was being refurbed to see if they were still serving food. The room was bright, clean and the beds were so comfy. Breakfast was very tasty. Will definetely stop again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

This B&B now boasts a coffee shop and tea garden serving excellent coffee and other drinks plus a range of delicious home-made cakes. It's really nicely presented with a choice of tables and chairs or comfy sofas, and even has free WiFi.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newborough
1.8 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
7.3 mi away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#9 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Grail Court Hotel
The Grail Court Hotel
#11 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
5.8 mi away
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Central Hotel
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Cent...
#2 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#6 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Baker's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Baker's Cottage

Property: The Old Baker's Cottage
Address: Old Bakers Cottage Duffield Lane, Newborough, Burton upon Trent DE13 8SH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent > Newborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Newborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Baker's Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small and friendly B&B in the quiet village of Newborough close to Burton upon Trent. We have two rooms, a family en suite and a twin with a large private bathroom. At the Old Bakers Cottage we also have a fabulous coffee shop and tea garden and serve homemade cakes. We often have business guests, families going to Alton Towers or Drayton Manor, visitors for St Georges FA ground and day guests for Hoar Cross stay at our accommodation. We pride ourselves on our customer service and like to ensure all our guests have a most enjoyable stay whether it be for business, pleasure or relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Old Baker's Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing