We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Sun Siyam Iru Fushi Maldives
Nearby Hotels
Cheval Blanc Randheli(Randheli Island)
$2,946
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Soneva Jani(Medhufaru)
$3,755
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Velaa Private Island(Velaa Island)
$11,500
$2,750
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Noku Maldives(Kudafunafaru Island)
$352
$341
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$292
$273
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hurawalhi Island Resort(Hurawalhi)
$905
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$973
$638
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fushifaru Maldives(Lhaviyani Atoll)
$388
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Palm Beach Island Resort & Spa(Madhiriguraidhoo Island)
$315
$268
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
$1,976
$804
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,236)
Filter reviews
2,236 results
Traveler rating
1,592
412
136
53
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,592
412
136
53
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach villaour honeymoonsea planefishkids clubdive centremale airportper personbeautiful islandwater sportsrecommend this resortseaplane transfermain restaurantfood and drinkswhite sandother islandsprivate pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,116 - 1,121 of 2,236 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We had a beautiful time staying at Hilton Iru fushi for our honeymoon, its was soo romantic and peaceful. The water was beautiful, people were nice. The food, spa , everything was just so cool :) I wish we stayed longer.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCole009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanS97, General Manager at The Sun Siyam Iru Fushi Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear DCole009,

Thank you for spending your honeymoon at Hilton Maldives Iru Fushi Resort & Spa, it is wonderful to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are delighted to receive your warm feedback and it was a pleasure having you with us. We do recommend that you stay a little longer next time, should you plan another Maldivian holiday in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,
Alan Stocker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We have just returned from a two week stay at this lovely resort.
We travelled as a family of three with our five year old son.
We flew direct on Ba from gatwick and were met at the airport by a Hilton rep who showed
Us to the very comfortable Hilton lounge to wait for our seaplane transfer where we received
A complimentary head and shoulder massage and tea and cold drinks while we waited.
The transfer was smooth and scenic and an hour later we arrived at our lovely home for the
Next two weeks
Check in was smooth and quick we stayed in beach villa 272 opposite side of the island to
Sea plane just as I had requested on sunrise side of the island.
Our villa was just gorgeous, spacious, plenty of hangers a spa like outdoor bathroom with
Jaquzzi bath we were very comfortable
We appreciated being sited close to the kids club and family pool wee thought of by the management.
Kids club
This is the first time my son has wanted to go and stay at a kids club in a resort
The staff are super warm and very kind to the kids
They hold different activities daily and engage the kids well
I can not speak highly enough of them, best kids club yet !
Spa
I was able to enjoy a fabulous hot stone massage in the spa
My therapist was first class
And the hydrotherapy pool was an added bonus
Eating
We ate at all the venues our favorite was flavored
The wagyu beef was delicious
Bamboo was also first class
The dining experiences are comparable to a great London eateries
With prices to match but I felt were deserved
Staff
The crew on the island are very friendly and helpfully which adds
To making the holiday so enjoyable
We spent a fair amount of time at the family pool
Which offered plenty of shade in gorgeous jungle like surroundings
The area Is spacious so u never feel any overcrowding the pool is huge with hidden seats
Great for kids
Snorkeling
This is the only area I felt was lacking
The house reef is far from the shore and there is not an abundance of fish which was a shame
As there were strong currents it wasn't possible to snorkel much or take our son

Trips
We went on both the orphan and fishing trip
Both were great we saw many dolphins and caught snapper fish by line which was my sons
Highlight of he holiday
Unfortunately the snorkel safari was canceled due to bad weather

To sum up our trip
The resort is very luxurious, breakfasts are great so much choice
We loved the laid back bare foot luxury policy at the hotel
Food is fab wedding get too bitten as we used spay and the in room devices supplied by the
Hotel
The resort is well maintained and very lush with great array or tropical planting
Room was clean
It's expensive food and drink but so worth it
We had a great holiday

Room Tip: Deluxe beach villas 272
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank babymummy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanS97, General Manager at The Sun Siyam Iru Fushi Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Dear babymummy1,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at Hilton Maldives Iru Fushi Resort & Spa on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your holiday with us.

It is a pleasure for the team to know that their warm and friendly service contributed towards making your holiday enjoyable. Your feedback and commendations are truly appreciated. It is also good to know that you all made good use of our facilities during your stay, from the Kids Club and excursions to the spa and all our food and beverage outlets. Our teams from Flavours and Bamboo are pleased to receive your compliments.

We are sorry that you were disappointed with the house reef and that you were unable to go on the snorkel safari. However, we are glad that your overall experience was positive and that not only did you have a great catch during your fishing trip, but that you were witness to the wonderful sight of the wild dolphins at play!

Thank you again for sharing your holiday experience, we hope to have you and your family with us again should you plan another Maldivian holiday in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Alan Stocker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed as a family with 4 and 7 year old two kids and strongly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling with kids. There may be some other more exclusive resorts for couples but I believe Hilton has the right balance to be child friendly but not crowded with too many kids running around to let everyone enjoy truly Maldive style escape. We stayed at infinity water villa which is truly remarkable but I believe beach villas have enough space for a family as well. I'd recommend families to stay at 200 to 215 room numbers which are very central and at most calm beach. I have two suggestions for improvement . One is regarding check out process since we did not receive our bill earlier and had to send quite a bit time to review and correct. The other one is regarding buggy scheduling which can be quite disorganized especially if it rains and you need them most. I wish they had a ring system instead of trying to get everyone to their villa which makes scheduling very difficult for them. I also don't recommend dolphin trip since at least in our case we did not see any and the boat was very loud.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank dadwithsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanS97, General Manager at The Sun Siyam Iru Fushi Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Dear dadwithsons,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Hilton Maldives Iru Fushi Resort & Spa. It is wonderful to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay in the Infinity Water Villa and that you have recommended the resort to other families!

We very much appreciate your constructive feedback and apologise for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. With regards to our buggy service, we do our best to serve our guests efficiently but during rainy weather, the demand for this service inevitably causes delay. The team have noted your feedback and are reviewing their processes in their continuous efforts to improve scheduling, especially during inclement weather.

We are sorry that you were disappointed with our dolphin cruise. Before the cruise, we always provide a briefing to all our guests explaining that dolphin sightings are not always 100%, which is why we call it the Lucky Dolphin Cruise. They are wild creatures but are a wonderful sight when they do come out to play.

We thank you for bringing up your point regarding the billing situation upon your check-out. Our Front Office team are addressing this issue to ensure a smoother departure process. Your feedback helps us in this respect.

We are nevertheless pleased that you and your family had a wonderful Maldivian holiday. It will be our pleasure to extend our warm Hilton hospitality experience to you again, should you plan another holiday in the Maldives in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Alan Stocker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

amazing experience. Sandy white beach and place is very clean!
Very picturesque if u can take a good photograph. Almost perfect really!
Now the negative side. We were waiting almost 2 hours for seaplane transfer, although we were told it only the waiting time is about 40 mins! Our fellow passenger has to wait almost 3hours!!
While we were waiting for transfer however Hilton provides snack, fruits etc to fill up the stomach:P
I cant really think other negative side. The staff is very nice and place is amazing. Alot of activities if u r interested.
There are 2 sided of water villas - west and east. The west side u can see the sunset and east side u can see the sunrise.
For hardcore photographer - please try to wake up at 4 am as u can take picture of stars, if u r lucky may be u can see the milky way:P

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 70bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanS97, General Manager at The Sun Siyam Iru Fushi Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Dear 70bob,

My team and I are delighted that you enjoyed a great holiday with us here at Hilton Maldives Iru Fushi Resort & Spa. The pictures you posted certainly reflect the serene beauty of the Maldives!

Whilst we are sorry for the long wait for your seaplane transfer, please allow us to clarify that the seaplanes are operated by a third party from Male to the resort. As many international flights arrive daily, the flights are scheduled according to their arrival times to maximize those travelling on the seaplane. As soon as we are aware of final timings, then guests are informed. Thank you for your feedback, we always do our best to keep communication channels open between the aircraft personnel and guests. We are nevertheless glad that your wait at the Hilton Lounge was comfortable.

It was a pleasure having you with us and we hope to welcome you back in the future, should you plan to return for another Maldivian holiday.

Yours sincerely,
Alan Stocker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This was our second trip to the Maldives, and as expected we had a wonderful time. This was the first time we stayed at the Hilton, last year we stayed at a local hotel very close to the airport (Very highly recommended btw). I have to say that the Hilton is a lovely resort, and provided a very pleasant stay for us.

In general, the resort is very pleasant and well kept. They might not be the most organized – i.e. not provide enough information for you once you arrive to the airport. Once we arrived we were informed that the Hilton Rep will be waiting for us, but he wasn’t, then we were told to go to the Hilton booth to find the representative, which he wasn’t. So then after a few minutes of panic since the agent is holding our tickets to the seaplane, a nice gentleman arrives and kindly directs us to the seaplane transfer desk.
Seaplane: The seaplane really isn’t as scenic or as pleasant as I expected. It’s quite nerve wrecking, and the restrictions on the timings made us wait at the airport on the way home for almost 4 hours. It’s extremely loud, and the provided ear plugs don’t help much. Also, $500/per person seaplane ticket really is extremely high.
Accommodation: the villas are beautiful, and very well equipped. My favorite part was the outdoor bathroom that has a wonderful Jacuzzi tub and a huge gazebo like lounger bed. I would highly recommend you request a room that is overlooking the ocean and that has enough space outside the villa on the beach. The first villa we went to was approx. 20 meters away from the beach, which wasn’t too bad, except that we had about 2 meters worth of space where our sun loungers were squeezed – it seems quite uncomfortable. However, upon our request we were immediately shown another villa which was a lot closer to the beach and had plenty of room on the beach.
Another tip, the seaplanes are extremely loud, and they come in every couple hours, try to get a villa on the other side of the island.
Dive Center: The best part of our trip was the dive center. It really was very organized, simple to book, lovely and had helpful instructors. The house reef also is very nice. They do offer boat trips to offsite reefs, but we were quite content with what we saw.
Insects: Yes the island does have more than usual insects (compared to the hotel we stayed at last year). Every night our bathroom was filled with 6-7 lizards, and a few ENOURMOUS roaches. Not really bothersome, but not the most comfortable. Especially when we found a couple lizards inside our room. However, we asked for pest control to come and within 5 minutes everything was sprayed – hopefully the next guest reaped the benefits 
Cleanliness: the resort in general is very clean, and well kept – I would mention though that the last night we were there, whoever cleaned our room didn’t do a good job at all. There were remains of cockroaches around our toilet area.
Beach: I’m not sure why, but I felt that the water at the other resort was so much clearer and calmer than the beach at the Hilton. It might have been the weather, but even when it was sunny and calm, I felt the water which was still beautiful, not as clear as the water at the local resort we stayed at last year next to the airport.
Island: Also, personally, I didn’t like that the walkways inside the resort were not paved. I felt that my feet were dirty all day long. In the other resort we stayed at last year, the paved walkways allowed us to wear shoes to dinner, and feel a little less beachy in the evening.
Gym: The gym is very well equipped, and again very comfortable to work out in. my only issue again was the amount of lizards inside the recreation center wall…
Restaurants: Top notch food, wonderful cuisine. We had the buffet for dinner every night…all the food was spectacular. We also grabbed lunch at the fluid pool grill, again it was fantastic – a little over priced; $100/person approx without drinks.
The beach bar was wonderful we had happy hour every day from 6-7 overlooking the sunset which was truly magical. They also offered really good shisha at $30. Our waiter Imran particularly took extra good care of us there!
Entertainment – the resort truly lacked in evening entertainment. You have to realize that once the sun is down, and you’ve had something to eat, you are on island, at the mercy of the hotel to entertain you. The first night there was some live music – frankly it wasn’t that good. It wasn’t music you could particularly dance too, felt more like background music. The second night there was a documentary/advertisement on diving in the Maldives, 3rd night there was no entertainment at all. The other resort we went to had really good live music, local dance bands, DJ night. I don’t know, I expected a little more to be honest.
We did go for an local island excursion, which was very nice and interesting, but totally not worth $75/person. There really isn’t much to see at all. You will see life from a completely different a simplistic point of view,
Overall we really did have a wonderful time. Just getting away from all the hustle and bustle of every day life. Waking up to the Maldivian sea is truly refreshing any where you go. Would we return to the Hilton? Probably not. Frankly it’s too far, and the things the resort lacks isn’t necessarily compensated in the economical room price.

Room Tip: Rooms opposite to the Seaplane landings. Also, water villas don't get beach lounge chairs. Request a beach front "beach villa"; so that you can see the ocean from your outside patio. Make sure you have plenty of "beach" space outside your villa.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanS97, General Manager at The Sun Siyam Iru Fushi Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Dear W A,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Hilton Maldives Iru Fushi Resort & Spa, we are delighted that you enjoyed a pleasant holiday with us.

Please accept our sincere apologies for not greeting you upon your arrival at the airport. My team recognises the importance of clear communications and will ensure that improvements are made to prevent any inconvenience for all our guests.

We very much appreciate your feedback on the resort and our facilities. Whilst we are sorry for the inconvenience of the Villa change when you first arrived, we are glad that you were happy with your second Beach Villa and particularly liked the outdoor bathroom. Our Food and Beverage team have received your compliments to Imran, as well as the buffet spread, the food at Fluid and your experience at Water's Edge, with much appreciation. They are currently working on providing more exciting evening entertainment and thank you for your feedback on this matter.

Regarding the wildlife on the island, we apologise if you found them offensive. But as is typical of tropical islands, it is all part of nature here in the Maldives and we do our best to keep them away from the guest rooms and facilities where possible. We have a full time pest control company based on the island; anything of this nature is taken seriously and we do our utmost to restrict and control pests at all times. Certain nature is prevalent throughout the entire country of the Maldives and cannot be controlled entirely, but we do our very best.

With regards to room cleanliness, all our rooms are cleaned on a daily basis and go through a regular schedule of deep cleaning to ensure high cleanliness standards. I have shared your comments with my Housekeeping team and can assure you that they continue to work
hard to uphold the high cleanliness standards expected of a luxury resort.

We are nevertheless happy to know that your overall experience with us was wonderful. Whilst you have indicated otherwise, we hope to once again extend our unique Maldivian hospitality experience to you should you choose to stay with us in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Alan Stocker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews