We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Harrah's North Kansas City
Nearby Hotels
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn Kansas City North(North Kansas City)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
American Inn(North Kansas City)
$75
$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
TownePlace Suites
View Deal
Best Western Country Inn - North(Kansas City)(Great Value!)
$83
$72
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn(Kansas City)
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,324)
Filter reviews
3,327 results
Traveler rating
1,543
970
477
173
164
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,543
970
477
173
164
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstable gamescasino floordiamond loungeharrah's casinovoodoo loungerooms are nicecompsstreaktubvalet
Filter
Updating list...
3,146 - 3,151 of 3,327 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The Harrah's rooms have been very nicely remodeled, so as a hotel, very nice.

The casino was very stuffy and way too much cigarette smoke but nice otherwise, nice employees, etc.

The restaurants really need to be remodeled and improved. The food was good but boy the steakhouse, etc. are dated... They should look to Harrah's properties in Council Bluffs, Iowa, Tunica, MS or Vegas for examples of restaurant facilities. The Range Bar was really poorly laided out and lacked even a basic rye whisky,,,,, The employees were great but working at a disadvantage regarding finer dining at the casino..

r&b

Room Tip: Great place to stay,, Not recommended for dining,,,Maybe the sports bar is ok but from what we saw, all the restaurants need modernization.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daniel c, Front Office Manager at Harrah's North Kansas City, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Thanks for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your visit. We are sorry to hear about the Steakhouse. The Range is in need of some updating and we are looking at ways to better the "look". We hope you however enjoyed the quality of the food? If you would like to call, my number is 816-472-7777.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

All staff was very nice. Twice had to go down to replace nonworking keys upon checkin.
Didn't go into Casino because the hall before entry was so smokey that we decided not to go in. Our cloths smelled of smoke just being in hall when we returned to the room. We ate at the buffet. Food was good but way over priced. ($22.00 each with rewards card discount) Also, we weren't very comfortable in there. Half the tables were sectioned off for "special" people,and had to take a table packed in with a lot of other people. (NOT a special bday dinner!, but pricey like one.) Also, the clientel seemed like homeless people in look. Back to room, good movies on tv were$12 - $18 each. We were wishing we were home to watch any movie we wanted for $5. The king bed took up most of the room. Nice sized bathroom.
We were very disappointed and never plan on going there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patty J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We took a trip to KC with a group of about 8 other couples last month. The experience itself was fine, and we had a good time.

The hotel room itself was OK - but outdated. It looks like the last time they renovated was some time in the late 90's - so just don't expect a modern room when you arrive (the rooms don't really match the public spaces.. those are pretty modern).

The Casino is fun, and the sports bar was great for watching College Football games on Saturday. The food was also very good.

The biggest negative (and it was a VERY BIG ONE) was that they were having plumbing issues the weekend we were there. Around 7am on Saturday morning we were trying to sleep in, and kept hearing a loud gurggling sound from the bathroom. Finally after about 30 minutes we went in to investigate, only to find sewage filling up into the sink, then slowly draining out. Then it was happening in the toilet as well. It seemed like they were using a plunger in a different room, and every time they plunged, the sewage would back up into our sink and toilet.

I called the front desk to tell them about it - and they said they'd have someone look into it. No follow up, no promise to have the bathroom disinfected from top to bottom, no discount for having to deal with the noise & smell the rest of the day and no offer to move us to another room.

Another negative is that there is no swimming pool or hot tub. We didn't realize this when we booked - we just assumed most full service hotels have these amenities - but this property does not. And it's not spelled out on the website, you have to call and ask.

If you get a very discounted rate, and want to go gamble for the weekend, it's probably an OK place to stay. Just be a bit wary... this isn't the same Harrah's you'd find in Vegas.

Room Tip: There are two towers.. ask for a room in the new one.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ekkloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We spent four days at the Harrah's Resort & Convention Center in North Kansas City and overall, we had a great experience. We stayed in the VIP room, #504 and had a lot of contact with Harrah's personnel.

Everyone was very polite, friendly and courteous and we had the Buffet three times and each time, it was prepared in an excellent manner. The room was top-notch and one of our best times was when we spent 90 minutes during a welcome reception in their VooDoo lounge, although the music was a little too loud for my liking.

I skipped any gambling during this trip, but my wife played Roulette and the Black Jack/3 Card Poker tables and ended up leaving with an extra $600. The rooms, casino and overall entire property was well maintained and everyone treated us very professionally. It was a great experience for us and we would recommend this facility to all of our friends.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedRiderSoftail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daniel c, Front Office Manager at Harrah's North Kansas City, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Thank you for a great feedback. We hope you come visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Visiting an ill relative but had to leave the hospital early. Arrived at Harrah’s North KC and

1.) Informed of a early registration charge; 2.) Did not have my king bed reserved. Cleet was rude saying “We don’t guarantee that. You’ll have to take what we have”; But you can’t go elsewhere because they’ll charge you for the night. 3.) Room key didn’t work. Went back down and got another. Didn’t work. Called from the elevator lobby. Sent up two more. Didn’t work. Sent more. Finally got a couple to work. 4.) And that “luxury room”? More like what I would expect of a poorly placed Super8. 5.) Next morning called to have car at front door. Didn’t happen. Had to ask again.

The hotel service was poor, the room overpriced and treated badly by staff. Harrah’s has millions of customers. But there are lots of options in the KC area. BTW, this isn’t what I’ve seen at other Harrah’s locations.

On the bright side I had a VERY nice steak/lobster combination dinner in the Range Restaurant provided by an attentive and pleasant server named Ashton.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dennis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daniel c, Front Office Manager at Harrah's North Kansas City, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

I am very sorry for your bad stay at Harrah's. We always try to accomadate bed types as well as special request but sometimes we fall short. We will for sure check with the agent as being "rude" is never allowed. Our focus is to always offer other options when you stay here. Please call me directly on your next visit, I would be happy to get you the room to your request.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews