We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Sioux Falls SD
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

I was apprehensive booking an econolodge and seeing some of the photos on TripAdvisor. The hotel was very clean as were the rooms. Staff was very nice and helpful. Pretty close to Worlds Of Fun. Breakfast not real good but not horrible. P.S. Marcus W I believe your picture was a box elder bug(harmless) not a roach.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michelle_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    25
    25
    15
    6
See reviews for
20
23
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

We brought the family to town to go to Worlds of Fun for the weekend. The hotel let us check in early in the morning, we'll before the normal check in time for no additional charge so we could spend the entire day at the park. Claudia at the front desk was extremely helpful, the breakfast was okay but lacking fruit. The location was central and easy to get to our other stops. Great place and we will be here again!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank envus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

We brought our family to town to go to works of fun for the weekend and the hotel let us check in early in the morning so we could spend the entire day at the park. Claudia at the front desk was extremely helpful and the hotel was central to get to anywhere in town. We will be back!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank envus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Wife and I are currently making a cross country trip. That means getting to hotels later in the night. We had a reservation for this hotel, and we arrived just before 8 pm. When I went to the front desk to check in, I was surprised to hear that my room wouldn't be ready for another "10 minutes." Really? 8 o'clock at night and the rooms are still being cleaned? They put us in room 134, which just do happened to be the handicapped room. Cant complain about that as we get a bigger shower, but still upset that we couldn't get into our room so late.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brandon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Room smelled of cigarette smoke. Evening desk clerk was not overly friendly. There were cigarette burns on the bed blanket. There is no swimming pool or any facilities for children. I would avoid anywhere in North Kansas City, it appears to be a majorly industrial area, and this hotel seems to cater to railroad workers. On the positive side, the bathroom was clean, and so was the room, although worn out a bit.

Room Tip: Stay away from North Kansas City
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 56tbyrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

Although the very back access door to the facility has a card key pad for security access, the automatic door closer on the very back door doesn't engage the security lock. Thus, the door remained freely accessible to anyone. The deadbolt lock on my door would not engage. My door was closest to the back door of the facility; the one that wasn't secure. I was a woman traveling alone. I took extra precautions for my security. Those two issues seem to over shadow the puddle of dried urine on the floor next to the stool. I stayed two nights and the spot was gone after the first cleaning. The dryer didn't work

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanetDear C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

Clean rooms, Good service, clean rooms, nice people, And good looking staff "the ladies" I was there for my company and they treated me very well. Highly Recommend.
I really have no more to say but I have to fill in a certain amount of words so in just writing this part to fill that in.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crazydaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Kansas City
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn Kansas City North
La Quinta Inn Kansas City North
#3 of 4 in North Kansas City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harrah's North Kansas City
Harrah's North Kansas City
#1 of 4 in North Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,820 reviews
3.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown
#59 of 113 in Kansas City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express North Kansas City
3.8 mi away
Crossland Economy Studios - Kansas City - Northeast - Worlds of Fun
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites near Worlds of Fun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 2232 Taney St., North Kansas City, MO 64116 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > North Kansas City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in North Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel was completely renovated in 2009. Unwind in our brand new beds and enjoy watching your favorite show on our new LCD TVs in every room. This hotel is conveniently located near many of Kansas City's great attractions such as the casinos, downtown, and Worlds of Fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing