We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, friendly, quiet & good food”
Review of Rowrah Hall B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rowrah Hall B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Rowrah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Ideally situated for our planned walking in the Ennerdale area. We stayed in The Old Dairy apartment for two nights. Tried the nearby Hound Inn (recommended by Maggie), a good "local" for food and beer. Ate at "home" in our little kitchen/lounge the second night. Great breakfasts, lots of choices, homemade bread, jams, etc. Very peaceful (and no noise from upstairs where a family with younsters were staying). Friendly welcome and useful info from Maggie and Stefan. We had chosen to visit based on reviews here and it certainly didn't disappoint. Couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnfred4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 74 of 74 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

Rowrah Hall is nice and easy to find. It's situated right next to a rather unsightly bit of land with abandoned lorries on it but do not let that put you off!!!

The welcome we received from Maggie was unbelievable - such a friendly lady - she gave us all the info we needed about our room and our stay and pointed out a folder in our room for more info. The room itself was beautiful. We stayed in the double room in the main hall. I would guess from reading other reviews that this is the smallest room but that does not matter at all, it's cute. It has some lovely features in it and is decorated to a high standard and furnished well. The shower cubicle is large enough to clean a small family at once! The bed was so comfy and the room was lovely and warm. There is a flat screen TV and hair dryer in the room and free Wi-fi.

Maggie and her husband Stefan make all their own bread, biscuits, preserves and scones (which you get in your room!) and looking after their lovely chickens which provide the tasty eggs for breakfast. You get a choice of full English, veggie full English, poached salmon and scrambled eggs plus cereal, toast, coffee and tea and juice and if you just fancy eggs on toast, they'll do that for you too!

Stefan gave us so much of his time on the morning, helping us to make the best use of our short time in the Lake District. He was incredibly knowledgeable and we couldn't of asked for a better host.

There are two pubs within walking distance of the B&B - The Stork and The Hound - both are very traditional, locals pubs and you feel a bit uncomfortable when you first walk in to them but they really are OK - be prepared for what we have discovered is typical Cumbrian portions and make sure you are hungry!!!!

Negatives:- cleanliness of the room - It wasn't 100% clean in the room unfortunately and there was some fairly thick dust on the head board of the bed.

The packed lunch - you can ask for a packed lunch and for £5 you get a baguette, bag of crisps, piece of fruit, breakfast bar and can of drink - sounds good value so we asked for this for our journey home - unfortunately the baguettes were so dry and hard that we didn't eat either of them.

The room we were in was right above the breakfast room and we were woken in the mornings by loud chatter as the breakfast room is small and echoes.

On the whole, a lovely place and those negatives would not put us off staying again - we loved it! I just wanted to be honest.

Room Tip: Ask for a room other than the Double Room above the breakfast room if you want to sleep in late in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joolz74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed in the hayloft apartment and could of happily stayed forever!
We arrived to a lovely warm welcome from Maggie who took us to our Rom and showed us around.
We found some yummy homemade cookies had been left for us and a bottle of milk in the fridge which was a really nice thought.
The apartment had a kitchenette equipped with all plates, cutlery etc and a variety of hot drinks - tea coffee and hot chocolate.
We had a sofa, dining table and chairs and tv downstairs and then upstairs another tv in the bedroom along with a dressing table and hairdryer.
The bedroom and bathroom where a great size and there where some miniature toiletries in there such as shampoo and shower gel.
Breakfast offered a great variety and was delicious cooked to order! We where made to feel really welcome and at ease by Maggie and Stefan and they where happy to chat and make time for you.
The hall is in a great location too as its away from the hustle and bustle of tourists galore... yet within easy reach of areas. We visited honister mine and Keswick and they where both not too far away.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katiecam87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We were looking for a place with easy access to the lakes but away from the hustle and bustle around Windermere and Keswick. Rowrah Hall was just perfect, situated 15 minutes drive from Ennerdale Water and 20 minutes from Wastwater and Loweswater.

We stayed in the Old Dairy, which is essentially a one-bedroomed apartment with kitchen-lounge area and separate en suite shower room. The apartment was much better equipped than we expected and although we stayed for just two days we could have comfortably spent a full week there on a self-catering basis.

As well as great accommodation, Maggie and Steffan were excellent hosts and incredibly friendly. Fresh baked biscuits in the room were a nice touch and the breakfasts were very high quality. Moreover, all of this came at excellent value. We would highly recommend Rowrah Hall to anyone looking for a quiet, comfortable getaway to a more tranquil part of the Lake District.

Room Tip: There are three standard B&B rooms, one appartment for two to share, and a larger family appartm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T_Tavender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed at Rowrah Hall 13 July 2013 in the four poster room .Very nice spacious and immaculate .Seating area flat screen TV dressing table and mirror with good hairdryer (I have a bob and it dried my hair no probs) Tea coffee hot chocolate and home made biscuit's in the room. The bed was comfy and smelt lovely we both had a good nights sleep. The shower room again was immaculate and had fluffy towels The hall is in a lovely location and very quiet.

Breakfast was well cooked hot and tasty fresh eggs home made bread (toast),jam honey and marmalade .

I would recommend to everyone .

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoynAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Daanzw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rowrah Hall B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowrah Hall B&B

Address: Rowrah CA26 3XH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Rowrah
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rowrah
Price Range: $78 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rowrah Hall B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing