We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and artistic works”

Astral Glass Studio and Gallery
Ranked #2 of 6 things to do in New Haven
Attraction details
East Glacier, Montana
Level Contributor
141 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful and artistic works”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

The shop and its glass items are beautiful, one-of-a-kind works of art. But there's more: a demonstration of glass-blowing and a friendly staff that loves what they do! These artisans were not only talented, but informative and helpful. We stumbled upon this gem of a shop by visiting the distillery around the corner; the distillers recommended a visit to the Glass Studio. If you're in New Haven or nearby, this is a worthwhile and delightful shop to visit.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MariaFolsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland Heights, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I had been to Astral glass studio on my way to stone hill winery in hermann. I travelled from st louis. The people at the studio was very friendly and they had shown us how they make pumpkin, birds, tumbler, oil lamp etc. At first when we see the glass items , we feel that it is expensive but the effort put into it seems to be really high which substantiates the price of the items. It was altogether a new experience to see how the stuffs are made. I will surely recommend you to go there to see this.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kishore S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Interesting experience”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The Astral Glass Studio and Gallery is a must see stop during your visit to New Haven, MO. The glass blowers are friendly and ready to talk with you about their trade. They are working on their art pieces as you watch. They have a large selection of their work in their studio. It is amazing to see the finished piece of art.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank rose h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a special place...”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I've received a good number of Astral Glass pieces from my best friend who lives in New Haven over the years. It wasn't until this past week, during a visit to her and her hubby's home, that I got to visit Astral in person. What they do with minerals, heat, and some tools to create their pieces is nothing shy of magic. Their work is visually stunning and quite creative. It's affordable, original art! Can't wait until I receive the vase that's being shipped.

You can just look and shop, but if you have the time, take it and watch what they do when they work the glass. Judy, Lance, Gary and Judy and Gary's granddaughter were warm, welcoming, and willing to talk about their work. Budget in some time to spend here and find out something about glass blowing you don't already know...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank PeriwinkleBlue2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great afternoon watching glass blowers at work.”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Spent one of the best afternoons of the summer watching these folks turn molten glass into works of art right in front of me. Got to watch them up close in comfort while they worked in the 120 degree glass studio. Artists came out after making each piece and talked to the audiance about what they had made and the process. Great fun, and informative! These people love what they do and pass it along to the watchers. Most surprising was seeing how fascinated all the kids were watching them! When I'm needing that special gift for someone, or when I just want to splurge on myself will definately be back to get it here. Lots of great art pieces all around the showroom and prices blow the socks off any upscale store in St. Louis. Well worth the drive down from the local winerys.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Chuck W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Astral Glass Studio and Gallery also viewed

 

Been to Astral Glass Studio and Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing