We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Norfolk gem”
Review of Endeavour Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Endeavour Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Canberra
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Norfolk gem”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

This was our second stay at Endeavour Lodge. The experience was even better this time! It has a terrific location, just above historic Kingston, on a secluded headland looking out to Phillip and Nepean Islands - a terrific view. The owners Duncan and Gaewyn are excellent, friendly hosts and take pride in their spotless and well-equipped units, which have extra touches including picnic hampers, CD and DVD players and masks and snorkels. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glenn256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Endeavour3, Owner at Endeavour Lodge, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay again at Endeavour Lodge. We are glad you appreciate the extra's that we make available to help you enjoy your holiday. Duncan & Gaewyn Evans - Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
163
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Carrara, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We visited Norfolk Island in November 2013, as two couples staying in a brilliantly presented apartment at Endeavour Lodge. The interior was spacious, and fitted with high quality appliances etc. Each bedroom was very large, coming with a double and single bed, and an impressive ensuite. The views afforded from the balcony were simply stunning. The cleanliness, attention to detail and comfort were all equally impressive. The owners were exceedingly friendly and helpful. Norfolk Island is stunningly beautiful, with a wealth of history. One aside, is the fact that an overwhelmingly large percentage of tourists to the island during our time came from the elderly / retired age group. In summary, we would unreservedly recommend Endeavour Lodge for its sublime location and outstanding facilities.

Room Tip: All of the apartments command equally stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheJeppos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Endeavour3, Owner at Endeavour Lodge, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for your review on Endeavour Lodge. We appreciate your comments. Duncan & Gaewyn Evans - Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gympie, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

The accommodation and facilities provided were excellent. The location was ideal, just down the road from Kingston's historic buildings, museums and golf course. The hosts and their staff were extremely friendly and helpful. A wonderful time was enjoyed and the whole experience is highly recommended.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank artbrush54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

What can I say that hasn't already been said before ??

This was our fourth trip to Norfolk , we have previously stayed at Governors Lodge and Channers Corner and this year made the best choice ever in staying at Endeavour Lodge.

Duncan & Gaewyn should be immensely proud of the accommodation that they provide , the units are furnished superbly , immaculately clean and the "extras" that are in the apartment are just fantastic ...glad wrap, foil, thermos flask, picnic basket , binoculars , pegs, beach towels, picnic blanket, torch, matches , salt& pepper , little hand held electric mixer and a range of cooking utensils that made self catering easy.

We were met at the airport , where we picked up our hire cars (our choice) and escorted to this amazing place ...... I found Duncan Patient and easy to deal with during the booking process
( and patience was needed as I tried to get 10 people organised and on the same page) but we got there in the end and the reward was well worth it

We travelled in a group of 10 to Endeavour and had five of the one bedroom apartments , while I would say 6 & 7 have the best ocean views , the other apartments still had ocean views but also got the view of the valley in front which we didn't get in unit 7

The apartments were serviced every third day with the bedding also changed at the 7 day mark

We loved it so much we booked for next year before leaving to come home !!! We don't want any of the people we met at golf that we raved to get our rooms !!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsw
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We arrived on 24th September and were quickly directed to where Duncan was waiting and within a couple of minutes along with another couple we were on our way with Duncan pointing out a few of his favourite places to eat out as he drove to Endeavour Lodge. On arrival our hire car was outside our unit and paperwork for this was quickly finalised and we were left to enjoy our time. Firstly we took time to familiarise ourselves with the unit, which had absolutely everything you could need and was spotlessly clean with an amazing view to Phillip Island. We decided what we would need for our stay and off we went to take advantage of the complimentary devonshire tea at Hilli's and then to the supermarket. When I spoke to Gaewyn about a mattress topper for the bed which we found a little too firm she promptly bought one to our unit and put it on the bed and when I mentioned the need for a full length mirror Gaeywn said it is behind the bedroom door nothing was too much trouble and we had a wonderful stay and would definitely chose this property to stay at on our next visit. Thank you for your hospitality Duncan & Gaewyn your are the perfect hosts. Carol & Kerry.

Room Tip: Any of these units would be perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol-kerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Mackay, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We travelled with friends and stayed in adjoining apartments. The divider on the veranda was able to be unlocked so we were able to have meals together and take in the amazing views. The apartment was stocked with everything we could have wanted or needed and was wonderful. The car and pick up at the airport was appreciated and also the bananas, picnic basket, binoculars, dvd's, books, etc and the Devonshire tea gift card. The apartment had it all - the kitchen had everything that could be needed, also washing machine and powder, clothes line and pegs We had a competition to see who could come up with something that was not supplied and a toothpick was all we could think of. Thank you Duncan and Gaywyn and your staff for making our holiday one of the best. Norfolk Island and the people are awesome and we will definitely be coming back to stay with you at Endeavour Lodge again. Alan & Grace Hutchison.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hutcho89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alstonville, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Great property all round. Picked up from airport. Friendly welcome from Duncan and Gaywyn. Car provided at small cost was invaluable. Apartment was immaculately clean and everything you could need was supplied and of very high quality. Appreciated the discount vouchers for local restaurant and also the supplied beach towels, picnic set, thermos and binoculars.
The location is great with beautiful views from the balcony.
We will remember our Norfolk Island holiday at Endeavour Lodge with fondness as we sipped wine and barbequed on the balcony, watching the sunset over the treetops.

Room Tip: Great views from apartment 2, but apartments from 3 upwards would probably have a bit better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beryleye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingston
1.3 mi away
Paradise Hotel & Resort
Paradise Hotel & Resort
#1 of 5 in Norfolk Island
190 reviews
1.3 mi away
Governor's Lodge Resort Hotel
1.2 mi away
Ocean Breeze
Ocean Breeze
#3 of 9 in Kingston
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Cascade Garden Apartments
Cascade Garden Apartments
#3 of 46 in Norfolk Island
231 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cumberland Resort & Spa
Cumberland Resort & Spa
#1 of 12 in Burnt Pine
259 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jacaranda Park Holiday Cottages
Jacaranda Park Holiday Cottages
#1 of 46 in Norfolk Island
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Endeavour Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Endeavour Lodge

Property: Endeavour Lodge
Address: 158A Collins Head Road, Kingston, Norfolk Island 2899, Australia
Location: Australia > Norfolk Island > Kingston
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Endeavour Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Endeavour Lodge, located on 4 acres of land with breathtaking views of native bushland and the rolling waters of the Pacific Ocean. From your private veranda sit back, relax and enjoy the spectacular sunsets and an amazingly wide variety of colorful birdlife. Just a pleasant 5 minute drive from the Burnt Pine shopping centre, Kingston & Arthurs Vale Historical Area, golf course, and beach. Featuring native Norfolk pine timber furnishings throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Endeavour Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Endeavour Lodge Norfolk Island, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing