We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This where and how to enjoy Norfolk Island.”
Review of Selwyn Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Selwyn Cottage
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“This where and how to enjoy Norfolk Island.”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I am just jealous that are going to be drinking wine on that balcony before me. Norfolk Island was lstunningly beautiful in so many ways. The picture perfect beaches with coral reefs teaming with life. The fishing is out of this world. History buffs, brace yourself for some tales. Fantastic people with a wicked sense of humor. You will be forced to relax and enjoy yourself at Selwyn cottage. Whole experience was priceless. But they do take visa.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aissiejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We had a great time on Norfolk Island. Selwyn Cottage is a great cottage and was ideal for us. It is private, clean and comfortable with lovely gardens. Jan and John have equipped the cottage everything you think you need for the holiday as well as some surprise extras. The cottage has a great kitchen that is equipped to cook whatever you want if that is what you want to do. The lounge and dining room is comfortable and has enough space. The bedroom has a lovely aspect, waking up to sun and light. It was also very comfortable. We loved it and would highly recommend Selwyn Cottage as a place to stay. We also thoroughly enjoyed Norfolk Island with its beautiful scenery, interesting history and restful pace. We also enjoyed the quirky culture of the island!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chezkath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We have just returned from a very enjoyable 7 day stay in Selwyn Cottage, Norfolk Island. We were met at the airport by our host, Jan, who drove us to the cottage in the car that we were to have for the week. Jan was very warm and welcoming, which set the tone for our Norfolk Island experience. We were delighted with the cottage, which is tastefully decorated. It is very comfortable and is situated in the midst of a delightful garden. It was a joy to take breakfast on the verandah, looking over the garden to see Norfolk Pines to the north. The Palm Garden portion of the National Park is at the end of the road. The cottage is close to Burnt Pine township and central to the delights of Norfolk Island. It was an excellent base from which to explore the island.

We found all staff at restaurants, shops and tours to be very helpful. Margaret Christian's Discovery tour through Baunti was a great introduction to the island. Margaret is a former national park ranger and has wonderful stories to tell of the island. Her bird book is very well structured and useful in identifying the varieties of birds to be seen on the Island.

We visited Aatuti Art which is ran by Jan and John where we purchased a framed print from the art of Sue Pearson. John was able to package this print securely and it arrived safely. Jan was very knowledgeable about the art and artefacts of the island and their warmth and assistance made our trip even more memorable. We enjoyed the beauty of the island, its role in Australian history and most of all, the interactions with the Pitcairners and their culture.

We will be coming back to Norfolk Island, and if travelling as a couple, will stay again at Selwyn Cottage.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We have had 3 visits to Norfolk Island staying at Selwyn Cottage in 2006 and choosing to return in 2010 and again this past week. The Cottage has all the comforts of home and we feel we have walked into our home on arrival. John and Jan, our hosts, are a wonderful, warm couple who ensure you are well cared for. This last visit we were delayed on Norfolk due to the incoming plane being diverted back to Brisbane due to poor visability. John and Jan's assistance for our extended stay was above and beyond what the call of duty. We love Selwyn Cottage and hope to return again and enjoy the stunning views from the cottage looking down into the valley and the pines.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singleton, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2009

We have recently returned from our second visit to Norfolk Island and are looking forward to going back again!
On both occasions we stayed at Selwyn Cottage a delightful and well appointed one bedroom cottage with magnificent Valley views from the living area and the bedroom. Everything that you need is supplied for a perfect holiday for two including candles and relaxing music. Hosts, John and Jan, are pleasant and very accommodating. They told us that they are planning a few renovations which can only improve things even more. A car is included which is a must for getting around the Island. It only takes about 3 minutes to get to the centre of town.
As this was our second stay we relaxed a lot more than our first, but some recommendations on your visit are historic Kingston, the Cyclorama, Captain Cook Memorial, Fish Fry, Mutiny on the Bounty show, half day orientation tour, Mt Pitt, a walk around the cemetery and there's so much! You can do as much or as little as you like.
There is a wide variety of wonderful shops to explore, although we found some prices not to be as inexpensive as a couple of years ago. The liquor bond store offers 30% discount on sprits and liquors on presentation of your airline ticket, but check your prices before you go. If you would like a special gift for yourself or someone special a visit to Diamonds Exclusive is a must. Brenda will look after you with unsurpassed service and quality jewelllery.
This time we dined at Stephano's and Branka House which were both delightful. Branka House is a lovingly restored first settlement home proudly displaying their history. They are only open for lunch and while the menu is not extensive the tastes, service and atmosphere is perfect. Cafe Tempo is wonderful for coffee and a light snack and lunch.
Norfolk Island is the perfect destination for busy couples or families that need some "time out". There is definitely no fast pace attractions there and that’s why it is so magical, along with the breathtaking scenery, interesting history and the most wonderful friendly locals. We can't wait to return again, we just love it!

Helpful?
7 Thank Extratraveltocome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.0 mi away
Ocean Breeze
Ocean Breeze
#3 of 9 in Kingston
56 reviews
0.0 mi away
Governor's Lodge Resort Hotel
0.0 mi away
Anson Bay Lodge
Anson Bay Lodge
#7 of 9 in Kingston
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Endeavour Lodge
Endeavour Lodge
#1 of 9 in Kingston
245 reviews
0.0 mi away
Panorama Seaside Apartments
0.0 mi away
Aataren Norfolk Island Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selwyn Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selwyn Cottage

Property: Selwyn Cottage
Address: Kingston, Norfolk Island 2899, Australia
Location: Australia > Norfolk Island > Kingston
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Kingston
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welkam tu awas ailen hoem (Welcome to our island home). Selwyn Cottage is a private, quiet, self-contained one bedroom haven in a beautiful garden with mountain and valley views. The cottage is a short walk from Palm Glen, a sub-tropical rain forest with abundant bird life, and walking tracks through the National Park. And it is only minutes from the shopping precinct, beaches, and the 'living history' of some of the world's best convict built buildings in World Heritage Listed Kingston. Descendants of the Mutiny on the Bounty landed at Kingston on the 8th June 1856 to begin the settlement of Norfolk as granted to them by Queen Victoria. Today's Islanders are a unique people with their own language and a strong culture. The accommodation contains elegant furnishings in an open-plan living / lounge / dining area, and offers every comfort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Selwyn Cottage Norfolk Island, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing