We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Norfl'k at its best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shiralee Executive Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Norfl'k at its best”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

If you want to stay in a first class cottage within walking distance of the main shops, many of the great resturants and cafes and be given a convertable to cruise around the rest of the attractions of Norf'k, you cannot go past the Shiralee Cottages. They even provide you with a mobile phone to use while on the Island.
The large very well appointed and meticulously cleaned cottage had everything we wanted and more. From our arrival in their courtesy car from the airport we knew it was the right choice. The well planted gardens ensured privacy for each cottage.
If you want anything, the hosts Coral and David are at the end of the phone ready to help.
We will return both to Norf'k and the Shiralee.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All of the rooms at the Shiralee are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robynnabara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
45
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Perfectly situated on the outskirts of Burnt Pine Shopping area (and there are some great shops there!). We were in unit 4 and it is as spacious as anything you will ever get. Spotlessly clean and well appointed, with everything you could want. Perhaps the view from the main bedroom window could be improved but otherwise the gardens and surrounds are immaculate (even the wandering chickens).

A spotlessly clean car provided in the cost of the room and although an A$190 insurance charge is a little steep, given that there is still a $1000 excess, it is a nice package. We found the Convertible a little hard to get in and out of and next time will ask for a 4 door.

Coral and David could not be more helpful, right from the greeting at the airport on arrival and the quick familiarization tour of Burnt Pine to the loan of a pre-paid cell phone for any emergencies. Well done guys!

Do try the Colony Chinese restaurant directly across the road and do find the Norfolk Blue restaurant (15 mins drive away). Hillis do a great and relaxing lunch.

The Shiralee made a superb base for a memorable week on Norfolk Island.

We will be back!

Room Tip: I would give the Convertible cars a miss, very hard to get into and out of and get to the seat belts
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kotuku123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Very hard to fault these cottages, ideally located, hire car, spacious units and great management.

We were ecstatic when we first walked into our cottage, very spacious, very new looking (they have recently been refurbished) and at the end of our stay we wanted to take them home or at least on every other holiday. Management, David and Coral were always extremely helpful, friendly and certainly they were great when it came time to say " Check out the Bay, they are unloading the ship" or "The fishing boats are going out right now - it's great to watch." Restaurants were within walking distance and the Chinese restaurant across the road served simply the best chinese food ever.

They are self contained cottages and have everything anyone would need and a mobile phone is handed to you for when you need to make bookings.

Would love to go back.

Room Tip: Grab the executive ctaages
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LeadBowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2011

My wife & I stayed in a self contained unit which was fantastic in every respect. The owners David & Coral made us very welcome the moment we landed. They took the the time to give essential information about the island. They thought of absolutely everything - including providing a torch for that night stroll around town and a mobile phone with all important contacts.

We highly recommend this to everyone - it will exceed your expectations and will want to come back again and again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sam h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

My wife and I stayed for 4 days in Unit 2, an Executive Cottage with a spacious bedroom with lovely king bed, modern well-equipped kitchen, newly renovated two-way modern bathroom with separate shower and bath. The large central lounge/dining room led onto a covered patio next to the car bay and our included convertible car. Having a car is essential for enjoying this absolutely beautiful island and having a convertible was great fun. The cottages are only a short level walk into town to the shops, cafes and some of the island's restaurants. The owner hosts David & Coral were just great and I can't commend them highly enough for their professional and friendly service. This was our wedding anniversary and David & Coral welcomed us with a bottle of wine. They also offer Premier Cottages which we were told are a little smaller.

Room Tip: Get an Executive Cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnt Pine
0.4 mi away
Paradise Hotel & Resort
Paradise Hotel & Resort
#1 of 5 in Norfolk Island
190 reviews
0.4 mi away
South Pacific Resort Hotel
South Pacific Resort Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnt Pine
106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Governor's Lodge Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Castaway Norfolk Island
Castaway Norfolk Island
#1 of 2 in Burnt Pine
98 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Tin Sheds - Norfolk Island
0.1 mi away
Cumberland Resort & Spa
Cumberland Resort & Spa
#1 of 12 in Burnt Pine
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiralee Executive Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiralee Executive Cottages

Property: Shiralee Executive Cottages
Address: 126 Taylors Road | Norfolk Island, Burnt Pine, Norfolk Island 2899, Australia
Location: Australia > Norfolk Island > Burnt Pine
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Burnt Pine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shiralee Executive Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Star AAA rating, modern, self-contained 1 or 2 bedroom cottages, also Cottages with 2 Bedrooms & 2 Bathrooms. New modern full Kitchens with dishwashers & new bathrooms with massage showers, Cottages are spacious set in beautiful surroundings, 2 minutes walk to shops, clubs & restaurants. Enjoy the relaxing privacy on your own veranda. Enjoy the tranquil ambiance of Norfolk Island. Feature include, Flat Screen TV, DVD, radio, Mobile phone provided for your stay, fan, heater, electric blankets, hairdryer, bathrobes, beach towels, laundry, transit lounge. Covered BBQ area. Vehicle with each Cottage (Late Model or new cars - conditions apply) Free Airport Transfers. Managers/Directors live on-site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shiralee Executive Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shiralee Executive Cottages Norfolk Island, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing