We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mark Twain Landing
Nearby Hotels
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bel-Air Motel(Monroe City)
$35
Booking.com
View Deal
$57
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Travelocity
View Deal
$84
SleepInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn & Suites(Hannibal)(Great Value!)
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$51
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveler rating
24
23
13
10
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
23
13
10
31
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 101 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed in a rustic cabin this weekend and it was what I expected - rustic. I did not however, expect to pay almost $200 for two nights to receive so little. Basically, what it got us was the cabin, which was completely up to us to clean and provide linens and towels; a playground; a few ponds (one of which you were allowed to keep the fish but none were caught); a pitiful looking mini golf course and a small outdoor pool. That's it. I received soooo much more at the Country Inn & Suites I stayed at the weekend before!

There's more to do at Mark Twain Landing ... for a price. Tie-dye a shirt for $10, go the waterpark for $25 an adult or $20 a kid (OUTRAGEOUS!), rent a golf cart for $50/day, etc. We were really disappointed and actually ended up going into town to a great public pool for $4/person. If the waterpark were included it would be worth it but without - just a big disappointment.

Room Tip: The rustic cabins were next to water treatment grounds and it smelled like sewage.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Mark Twain Landing, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review Katie and please accept our sincere apologies for the late reply. Since your visit we have made many changes to our campground including a nearly complete remodel of the rustic cabins you mentioned. We have also rebuilt the entire miniature golf course from the ground up and cleaned up both the pool and water park areas. Thank you again for being honest with your comments and know that we are listening to all of our guests and will continue to do our best to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I have been camping for over 30 years and have been to all different campgrounds in the United States and have never been treated so badly in my life. Just like the other review rules apply to certain people. They just like their regulars. They were rude from the moment we pulled in. Our family has never been treated with such disrespect ever! They say they have cable but the cable does not work. They say they have wifi and the wifi does not work. The hook up for the water had so many people attached to it that when I took a shower it was like a trickle. We spent $182.00 for 3 nights and pulled out after 1 night and went and stayed at another campground down the street called the Hitching Post. I highly recommend staying there! Amazing people that know how to treat customers with respect!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Mark Twain Landing, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review Kim and please accept our sincere apologies for the late reply so many months after your experience. We are doing our best to improve certain aspects of the park where our guests told us we needed help. Those include improvements to the internet, cable, water and just about every other amenity we have. We really do value your business and please know that we will always be listening to our guests from now on and making further improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My parents had a reservation here for the weekend to go fishing. My mother ended up going into the Emergency Room the day before with balance and heart issues. My father was told..."unless there is a death in the famlily, nothing will be refunded". While he was focused on getting my mother back to health, I called, called and called to try to talk to the manager. Finally, after 12 hours of trying and 6 phone calls...I finally got through. She had absolutely no sympathy at all. Policy is policy. Paula is the manager and is not responsive to customer needs. From what I gathered, her staff isn't stellar either...they could barely look up the reservation. I would look to another place to stay if I were you.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
9  Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Mark Twain Landing, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review Angela and please accept our apologies for the late reply. We are doing our best to make some changes at the campground so the type of experience you had won't happen to anyone else. While we cannot correct your situation, please know we are listening now and will strive to make our park better for everyone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This will be our 5th year going to Mark Twain Landing. There are 8 families that go for a total of about 30 of us with about half being kids and young ones. We generally stay 4 days It is great for us because some of us that do not have campers rent cabins and we can all stay right accross from each other. The cabins are not the best but how often are you really in them? they serve thier purpose. I do not recommend them though for famlies with allergies. The kids LOVE the playground and you can't beat the deal you get for the waterpark if you stay there. We always have a great time. The campground is clean, most of the staff are pretty nice and there is ALOT of activities for the kids and grown ups alike. We will contiune each year as it is a great outing for all of us families who live in MO and IL to meet up and spend quality time together.

Room Tip: We always rent the family bungalows not good for people with allergies or asthma but they are clean.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Smallen1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Mark Twain Landing, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed staying at our campground, we are really trying hard to make changes and upgrades to better serve our campers and water park guests. Some of our cabins have been completely remodeled and are available for rent now and we are doing our best to make them more accessible for those with allergies. Thanks again for your feedback, we are always listening!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This park is not pet or family friendly. You cannot find any managers that could be any less unprofessional, rude, and extremely disrespectfully to campers and that includes all the staff at Mark Twain Landing. The rules only pertain to certain people; the rules change daily and are not posted. The food in the restaurant is poor and overpriced. The "posted" activities for kids are now activities that must be paid for. They yell and scream and curse at the children and also confront the children without the presents of their parents.
This park has a water park across the street that they manage, and they close the park many times due to electric problems or water leaks in the pools, and they will not refund your money or give you a rain check. The rules are not family friendly which means if you have kids you can't take in any food or drinks for your little ones into the water park. They no longer have bumper cars or mini golf. If you are staying for even more than one day and have any visitors come to Mark Twain Landing, then they charge $5.00 per person to visit you in this park. During high peak like Memorial Day or 4th of July, the electric will go out. They blow the transformers every year and your camper could be without electric for hours. They have karaoke on Saturday nights by the pool right in front of the campers. If you are one of those who does not like loud, screaming, drunk people singing off key you will not like that, and if you have kids that are trying to sleep, good luck with that also. If you want to come to a camp ground for peace and some relaxing down time this is not the camping spot for you. Also no tents are allowed. How many families do you know whose kids don't like to sleep in a tent at night! Well not here....no tents. All in this entire park is not recommended. I hope you will find this review helpful and informative. Thanks we camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank helenwait001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews