We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very rare”
Review of The Bayou

The Bayou
Ranked #1 of 31 Restaurants in Monett
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Prairie Village, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very rare”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I ordered a steak cooked medium. It was served very rare. They did immediately take it back and rebook. The staff was very friendly but they also close early.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    28
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
MONETT
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Cajun flavor”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We are locals and the Bayou is our favorite restaurant in town. Great Cajun food, awesome ribeye, service is always good. I highly recommend the Red Beans and Rice, and the Gumbo.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monett, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good food but poor service.”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I have given this restaurant several tries but with always the same result. The server takes forever to take your order. The food comes very slowly but it is good. As for a second glass of tea----forget it. You will not see the server again until the bill comes. I will not be going back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carthage, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great food Mediocre service”
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Food was excellent. Beer tasty. Root beer float son had was made with Abita root beer and was great. Son had chicken parm and it was good. Had alligator appetizer that was good and shrimp on our po boys was better than Nola last March. Service was slow and a little disorganized . Would return cause food was great.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank r1tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
495 reviews
301 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stopped here on our way to St Louis. We had a great meal. My wife had the Oyster poorboy with bacon and fried tomatoes. She loved it. My entre was good as well. What a find in a little town like Monett, Mo. We will stop here again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 46749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Bayou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing