We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stop if you really want to see a lot of trees” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taum Sauk Mountain State Park

Taum Sauk Mountain State Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the rugged and scenic St. Francois Mountains, the park features Taum Sauk Mountain, the highest point in the state at 1,772 feet.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
92 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Stop if you really want to see a lot of trees”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

This park is very small, they do have rustic camping and a picnic grove and the road to the park is unpaved. There is one scenic overlook and you can climb the tower almost to the top for a nice view. The trail to the falls is nice, but not for little kids or those who aren't a bit athletic. In Mid-July there were no falls to see as they had dried up. Over all this was an underwhelming stop in Missouri.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    24
    12
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“skip for a hot day”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

This was a little bit of a disappointment for us. We hiked forever to see the great Mina Falls. It was a trickle. I wish we would have stayed longer at the Shut-Ins instead. Not a lot to see. Great if you want a long, rugged, monotonous hike to nowhere and back. The kids were howling by the end...hot and BORED. Maybe early spring would be more impressive.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KC64506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summersville, Missouri
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The Highest Point in Missouri”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

My late husband and I took our first grandchild to visit when she was about 3 years old. We enjoyed climbing the fire tower and seeing for miles and miles. We had seen Elephant Rocks that day and stopped by on our way home.

Helpful?
1 Thank Library-Lady65571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinconning, Michigan
Level Contributor
358 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Mina Sauk Falls is a great stop!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

I visited Taum Sauk State Park with the intention of visiting Mina Sauk Falls. I wasn't disappointed. The falls are really cool, especially in mid-April when the falls are definitely flowing! It is a little bit out of the way from the main roads. It is then a 1.5 mile hike (one way) from the parking area to the falls. The last portion is somewhat steep, though nothing really awful.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank gittinsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“where's the rest of the trail and markers?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Short path to the high point of Missouri is paved, it's not real exciting though. Maybe view is better at other times it was early spring and nothing was growing when we were there. We went on the longer trail.

We were hiking the loop trail and last red arrow we saw was by the stream with some little waterfalls. The arrow pointed up the "mountain" and to our right was a sign saying don't go this way. We could find no more arrows and no sign of the rest of the trail. There was nothing growing yet, so since we knew we had to go to the highest point we headed up. With some help from GPS we did finally cross the trail again very near the end.

The trail is interesting but it would be nice if they would do a little more work on it so you would not constantly be in danger of breaking an ankle due to all the loose rocks. Also better markers are needed!

Also the sign says allow 3 hours, which is ridiculous for this 3 mile trail. Despite getting lost (or maybe because of getting lost?) it took us about 1.5 hours.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jeffyscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taum Sauk Mountain State Park also viewed

 

Been to Taum Sauk Mountain State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing