We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What took me so long??!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Johnson's Shut-ins State Park

Johnson's Shut-ins State Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Play in the shallows of the East Fork of the Black River. Shoot through Mother Nature’s hydraulics in the shut-ins. Hike a trail that will show you 1.4 billion years of geologic history. Take your horse on a pretty mountain trail. Johnson’s Shut-Ins State Park is a jewel of the system, a place with something for everyone: pretty picnic areas, Ozark landscapes, natural places to swim, great campsites.
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What took me so long??!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

When I was in high school in U. City, MO my friends and siblings would always rave about this place. But for some unknown reason, I never went. It took my 40th high school reunion and a desire to take the back roads back home to Oklahoma that made me finally visit (and swim) at the shut-ins!! Now, we went on a Monday, so it wasn't overly crowded (weekends or holidays would be). Yes, there are kids ignoring tbe signs and jumping off the cliffs. Yes, there are lots of rules (like no food or drink, because they don't want litter). No dogs. Parking is not close, but it's not a horrific walk. Bring water shoes and plastic water bottles for your drinks. A backpack would have been handy, but I had a large purse we just made sure to keep above the water as we made our way to the beach we wanted (involved crossing pools, climbing down rocks and river) but it was FUN! There are spots closer to parking where small kids can wade without having to clamber around the rocks. If you've got a lot of small kids to wrangle, this might not be the place for you... But then again, it just might! Also, saw some kids wearing ski vests. I thought that was a smart idea, as some of the rocky pools could get quite deep. Would I go back? Absolutely! Want to take my daughters and granddaughters!! Carry on the tradition... Plan on spending an entire day, maybe two.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickivet1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    41
    10
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent Fun for Everyone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

This was a fantastic, inexpensive travel destination. There wasn't even a fee for the State Park. This is perfect for anybody who loves relaxing around water. There is also a 40 foot cliff to jump off of for the dare devil in the family. It's pretty far down off the beaten path though so you have to adventure beyond a good portion of the rocks to find it. Warning-you may have to hike about a mile before you hit the water depending on what parking lot you are in. In addition, the little store by the shut-ins was sold out of most food the day we were there so don't come hungry!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank beachboarder66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very crowded”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Way too many people for the size of the area. The Kids and young adults were still being stupid (even thought it is posted) and cliff jumping making the large pool off limits to swimmers (if you wanted to keep your head at least). The facilities are nice, but be aware you can no longer bring 'disposable' drinks into the Shut-Ins you have to use waterbottles that you can conveniently buy in the overpriced store they have at the park. It was so crowded the the usual clear water was so murky that you couldn't see your hand in front of you. I remember the Shut-Ins from my childhood, and these are not nearly as nice, even with the 'improved' facilities. Oh yes, they now have no trash cans anywhere, you have to go into the restrooms to throw away a kleenex or the tag from that overpriced water bottle. :(

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank wishing2gonorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“natural waterpark”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had a great time here! The kids didn't want to leave. Make sure you plan plenty of time, at least a day. We stayed at the campground in a 40 ft motorhome, very rv friendly. There is a shuttle on the weekends if you don't want to drive the mile over to the water feature. Bring watershoes. Eat before you go in. Only reusable containers for drinks, they don't want people throwing their water bottles/trash around mucking it up. A 5 state-parks trip, this was our favorite. It gets busy, go early.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KC64506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“No parking!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Nice place to visit but, Mo. has lots of crystal clear rivers. We have been to Johnson Shut inns twice & wont go back. Lots of rules. U can not take ANY food or drinks to the river, there is parking when u first pull n & parking back by the river but, the parking by the river they said was full all day & that we had to park up front & walk a little over a mile to the river in the heat with all of our family stuff. (We have 3 kids). There was a line to wait n for people to leave the back parking lot that the attendent only let 1 car back about every 20min. Or so. U r not allowed to bring dogs ro the river area or trail. Our family takes yearly river floats & lake trips & this was a waste of time! Cool to see once.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa0777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnson's Shut-ins State Park also viewed

 

Been to Johnson's Shut-ins State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing