We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Experience Ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A.P. Green House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A.P. Green House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Mexico B&B and Inns
Rolla, Missouri
1 review
“Best Experience Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the A.P. Green House Bed and Breakfast. It was our first time every staying at a Bed and Breakfast. We stayed in the Honeymoon Hide Away room. It was fabulous. The rooms are amazing and the couple that runs the Bed and Breakfast are extremely warm-hearted and welcoming. They provided us with fresh bread upon our arrival and we had a delicious homemade breakfast. Our stay was wonderful. We are actually looking to move to this area and plan to recommend this place to any of our visitors.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Honeymoon Hideaway which was nice because it even had a little table to enjoy our e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 157Michele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
18
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

Mike and Janine are very gracious hosts with a very interesting and exciting background. Mike is a one of a kind Master Chef and a real artist when it comes to preparing gourmet meals that are expertly served by Janine. We were even treated to some relaxing music performed by their daughter during one of our meals. There is not a five star hotel or restaurant that takes as good care of their guests as Mike and Janine. If you are looking for a fantastic place to stay or just an elegant weekend away from the hassles of life, give the A.P Green House Bed and Breakfast a try. You will be thrilled with the experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wbutulsaok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Our delightful visits began with a heartfelt welcome from Janine and Mike, innkeepers extraordinaire. Ascending the home's magnificent staircase, we were shown to our spacious, antique and charm-filled room. Breakfast was a gourmet's delight, prepared by Chef Mike and served by Janine. We could not have gotten a better breakfast at a four star hotel! What a gem this property is! Our only regret is that they are already booked for some of the dates we'll be in town. It's going to be tough going from A.P. Green House to something else. We have stayed there three times, and each time we wish we could extend our stay to enjoy the gorgeous property for another day. And especially for the opportunity to talk with Janine and Mike, who are so warm and welcoming. They love what they do and it shows. Best inn/B&B experience we have ever had.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'fallon, mo
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

We were thrilled to find a world class B&B experience right in our own backyard. Fantastic food, authentic atmosphere; all the amenities you could think of, and service that strives to exceed your expectations. We will definitely stay again. Now a visit to the grandparents can be a nice little vacation for mom and dad, too.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmbunge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft. smith, arkansas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

We travel all over the U.S. from Florida to California and as far Northeast as Washington D.C. every year. We stay at the best hotels most of the time. I am VERY Picky. This place rated way up there with the nicest hotels and lodges we have ever stayed in, no snootiness, but all friendliness! I can't think of a single thing to complain about. The snow fell in big flakes as we watched from our upstairs room. The next day we went out and built a snowman! The breakfast was delicious! Most importantly for me...it was exceptionally clean. Didn't mind AT ALL...walking on the carpet or tile with bare feet. Would recommend this place to anyone with style.

Room Tip: We have stayed in all rooms and have had the same experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 567vic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

We had a wonderful break from a stressful weekend. Our room was so comfortable and warm and inviting. The breakfasts were awesome and well worth staying there. But most we liked meeting the family and our conversations and the thoughtfulness. It was beautiful as the house decorated for Christmas. I would never stay anywhere else when visiting Mexico. Oh and the afternoon breads were just delicious. And I have to say as a smoker that very comfortable accommodations were made for me to smoke outside. That is so rare! It was our first time at a bed and breakfast but was an awesome experience. I would recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw looked awesome. I would advice you talk to them and define what you are lookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizottaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, Owner at A.P. Green House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
We appreciate knowing that our goals as a family-owned business are being met with reviews like this. Being a trained chef, I enjoy making culinary greats that most cannot find at other B&B's. My wife makes the afternoon breads or sweet breads that await you upon arrival and each day of your stay. Add a pot of specially brewed coffee or gourmet tea and the afternoon stretches into a great evening.

Call us today for your great weekend that we can make just for you. Surprise your loved one with a wonderful anniversary gift or quick getaway! I'm ready; are you?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

I was lucky enough to find a vacancy here when planning a trip to visit my son at MMA. From the moment I stepped in the front door, I felt welcome and at home. The house speaks for itself, a magnificiently maintained/renovated Victorian mansion. It was the hospitality that Michael and Jeannine show to everyone that makes this establishment first class in every way. Michael's gift of culinary skills is second to none and rivals some of many 5 star restaurants back home. I highly recommend giving this B&B a try! God Bless this family for allowing me (and my son) to share space in their home.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, Owner at A.P. Green House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for the kind remarks! My family and I give 100% for guest comfort and satisfaction. Our home becomes your home when you stay with us. You are family! Mexico, Mo has much to offer historically and culturally, so check us out soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mexico
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Mexico
Days Inn Mexico
#4 of 6 in Mexico
3.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
15.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kingdom City
0.7 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#2 of 6 in Mexico
3.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Country Hearth Inn & Suites
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Teal Lake Inn
2.4 mi away
Americas Value Inn
Americas Value Inn
#5 of 6 in Mexico
3.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A.P. Green House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A.P. Green House Bed and Breakfast

Property: A.P. Green House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1105 S Jefferson Street, Mexico, MO 65265 (Formerly Our House Bed and Breakfast)
Location: United States > Missouri > Mexico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mexico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Mexico, Missouri Bed and Breakfast, built in 1893. Our beautiful Victorian home, an icon in Mexico, Missouri, was once the home of Allen Percy Green, the owner/operator of the Green Refractory, a world renowned fire-brick manufacturer and friend to Mexico. All our guests are welcomed into our home by the owners, Michael and Janine Vogel, and our motto is; "We consider every guest family." As such, every guest will be pampered to ensure their stay with us meets their every expectation. Beyond the elegance of the home, each room has been decorated to provide warmth and comfort as well as a sense of the old Victorian charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your A.P. Green House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing