We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Extended Stay America - St. Louis - Westport - East Lackland Rd.
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Maryland Heights
Reviewed October 16, 2012

My boyfriend and I decided on an impromptu trip to St. Louis for the weekend. Since we planned to site see and check out the music scene we wanted to stay someplace inexpensive. The woman at the front desk was friendly, we arrived late, and the weather was rainy so it was pretty quiet. The room was pretty small, nothing fancy. The room had a kitchenette which I can see might come in handy. The bathroom appeared to have been remodeled. What I thought was odd was that the hotel didn't provide shampoo, just bath soap which after two uses was gone. There was also no hair dryer which I thought was a standard item found in most hotels these days. According to the sign in the bathroom unless you paid extra, you could get clean towels at the front desk but there would not be any cleaning in your room which is fine by me because I don't care for cleaning people in my room especially if I am only there a day or two - I am pretty neat. There was no "Do Not Disturb" sign to put on the door, and I was surprised when housekeeping pounded on the door the next morning. We thought we might stay another night, but when we checked with the front desk the rate practically doubled so we thought we would go elsewhere. It was ok. It was a little far from the downtown area, but if you are passing through and want to stay someplace cheap it wasn't horrible.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonyastravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Region39, Manager at Extended Stay America - St. Louis - Westport - East Lackland Rd., responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are committed to providing every guest with outstanding accommodations, so I was pleased to read your remarks about your room. Of course, I was disheartened to read that your stay wasn't 100% satisfactory. For that I am truly sorry.

I am eager to respond to your concerns regarding our hotel amenities. It is our mission to provide a clean, comfortable room at a great rate for business and leisure travelers. To that end, we don't put items like shampoo bottles, shower caps, or face lotions within a room prior to a guest's arrival. That's because although these things are perceived as being "free" at other hotels, you still end up paying for them in your nightly rate. However, given our commitment to your satisfaction, we do have a limited supply of complimentary sundries available upon request at the front desk. Doing business this way allows us to continue to offer great rooms at exceptional rates. I am truly sorry that we were unable to communicate our offering effectively to you before you arrived.

Although it is unusual for a guest to have the experience you did while staying with us, we would like to use your account to help us make our hotel even better. Again, I am deeply sorry that you did not have a completely enjoyable stay at our hotel, and I promise that we are focused on total guest satisfaction every day. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me at this hotel or to our guest relations team directly by visiting our website and clicking the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope that you will let me demonstrate our redoubled efforts in the future here or at any of Extended Stay Hotels(sm)' other locations throughout the U.S. and in Canada.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 93 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2012

Upon arrival to this hotel it seemed cramped and crowded. However, once I spoke to the front desk staff to check in and the manager, I was placed at ease. GREAT customer service with plenty of places to eat. The room was great with all the amenities I expected. If you are looking for a place that is both economical and convenient....look no further !

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - St. Louis - Westport - East Lackland Rd., responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

It was very kind of you to for take the time to publish such a positive review of your stay at our hotel. It's always satisfying to read positive feedback from our valued guests, like you. Our company motto is "Excellence Every Day, Every Way", and my promise to you is that we will continue to operate according to this practice.

It would, of course, be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future. Thank you once again, and feel free to reach out to us directly if we can assist you in any of your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I have stayed over 3 weeks with the amazing staff at the Westport St. Louis Extended Stay. They have an incredibly awesome and accommodating front desk staff and management team. They do everything to make your stay incredible. Clean Rooms, Wood Floors in Kitchen and Bathroom areas, clean Studio Style Apartments, Comfortable Beds, Great Recliner and Cable along with FREE WiFi for your Cell and Laptop and anything else you need to connect. I highly recommend checking out this hotel, this is not a fake ad, this is truly from a client whom travels quite a bit and knows the St. Louis market, you will be happy for the price that you choose this hotel. If you don't like the smell of the room stay off the 2nd and 3rd Floors because they are for smokers who smoke inside, Hotels can't do much about those rooms, so choose the first floor. They just remodeled the whole inside and out and its a well looked after property. Your right next to a 24 hour quick trip, Hooters, tons of Restaurants and Westport Plaza with more bars, restaurants, clubs and shops. Everywhere else is anywhere from 20-200 more per night plus taxes, parking and additional hidden fee's plus wireless... Why pay for that when your only going to sleep in your room while gone.

Room Tip: Remember to choose the GROUND FLOOR if you want none smoking. Floors 2 & 3 are hit or miss and r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - St. Louis - Westport - East Lackland Rd., responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Howie - It was very kind of you to for take the time to publish such a positive review of your stay at our hotel. The staff and I are very proud of the improvements which have been made to our property and even more excited to hear they are impressing our guests too. Our goal is to provide each of our guests - whether they are staying a night, a week, a month, or longer - great service and a great room at a great price. It is extremely rewarding to know we have done just that with you.

It would, of course, be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future. Thank you once again, and feel free to reach out to us directly if we can assist you in any of your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

The hotel was remodeled recently, and the general condition of the room was pretty good for the price paid, no odor, clean room. Staff was friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again if traveling there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YingTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - St. Louis - Westport - East Lackland Rd., responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

It was very kind of you to for take the time to publish such a positive review of your stay at our hotel. It's always satisfying to read positive feedback from our valued guests, like you. The staff and I are extremely proud to know that we not only met your expectations, but exceeded them as well.

It would, of course, be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future. Thank you once again, and feel free to reach out to us directly if we can assist you in any of your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Conviently located. Nice area friendly staff. Room was clean ample amount of towels. Love the cable channels

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StaceyB837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - St. Louis - Westport - East Lackland Rd., responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

It was very kind of you to for take the time to publish such a positive review of your stay at the Extended Stay America St. Louis - Westport. It's always satisfying to read positive feedback from our valued guests, like you. Although some companies run extravagant advertising campaigns for their hotels, we believe that the best kind of marketing is the public praise we get from our millions of happy customers. That's why the biggest investment we make is in our customers. Our company motto is ""Excellence Every Day, Every Way"", and my promise to you is that we will continue to operate according to this practice; after all, that's how Extended Stay Hotels(sm) got to be the largest extended stay lodging brand in North America.

It would, of course, be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future. Thank you once again, and feel free to reach out to us directly if we can assist you in any of your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I should have heeded the warnings for this place from the earlier reviews! Never again will I stay at this location. Although my room was clean, it smelled of old smoke. I went to the store and bought Lysol spray and Fabreeze. I sprayed everything from the carpet to the drapes. There was an old nasty looking recliner in the room. I sprayed it and covered it with a baby blanket I had in my car. This was a business trip, generally we don't know how long we are going to be in one place, so I booked it till the end of the month. I actually only stayed 6 days. I informed the lady at the desk and she told me I would be recieving a refund for the days not used and that I had a corporate rate for my company. After I checked out. I called the office and was informed that since I only stayed 6 days, not 7, that not only did my corporate rate not count, bu I was changed to a daily rate. It was a direct contridiction to what I had been told while I was there. Needless to say, I never got my refund. All I can say that if I had known I would be charged the daily rate, I would have chosen a nicer place to lay my head. The room was nothing to brag about. There were people living there who looked like vagrants walking the halls. The room and hall smelled awful. I may have had bed bugs as I felt things crawling on me, but I didn't seem to have any bites..until the day AFTER I checked out! I was very dissatisfied with the "I don't care" attitude of the staff. There was only one lady there who seemed to care...and she wasn't the Manager. I wouldn't recommed this place to my worst enemy.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have slightly less noise. The kids running down the halls won't echo so much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, General Manager at Extended Stay America - St. Louis - Westport - East Lackland Rd., responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. Given our company's commitment to superior guest satisfaction, I was disheartened to read that your stay wasn't 100% satisfactory. Please understand how truly sorry I am.

The experience you described is truly regrettable. We strive to ensure that our guests have an exceptional stay. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I have brought each of the issues you expressed to the attention of our staff.

Although it is unusual for a guest to have the experience you did while staying with us, we would like to use your account to help us make our hotel even better. Again, I am deeply sorry that you did not have a completely enjoyable stay at our hotel, and I promise that we are focused on total guest satisfaction every day. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me at this hotel or to our guest relations team directly by visiting our website and clicking the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope that you will let me demonstrate our redoubled efforts in the future here or at any of Extended Stay Hotels(sm)' other locations throughout the U.S. and in Canada.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Room 113 has bed bugs. Manager refused to acknowledge that this was a possibility stating there were none discovered upon examination and offered to put me in another room. RIGHT! And even though I was given a refund, what concerned me was the lack of responsibility to take precautionary action for the next guest staying in that room. The bites I received have all identifying markers of bed bug bites and the eradication of them from my luggage and clothing has been a huge inconvenience as well as painful. Buyer Beware! This hotel was sold out with insurance adjusters/contractors.....hope they don't experience what I did. Horrible experience!

Room Tip: Bed bugs in room 113. The manager stated they had an exterminator come out and couldn't find an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eddy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, General Manager at Extended Stay America - St. Louis - Westport - East Lackland Rd., responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

I recently received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to respond. Our company prides itself on providing great service and great rooms at great rates, which is why I was so disappointed to read your post. Please accept my most sincere apologies.

As this hotel’s manager, I challenge our staff to continually improve the experience of our guests, from the cleanliness of our rooms, to the courteous professionalism of our staff. Unfortunately, in your situation, it is clear that we were unsuccessful in achieving these goals. Given our belief that guests like you are our most valuable asset, this failure is particularly troubling.

Your review has caused us to take a serious look at the systems we have in place to handle our day to day operations and we will be making modifications as appropriate.

It's not common that we get the sort of feedback you provided, and although it is discouraging to read, it will help us make our hotel even better in the future. Let me apologize again that your stay was not completely satisfying, and assure you that we will continue to listen to our guests in forums like this one or directly (please visit our website and click the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page). I hope we have addressed your concern satisfactorily, and that you would give us the pleasure of having you as a guest again at this hotel or any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) brand location in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maryland Heights
0.4 mi away
Days Inn - ST. Louis/Westport MO
Days Inn - ST. Louis/Westport MO
#6 of 17 in Maryland Heights
878 reviews
0.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - St. Louis - Westport - Central
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Louis Westport
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Louis...
#2 of 17 in Maryland Heights
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham St. Louis Westport Plaza
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham St. L...
#1 of 17 in Maryland Heights
826 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Westport
Comfort Inn Westport
#10 of 17 in Maryland Heights
495 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn St. Louis Westport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - St. Louis - Westport - East Lackland Rd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - St. Louis - Westport - East Lackland Rd.

Address: 11827 Lackland Rd, Maryland Heights, Saint Louis, MO 63146-4205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Maryland Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Maryland Heights
Price Range: $63 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Extended Stay America - St. Louis - Westport - East Lackland Rd. 2*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cash is accepted as a form of payment for those guests paying by a weekly or monthly rate. A valid credit card must be kept on file for incidentals. Cash is not accepted as a method of payment for guests paying the daily rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Extended Stay, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Extended Stay America - St. Louis - Westport - East Lackland Rd. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extendedstay St. Louis Westport Hotel Maryland Heights
Extended Stay America - St. Louis - Westport - East Lackland Rd. Saint Louis/Maryland Heights, MO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing