We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“wrong direction” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Casino St. Louis Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hollywood Casino St. Louis Hotel
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Maryland Heights
Belleville, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“wrong direction”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

rooms are dirty,buffet stinks and overpriced, requested microwave didn't get it. told of free internet, no such thing. poor service, if any. put down 3k to gamble gave them very good action, made me pay 4 @#@### dollars for a beer. won a little money and cashed in, they treated me like I robbed the casino. what a @#@@# joke of a casino.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank carl r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    123
    102
    74
    52
See reviews for
52
231
41
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This is our first time staying overnight since it became Hollywood. We are locals who gamble here a lot, but wanted to be close to the airport for our early morning flight.

They gave us a comped Suite. It was the largest suite I every stayed in . The whole top two floors are Suites. There was a huge whirlpool tub if you want to relax.

We found the slots to be a bit tight this time, and they are under construction in half the casino. We do not understand why it would take forever to do this, but it has been quite a while for about a fourth of the casino to be down.

The comps seem to be a little more generous than Harrah's so far (Since the November 1st takeover), but we will see how long that lasts. It does appear that they are trying to improve on many things, but in the end they will need to loosen their slots somewhat to compete with Ameristar across the river.

We had a very nice dinner at Charlie Gitto's Italian restaurant in the casino. A first class place with terriffic food and not all that pricey for what you get.

This is still our home base casino and we hope they will continue to make improvements as promised to this property.

Big Jim

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keno777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel/casino several times when it was Harrah's, and this is the first as Hollywood. The place is showing serious signs of wear and tear. This is the first time anywhere I've had to get a different room due to smell. Second room wasn't much better. Casino still decent, as was the buffet. Overall, this place does not have the WOW factor anymore.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnH91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. louis
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Really nice room, extremely clean, lovely bathroom.
They let me check in early. Staff was very friendly.
The service was very good, I needed some extra towels
and didn't have to wait 5 minutes before they brought them.
Food is great, try the prime rib on Thursday!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wrigmob81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Don't waste your money playing slots here. Look around before you throw your money away at the slots. Much tighter than when it was Harrah's. I didn't see anyone winning and spoke to several "regulars" who felt the same way. Gambling is supposed to be entertainment but how entertaining is it to go to a casino with nothing but cold machines where you can't even win enough to play for a little while. The drink and change people were not very friendly and I got a general vibe of discontentment from employees as well as patrons. Just not a fun place since Hollywood took over. They have taken sheer greed to a whole new level and have tightened their slots to a ridiculous level.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Serena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We recently spent three comped nights at this hotel, that was recently converted from a Harrahs property. The hotel room was very nice, clean, with a refrigerator. The only problem we had was upon doing the check-out in the room, found there was an error which we had to go to the front desk to correct. The staff at the desk were efficient and friendly. The casino is under some renovation. The buffet is average.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vandalia, Illinois
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed with my dad at the New Hollywood casino on January 1st. The hotel was excellent, rooms were clean, nice and beds very comfortable. The Staff was very nice and pleasant. Only bad side was they did not have a swimming pool or hot tub for when you want to relax when your not gambling.

We went to the Casino it was okay. I went to the bar in the Casino sat down to have a few drinks and play some video poker. I waited almost 45 minutes until a bartender came up to get my drink order. There were 3 bar tenders and only about 4 other guest at the bar. They were occasianly making drinks for when the waitresses came up with the orders from guest through out the casino, but they weren't very busy at all. Half of time the bartenders where standing around talking to each other and one was constantly leaning against the counter. They looked at me several times, so they knew I was there. When the bartender finally came up to me and took my order, which was a Long Island Ice Tea, I watched him as he went to the cash register with my credit card. He started to talk to the other bartender and showed him my credit card, they both looked at me and laugh. I guess they thought it was funny using a credit card for buying drinks. I had two Long Islands, which where Highly Over Priced, cost almost $9.00 for just one!!! The Casino Queen only charges about $3.00 for a Long Island Ice Tea.

This is the second time we been to the New Hollywood Casino. Each time bad customer service! The casino is nice but they need to do something with their staff!

Room Tip: Get a room close to the elevators if you have trouble walking. Their hallways are very long!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TSP1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maryland Heights
19.2 mi away
River City Casino & Hotel
River City Casino & Hotel
#7 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 stars 419 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Riverport St. Louis
Holiday Inn Express Riverport St...
#12 of 16 in Maryland Heights
3.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Louis Airport - Riverport
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Louis...
#7 of 16 in Maryland Heights
4.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites St. Louis-Riverport
Homewood Suites St. Louis-Riverp...
#10 of 16 in Maryland Heights
4.0 of 5 stars 424 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham St. Louis Westport Plaza
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham St. L...
#1 of 16 in Maryland Heights
4.0 of 5 stars 503 reviews
4.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Louis - Westport
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. L...
#3 of 16 in Maryland Heights
4.0 of 5 stars 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Casino St. Louis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Casino St. Louis Hotel

Property: Hollywood Casino St. Louis Hotel
Address: 777 Casino Center Dr, Maryland Heights, Saint Louis, MO 63043-4821
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Maryland Heights
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Maryland Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hollywood Casino St. Louis Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While you are here, we invite you to discover exciting gaming with non-stop entertainment and gourmet dining. Test your luck on our extensive selection of over 2,100 slot machines plus over 57 table games. We also have a number of dining options from fast, delicious burgers at Celebrity Grill to a more upscale experience at Final Cut Steakhouse. There is something to settle everyone at our seven dining venues. The excitement doesn't stop there! Don't forget about Boogie Nights. Dance the night away with the Ultimate 70s & 80s dance club open every Friday and Saturday from 9pm - 3am. Experience fun and excitement all under one roof. If there is anything we can to enhance your stay, please do not hesitate to call us at 1.855.STL.GAME. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hollywood Casino St. Louis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrahs Hotel Maryland Heights
Harrah's Maryland Heights
Harrah's Saint Louis
Harrahs St Louis Casino Hotel
Hollywood Casino St. Louis Hotel Saint Louis/Maryland Heights, MO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing