We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay, but where's the TV Channels?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hollywood Casino St. Louis Hotel
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Maryland Heights
St. Louis, MO
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Good stay, but where's the TV Channels?”
Reviewed March 26, 2008

This was my first time staying at this hotel, which is attached to a casino. Check in was very fast. There are two different "towers-Island and Mardi Gras" where the rooms are located. When going on the elevators to your room, you have to enter the elevator, and then insert your room key into the key slot, then press the floor button. Once on the floor, there are security cameras in designated places in the hallway.

The room itself was very nice. Heavy, cream colored -four-panel doors, bifold,-louvered white doors for the closet. A large gold dressing mirror attached to the wall. When you enter the room's 'foyer", there are marble floors, which extend into the bathroom.


Bathroom-Exquisite. Marble floors, nice deep tub, which looks like an rectangular jacuzzi tub without the jets. Gold water faucets, and shower. Towel ring attached to the vanity, Kleenex, a lighted round magifying makeup mirror attached to the wall
( Loved this! ), Gold trimmed rectangular mirror that spread across the wall over the vanity. Nice amenities: Soap, lotion (nice scent), shampoo, conditioner, and hairdryer. Very good water flow from the faucet.

Negative: It was a strand hair on the ledge of the bathtub ( another poster said this earlier about their room as well) and on the floor under the vanity.

Closet: Has an in-room combination safe on the shelf, which you need a credit card to use, an iron/ironing board, and luggage rack.

Bed: nice duvet cover, and throw on bed. Bed was high from floor, but I didn't think it was the most comfortable I have slept in. It was a little firm for my tastes.

Room: Has a round table with two arm chairs, and a lamp, ice bucket , 2 glasses (real) on a tray and ice tongs ( which I'd never had in a hotel room before-nice touch) Also, has an alarm clock and granite tops on the nightstand and the dresser, which had a widescreen flat-screen tv on the top of it.

NEGATIVE; Tv has a VERY LIMITED number of channels. 2 are hotel channels, you get CNN, USA, TBN, ESPN, another sports channel, and the local channels only ( 2 4 30(12), 5 , and 11). Was very suprised at the lack of channels, although this is a casino hotel, I guess they expect you to be gambling, not watichg tv in the room. They do, however, have "On Demand" entertainment, for a fee. You can select from a variety of for-a fee- programming: Adult, television shows on demand, music video channel, tv internet ( Keyboard is next to tv), and a few others.

There is a fitness center in the hotel, need your room key to enter. I did not see a business center or an area to print out an airline boarding pass like in most hotels.

POSITIVE; Free parking, always a plus

I had breakfast in the "Eat Up" breakfast buffet. for $11.00. It was just ok at best, and overrated, in my opinion. Food choices included bacon, sausage, cream of wheat, grits, oatmeal, biscuits, gravy, eggs w/cheese & chives on it, pancakes, plain and blueberry, made for you omlets, salad, fruit salad , melons, juice, coffee. I have had better at Hometown Buffet.

There are other restaurants on the property as well: a steak house, an Italian eatery, a Cafe, and the Voodoo Lounge ( Where they tape Harrah's Lucky Break Kareoke Contest ) every Wed. night, to be televised on Saturday nights. It's a lot of fun to watch the performances.

Overall, the hotel is nice ( but very pricey), and I would recommend it to anyone, especially if they play in the casino on a regular basis, and receive a free room as a comp.

  • Liked — Elegant Feel of room ( marble floors, makeup mirror in bathroom, flat screen tv), gold faucets, Fridge in room, etc.
  • Disliked — Skimpy Television Channels, Matress too firm (for my taste) Price
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neeneed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    145
    116
    80
    59
See reviews for
62
259
48
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2008

Harrahs gave us a comp room for a Thursday & Friday night. We arrived late on Thursday. Check -in was a breeze. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms are about average for this type of casino. The only restaurant we tried was Club Aroma. We ate there for breakfast 2 days in a row. It is similar to a Starbucks. The rest of our meals we ate offsite.

We spent most of our time in the casino poker room. We played mostly $3/$6 limit. There was a short wait to get a table. I found both the dealers and players to be friendly. The dealers have a call button for drink service which is very handy. The poker room is non smoking and has maybe 18 tables.

We also played some of the other table games and found the dealers at those tables to be friendly.

I would definitely go back if I can get a good rate on the room.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauralea27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2008

We stayed for a friday night and had a blast! The king suite was beautiful and had an awesome bathroom and tub! We had dinner on property at the Longhorn Steakhouse and it was delicious! Of course we spent a few $ at the casino, but it was expected! Cocktails are very cheap in the casino. I used an offer that Harrahs sends to patons to get a good rate on the hotel. If you need a quick getaway, try this out!

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2008

I have stayed at the Harrah's Hotel and Casino property in suburban St Louis over 40 nights in the last year. The hotel has two separate towers, the "Island" and the "Mardi Gras". The Island contains the "luxury" which in this case means "standard" rooms on the lower eight floors. The top two floors of the "Island" tower has more expensive suites. The lower seven floors of the "Mardi Gras" tower contain "premium" rooms, which are a bit larger and have a few more amenities than the "luxury" rooms. The top two floors of the "Mardis Gras" are also home to more expensive suites.

First, let me in no particular order list what I believe to be the positive aspects of the Harrah's- St Louis Hotel.

Friendly service from the front desk and all service people.
Comfortable Beds
Top notch linens, down pillows and comforters on the beds
Clean, modern rooms
Quiet, effective heating and air conditioning in the rooms
Aesthetically pleasing colors and motifs in the rooms and common areas.
Large, comfortable bathrooms (including large tub/shower) in the Mardi Gras tower.
Ample very hot water from the shower/tubs
Accessible free ramp parking and easily available free valet parking
Good, reasonably priced restaurants.
Easily achieved comps on rooms and food via the casino.

Now for the "needs improvement" category.

Hotel has no swimming pool.
Property is located across the road from a landfill(dump) which tends to send it's stinky air on a regular basis to Harrah's- you don't smell it all the time but when you do.... p..u
Television selection offered in the rooms is scanty at best
Water pressure from room bathroom showers is rather weak
Bathrooms and shower/tubs in "Island" tower are small.

I hope these short lists help in all intrepid travelers.

Helpful?
1 Thank seachild14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Harrah's for our Valentine's Anniversary. We found that if you booked on Feb 13th, instead of Valentines Day, that the hotel was very affordable! The rooms were spacious, and absolutely immaculate. The bed had fluffy, white blankets and pillows. They provided room service, and had a very nice deep soaking tub. Even though the hotel was connected to the casino, it was very quiet. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. There was plenty to see and do, and also plenty shops and numerous restaurants, offering you anything from Sandwiches to Seafood. We enjoyed our stay, and would definately recommend it!

  • Liked — Fun, food,shopping, and Hotel all under one roof....
  • Disliked — No Pool.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travlin4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2007

This place is pretty new and the rooms are well appointed. I too, thought it was a bit pricey. Great flat screen TV, bed was comfortable. There are beautiful marble floors in the bathroom and hallway. However, the are VERY slippery when wet. You must use your room key to operate the elevator which is a nice touch. They do have a coffee maker in the room which is unusual for a casino. The front desk staff was not very friendly nor helpful. After checking in I had to drive to the parking garage and their directions were just awful. I only stayed one night. Oh and the alarm clock in my room went off at 6AM.

One note about the casino. In order to get in the casino you MUST have a Harrahs card that they swipe. To operate any machine you MUST have a Harrah's card in the the machine. If you leave the casino and accidently leave your card a machine, you have go to the desk, wait in line and get another one. I will never go to this casino again. Talk about big brother.

  • Liked — Beautiful room
  • Disliked — casino
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank sendmehome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2007

Received free offer in mail from Harrah's. Stayed Fri & Sat. night for weekend trip to St. Louis. Got in 11pm Friday check in was a breeze. Easy access to room from parking garage. Fast elevators. Stayed on 4th floor (island tower)- view of Missouri River. Quiet room, newly renovated & spotless. Kids 5&6, thought it was wonderful. Spent a couple hours a night gambling in the casino. It was packed, mainly younger crowd(20's). Friendly dealers. Fair drink service $2.50 bottles. Cafe food good. Would recommend for anyone wanting to stay near St. Louis. We went to Cardinals game, Arch/Riverfront, & City Museum (all highly recommended) Hotel is about half hour from downtown.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tggro0893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maryland Heights
19.5 mi away
River City Casino & Hotel
River City Casino & Hotel
#16 of 121 in Saint Louis
544 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Riverport St. Louis
Holiday Inn Express Riverport St...
#15 of 17 in Maryland Heights
164 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Louis Airport - Riverport
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Louis...
#13 of 17 in Maryland Heights
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Homewood Suites St. Louis-Riverport
Homewood Suites St. Louis-Riverp...
#11 of 17 in Maryland Heights
511 reviews
4.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Louis Westport
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Louis...
#2 of 17 in Maryland Heights
623 reviews
4.6 mi away
Days Inn - ST. Louis/Westport MO
Days Inn - ST. Louis/Westport MO
#8 of 17 in Maryland Heights
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Casino St. Louis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Casino St. Louis Hotel

Property: Hollywood Casino St. Louis Hotel
Address: 777 Casino Center Drive, Maryland Heights, Saint Louis, MO 63043
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Maryland Heights
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Maryland Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hollywood Casino St. Louis Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While you are here, we invite you to discover exciting gaming with non-stop entertainment and gourmet dining. Test your luck on our extensive selection of over 2,100 slot machines plus over 57 table games. We also have a number of dining options from fast, delicious burgers at Celebrity Grill to a more upscale experience at Final Cut Steakhouse. There is something to settle everyone at our seven dining venues. The excitement doesn't stop there! Don't forget about Boogie Nights. Dance the night away with the Ultimate 70s & 80s dance club open every Friday and Saturday from 9pm - 3am. Experience fun and excitement all under one roof. If there is anything we can to enhance your stay, please do not hesitate to call us at 1.855.STL.GAME. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Hollywood Casino St. Louis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrahs Hotel Maryland Heights
Harrah's Maryland Heights
Harrah's Saint Louis
Harrahs St Louis Casino Hotel
Hollywood Casino St. Louis Hotel Saint Louis/Maryland Heights, MO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing