We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Penthouse suite is beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham St. Louis Westport Plaza
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Maryland Heights
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Penthouse suite is beautiful!”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in one of the penthouse suites with my friend, and it was a real luxury for each of us to have a separate bedroom and bathroom. We asked for a quiet room and got one away from the entrance drive, and it was super quiet. It was more like living in a condo than staying in a hotel - super spacious and the layout is beautiful with one bedroom above the other and the high-ceilinged living room. The breakfast was good, but what really surprised me was how good the dinner was on the one night that we ate there - meatloaf, potatoes, vegetables, salad, cookies, and even beer and wine - lots of things and very tasty. If you fly into St. Louis and call upon arrival, they will even send a taxi to pick you up free. I loved it here and did not want to leave.

Room Tip: There are several different buildings, and I got one away from the entrance so it would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmore9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck s, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham St. Louis Westport Plaza, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
rmore9,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor of your most recent stay. I am so happy to see you enjoyed your stay. We strive to deliver Service So Memorable for every guest, and it looks like we succeeded!

Thank you
Chuck Schoene
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    222
    95
    49
    35
See reviews for
353
135
54
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BANGALORE
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed here for 4 months no one can match hospitality of this Residence Inn. Its not a hotel, it is actually a residence.. We checked in to a studio suite, Although there 2 Bedroom Pent house are amazing but costly. Great Supper in the evening, I loved cookies..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMIT2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck s, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham St. Louis Westport Plaza, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
AMIT2106,

Thank you so much for your kind words, regarding your most recent stay with us at the Residence Inn St. Louis/Westport. We appreciate you taking the time to let TripAdvisor and other people know of your great experience.

We look forward to your next visit,

Chuck Schoene
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlstadt, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 1 night for business , room was nice and clean, and comfortable. Too much furniture, felt like every time I turned around I was bumping into something. It worked and was a nice change of pace. I would stay again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck s, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham St. Louis Westport Plaza, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Jeff W.,

Thank you for staying with us at the Residence Inn St. Louis/Westport. We are all glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will be returning if you visit our area again.

Thank you,

Chuck Schoene
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Great rooms and breakfast, Staff friendly. Rooms were clean and bright . Bathroom area rather large as well as kitchenette. HD tv channels and strong wifi. Some rooms have freeway noise, but I actually like the white noise. Beds comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chubmasterp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck s, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham St. Louis Westport Plaza, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
chubmasterp,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate when our guest share their experiences with us.

We look forward to your next visit

Chuck Schoene
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Had 2 of our grandchildren with us so stayed in the penthouse. Kids loved it, especially when Alberto (housekeeping) brought them a goodie bag filled with treats & things to do. Every staff member we met was super friendly & would take a few minutes to talk & make sure our stay was pleasant. This hotel has the best dinner spread out of all the Residence Inns we've been to so far. Food was excellently prepared with a big variety which was great as I wanted to avoid fried foods & heavy carbs. (I was told the dessert; cookies & brownies were awesome.) The fitness room was impressive... able to do a complete workout with equipment I was already familiar with. My only bad comment would be that our room carpeting had just been shampooed & was very wet until the next morning...thankfully we noticed it right away & didn't set any fabric on the floor.

Room Tip: Older hotel but still well kept up. If you plan on sleeping in you may want to get a room further a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rj D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck s, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham St. Louis Westport Plaza, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Rj D,

Thank you for TripAdvisor review of your most recent stay. We truly appreciate you taking the time out of your day to let us know how we are doing. I am very glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to use many of our complimentary amenities.

Thank you,

Chuck Schoene
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We really don't have much bad to say. Yes, it is away from downtown but we did not want to be that close, pay for parking, etc. The staff was so friendly-front staff, maintenance, food prep. All said hi, welcomed us, asked if we needed anything every time we saw them!
Our bathtub quit draining the 2nd day and they came to fix it. Granted, it was not at the time we requested but the pool/hot tub was right there so we went and spent time down there while Tony took all of 15 minutes to fix it. If something like that is going to ruin your stay, you are WAY too high maintenance! He left us an apology note with some cookies and water. Nice touch!
We ate breakfast there every morning-nice buffet-style. Had a few different options everyday, healthy and not so much. We didn't go on vacay to be strict to your eating routine, so it suited us fine. It ran until 10a, so that was real nice, after being out until early morning Sat and Sun! Ample parking was available. The layout of the place reminded us of staying at some of the resorts in the Caribbean we frequent-a few rooms in each section, some upper level and some lower with a balcony-type entrance.
We asked about dining, specifically pizza and they had menus readily available behind the front desk, the staff was great about giving their recommendations as well. We ended up at Pi and it was yummy!!
Check in and out was super easy. One side note is that they had a shuttle bus to and from the Hollywood casino, last one runs at 1130. We would've used it but came back much later than that. Might be nice to use if a person is just going there to eat and gamble a bit.
Hope the review helps, we had a great time. Thank you to the staff for making us feel welcome!

Room Tip: We stayed in the 600 rooms-right across from the pool, fire pit area. The exercise room is real clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NurseyGirl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck s, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham St. Louis Westport Plaza, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
NurseyGirlK,

I have to just say WOW! Thank you for your great review of your stay with us. It sounds like you had a pleasant stay minus the one issue. Though it looks like Tony did a great job delivering against our Service So Memorable model in solving the issue.

We strive to be one of the best hotels in the St. Louis market and the brand. It really appears we may have hit our goal with you.

Thank you,

Chuck Schoene
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed here over labor day weekend while visiting family in St. Louis.

Good: The room itself was clean and very large. Perfect for our family of four. The kitchen area was great. Could have easily cooked a small meal. The bedding was pretty comfortable and no complaints from the kids sleeping on the pull out couch. The bathroom was clean and the provided toiletries were adequate. All staff members were friendly and nice, including housekeeping. The location is convenient if you need to be on the west side of St. Louis or need easy access to 2-70.

Average: The breakfast was decent but super crowded. The staff honestly tried to keep up with the demand but it was almost impossible to find a seat and the wait for the waffle machine was ridiculously long.

They do have a small swimming pool but it was taken over by a pre-teen football team most of our stay. The work out room also seemed nice but was never able to get an available treadmill during my free-time.

Bad: All night parties. Each night there were hotel room parties in rooms surrounding ours. Extremely loud with music and people yelling. When the staff would arrive they would quiet down for a bit and start up again.

I am assuming this hotel is known as a local party hotel since there were so many parties that weekend. Maybe it was just because it was labor day weekend but we probably wouldn't stay at this RI location again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimber_jewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck s, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham St. Louis Westport Plaza, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Kimber_Jewel,

Thank you for letting us know about your stay. We strive to be an ABOVE the completion hotel, so I was concerned to read your review stay, very average.

Our staff tries very hard to make every guest feel welcomed and appreciated during they stay as well meeting the high Marriott Standards. It appears that was a success.

I do apologize for the Labor Day crowd and the struggle to use our many amenities we provide. Labor Day is always a tough weekend and we do many things to try to control any issues that may arise. We do not consider ourselves a party hotel and take measures to prevent that.

I would ask when visiting St. Louis again please feel free to use our services again.

Thank you,

Chuck Schoene
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maryland Heights
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Louis Westport
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Louis...
#2 of 17 in Maryland Heights
623 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn - ST. Louis/Westport MO
Days Inn - ST. Louis/Westport MO
#7 of 17 in Maryland Heights
848 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites St. Louis
Sonesta ES Suites St. Louis
#1 of 7 in Creve Coeur
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Westport
Comfort Inn Westport
#10 of 17 in Maryland Heights
490 reviews
16.4 mi away
Best Western St. Louis Inn
Best Western St. Louis Inn
#1 of 1 in Tesson Ferry
818 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Louis - Westport
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. L...
#3 of 17 in Maryland Heights
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham St. Louis Westport Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham St. Louis Westport Plaza

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham St. Louis Westport Plaza
Address: 1881 Craigshire Road, Maryland Heights, Saint Louis, MO 63146 (Formerly Residence Inn St. Louis Westport Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Maryland Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Maryland Heights
#2 Family Hotel in Maryland Heights
#4 Romantic Hotel in Maryland Heights
#8 Business Hotel in Maryland Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham St. Louis Westport Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Keep your routine intact when you travel to St. Louis for extended periods of time. Our Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham St. Louis Westport Plaza hotel is the ideal hotel choice in St. Louis, Missouri for business travel, relocation, and family vacation. With an on-site fitness center, seasonal heated outdoor pool and hot tub, breakfast area, sundry shop, business center, complimentary area shuttle and guest laundry facility, our St. Louis hotel is your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham St. Louis Westport Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn St. Louis Westport Plaza Hotel Creve Coeur
Residence Inn Saint Louis
Saint Louis Residence Inn
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham St. Louis Westport Plaza Saint Louis/Maryland Heights, MO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing