We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham St. Louis Westport Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham St. Louis Westport Plaza
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Maryland Heights
Certificate of Excellence
New Salisbury, Indiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

Stayed here during family visit, in the Penthouse room. It was very large and spacious with 2 large bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, kitchenette and living room w/ sleeper sofa. It was a great value for the size family I have. There was only 1 hiccup, which was a $250 hold on our debit card because it was the weekend, that wasn't told to me when I confirmed the reservation, but the the Mgr did a great job in helping us resolve the issue. This hotel had the best breakfast of any hotel we have ever stayed in. They are in a great location, only minutes from the interstate. The TV reception was very poor. Wished they had a list of local places, restaraunts & groceries, and directions to get there, especially when we are only there for a short time. It's hard to find the time to look for these places without getting lost.

Room Tip: I would recommend the 2 story penthouse for a large family because it has lots of room. Even though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trishberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck s, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham St. Louis Westport Plaza, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
trishberg,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Residence Inn St. Louis/Westport Plaza on TripAdvisor. We appreciate people going out of their way to let us and others know about their stay. We do pride ourselves in our 50% larger rooms and newly renovated gatehouse and patio.

I wanted to apologize for the TV reception issues you had and we worked very hard to solve all issues. Also you mentioned recommendations and directions. We do actually have a wide selection of options with directions to and from out our front desk. Next time you visit us please check with our local experts at the desk to get you anywhere and everywhere.

Thank you,

Chuck Schoene
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    177
    72
    39
    28
See reviews for
281
108
42
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

Very happy with the hotel. Stayed there for 3 nights with my wife. Comfortable beds, great warm breakfast, clean and recently updated room, very friendly staff. Will stay there again when in St. Louis.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Msim56003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck s, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham St. Louis Westport Plaza, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Msim56003,

Thank you so much for your kind words. I really appreciate your kind words and have passed them on to the staff. We look forward to your next visit to St. Louis.

Chuck Schoene
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed here a few weeks ago over Spring Break. The property was centrally located and only 10-20 minutes from everything we wanted to do or see. Our room was more like a little apartment and perfect for me, my husband and our two teenage daughters. There was a full kitchen and two bathrooms as well as 3 TVs so everyone was happy. There is a nice complimentary breakfast every day and a happy hour on the week nights. We did not attend happy hour, but it sounded like it would be nice as well. The rooms are really soundproof. We were a little upset as we walked up to our room and realized it faced a very busy/noisy freeway; however, as soon as we closed the door, we could not hear a thing. We will definitely stay here again when we visit St. Louis.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SPorter1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck s, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham St. Louis Westport Plaza, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Sporter1964,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate it when people take time to post a review and let us know how we are doing. I have passed on your kind words to the staff and we all look forward to your next visit, and maybe next time we will get to see you during our evening social.

Chuck Schoene
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
135 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

Kinda a bumpy start. After 15+ hours driving we arrived late. When our daughter folded out the sofa sleeper she found crumbs & popcorn in the sheets? Called the desk & new sheets were brought out. Went to make coffee in the morning & there were grinds left in the filter hopper? Told the morning clerk about the incidents & she was very apologetic & accomodating.
Good Breakfast. & I believe they have a managers happy hour at night.
The facility is pretty modern - nice updates. Tucked away in Business Park - Not really close to any interstates.

Room Tip: Priceline it for the best value
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck s, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham St. Louis Westport Plaza, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I truly apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. I understand that it must have been frustrating after a long trip. I will be speaking with the housekeeping department, Managers and inspectors to make them aware of your experience and use it as a teaching moment.

Again thank you and we look forward to seeing you again,

Chuck Schoene
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

Where to begin? First and foremost the neighborhood was sketchy. I asked for a quiet room and was given a room connected to the fitness center across from the laundry. I was then given a "new" room and proceeded to unload my things. Upon entering the room I observed some cosmetic and cleanliness issues. The couch was stained and had the cushions overturned and backwards (obviously to cover more stains). The carpet was baggy (loose) in one area and presented a slight tripping hazard. The carpet was stained in one area and frayed in another. There was a hole in the closet door that had been half heartedly patched. The vinyl flooring had a scorched mark in it. The strangest thing is that the room appeared to have already been remodeled? The furnishings were moderately new just poorly maintained, and the building itself was poor. The final straw was during my exit to my car and I looked down and observed a small empty plastic baggie with some little logos on it. I looked a bit closer and realized it was a baggie that appeared to be one that narcotics is generally distributed in. I guess that gives you a clue into the clientele that this hotel attracts, especially on the weekends. Truth be told this entire hotel was a ten on the awful scale.

The one shining star was the front desk clerk Kelly. She was professional all the way and completely apologetic about the condition of the hotel. She really should be commended for her professionalism and nice demeanor.

Room Tip: Avoid it, at all cost....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gtraveler8001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck s, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham St. Louis Westport Plaza, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
First let me apologize for your troubles and experience. This by no means is the norm at our hotel as many can see from the several TripAdvisor comments we have. We do consider our hotel to be very safe, clean and friendly.

I wish you would have stayed and given the whole Residence Inn by Marriott St. Louis / Westport a chance to show you how exceptional we truly are.

Chuck Schoene
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

We stayed for 7 nights here in December. It was cold outside but nice and warm in our room.
The staff was very friendly and often asked if there was anything we needed. We had a minor problem with our TV (no HD reception), and they responded within minutes of my call. The room was spacious, well appointed and comfortable. The morning breakfasts and evening dinners (both included) were nicely prepared, had good variety and were plentiful. There are also lots of great restaurants nearby. We had an evening flight home and they let us stay in our room until 3:PM. Great stay,

Room Tip: Best rooms are on second floor, away from highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brijanmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck s, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham St. Louis Westport Plaza, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your stay with us. We always appreciate when people let us know how we are doing. I look forward to passing on your kind words to the staff and the department heads.

Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.

Chuck Schoene
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
163 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

We stayed during the world series and the location was perfect. About 30 minutes from downtown St. Louis and easy access to the highway. Rooms are very spacious and have their own full kitchens. The housekeeping could have been a little bit better, toilet paper was not replaced on one of the days. Overall though it was clean. Free hot breakfast in the morning was very nice. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cubs_Fan007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck s, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham St. Louis Westport Plaza, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your most recent experience with us at the Residence Inn St. Louis / Westport. I will be passing on your comments both positive and constructive to the team and especially in Housekeeping.

We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maryland Heights
0.1 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites St. Louis
Sonesta ES Suites St. Louis
#1 of 7 in Creve Coeur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Louis Westport
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Louis...
#2 of 17 in Maryland Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Louis - Westport
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. L...
#3 of 17 in Maryland Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Days Inn - ST. Louis/Westport MO
Days Inn - ST. Louis/Westport MO
#6 of 17 in Maryland Heights
3.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
15.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55
6.7 mi away
Clayton Plaza Hotel
Clayton Plaza Hotel
#3 of 5 in Clayton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham St. Louis Westport Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham St. Louis Westport Plaza

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham St. Louis Westport Plaza
Address: 1881 Craigshire Road, Maryland Heights, Saint Louis, MO 63146 (Formerly Residence Inn St. Louis Westport Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Maryland Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Maryland Heights
#4 Romantic Hotel in Maryland Heights
#8 Business Hotel in Maryland Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham St. Louis Westport Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Keep your routine intact when you travel to St. Louis for extended periods of time. Our Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham St. Louis Westport Plaza hotel is the ideal hotel choice in St. Louis, Missouri for business travel, relocation, and family vacation. With an on-site fitness center, seasonal heated outdoor pool and hot tub, breakfast area, sundry shop, business center, complimentary area shuttle and guest laundry facility, our St. Louis hotel is your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham St. Louis Westport Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn St. Louis Westport Plaza Hotel Creve Coeur
Residence Inn Saint Louis
Saint Louis Residence Inn
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham St. Louis Westport Plaza Saint Louis/Maryland Heights, MO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing