We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older property, but a good value. Wonderful beds!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Westport Chalet Hotel St. Louis
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Maryland Heights
Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Older property, but a good value. Wonderful beds!”
Reviewed August 8, 2009

Here's what this hotel isn't: It's not a vacation resort, despite the word "chalet" in its title. It's not a new property and things don't always run like they should (read the end for details). It's not going to knock your socks off in any way, save for the beds themselves (and especially the pillows), which are as good as any I've ever slept in. And in the end, that's kind of the most important thing when you have to stay somewhere a week, isn't it?

Here's what this hotel is: It's convenient to several business centers in St. Louis (particularly Edward Jones), it's decently close to the airport and its location (west St. Louis) puts it on a fairly light-traffic side of town. The employees are friendly and attentive. The decor is well appointed. The climate control systems work flawlessly.

The high points don't stand out, beyond the beds, and there aren't many low points -- but there are a couple of those. The ancient hot water delivery system doesn't always work well (the showers have terrible temperature control). Housekeeping leaves instructions on how to conserve towels, then doesn't follow their own advice (i.e., they replace all the towels every day regardless of what you do), probably hunting for tips. The TV is shy on channels. Drinks at the bar are small and overpriced. Probably the only real negative is the food. Beyond the standard breakfast fare, which is good, you would be advised to eat your meals elsewhere. Dinner was overpriced and not good at all, although the wait staff is some of the best I've encountered. And it's not all that convenient to tourist/shopping locations.

The verdict: Quality at a good price.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ConStar8788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    135
    108
    58
    42
See reviews for
95
69
19
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2009

We attended a wedding reception over the weekend and it was a fantastic stay. From the front desk when we checked in to the great food at the wedding reception we cannot say enough about the great service we received.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bevah40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florissant, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2009

We recently spent our anniversary weekend at Westport Sheraton Chalet. We had a great room which was clean, and comfortable. The staff was professional, and all of our meals were delicious. We defintely will be going back next year!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank peanut1378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2009

This is not a typical sheraton hotel. It reminded me more of an old worn out apartment complex with unattractive and undermaintaned patios and balconies off the rooms. the first room we were assigned had slugs crawling all over the room, and it smelled very musty. We called to the front desk, and were quickly reassigned a new room. The common areas seemed dingy, and the hotel in general was just not appealing. Granted, we got the room for 54 bucks on hotwire, but it was classified as a 3.5 star hotel, that it is not! You could tell the pool area was nice at one time, but was fading. We drove over to the sister hotels indoor pool, and were not impressed with that hotel either. Dark, dismal, and depressing. I dont know how these hotels are still sheratons. The Chalet is more at the level of a Best Western, and the tower is more comparable to an older holiday inn hotel. If you want to stay in Westport, go down the road to the Doubletree. Much nicer hotel with more recent renovations.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank athenian01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2009

Once again the wife and I were out and about. Wedding ceremony and reception was held here. Got a little tipsy again so we got a room. Room was a bit dated, but clean. No real issues except paying $9.95 for internet that ran from noon to noon. While most hotels offer free internet there are some like this one that are still behind the times, but there was a St. Louis Bread Company near by that is free. We at breakfast the next morning and the food was as good as it was at the reception. Very friendly banquet staff the night before and front desk staff both checking in at night and checking out the next morning with the exception of when they tried to explain to me the $9.95 internet fee ran from noon to noon. I didn't use the internet at the hotel because we checked in late, but if you want to have fun just ask the front desk why they don't offer free internet. I bet they wished management would change that.....probably would cut down on guest complaints by 1/2. The other complaint would be the elevator being a bit slow, but I wasn't in any hurry, but they could use an upgrade. Walked the hotel grounds and they look nice. People looked like they were having fun in the pool, nice pond with many geese, but with geese you get geese poo so watch your step on the path. To their credit I did see someone hosing it off, but it is a losing battle until the baby geese grow up and fly away. Overall I enjoyed my stay. If you are looking for something brand new this is not the place for you, but if you are looking for a clean and comfortable room and a nice staff I would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PelicanBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2009

My husband & I stayed here 2 nights too long. Room smelled musty, but seemed clean enough, the problem was that we brought home a BIG cockroach in one of our suitcases. I can assure you that it was not in there when we went! I was disappointed in the location of our room, and after discovering the cockroach after we returned home, I would absolutely not ever stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baseballgame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2009

I didn't like this hotel at all, and I have nothing positive to say about it. Try the Hampton Inn or Doubletree nearby.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingApe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maryland Heights
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Westport Plaza Hotel St. Louis
Sheraton Westport Plaza Hotel St...
#5 of 17 in Maryland Heights
441 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Louis - Westport
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. L...
#3 of 17 in Maryland Heights
954 reviews
0.6 mi away
Days Inn - ST. Louis/Westport MO
Days Inn - ST. Louis/Westport MO
#8 of 17 in Maryland Heights
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites St. Louis
Sonesta ES Suites St. Louis
#1 of 7 in Creve Coeur
474 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham St. Louis Westport Plaza
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham St. L...
#1 of 17 in Maryland Heights
768 reviews
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites St Louis - Westport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Westport Chalet Hotel St. Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Westport Chalet Hotel St. Louis

Property: Sheraton Westport Chalet Hotel St. Louis
Address: 191 Westport Plaza, Maryland Heights, Saint Louis, MO 63146-3001
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Maryland Heights
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Maryland Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Westport Chalet Hotel St. Louis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seeing is believing! Sheraton Westport Hotels now boasts the completion of a multi-million dollar renovation, featuring stylish new guest rooms with impressive functionality, the ultra-comfortable Sheraton Sweet Sleeper™ Bed, and flat screen TVs. Our hotel is also conveniently located next to our sister hotel, Sheraton Westport Plaza Hotel St. Louis, and offers access to more than 20 restaurants, exclusive shops, and entertainment. We are also just minutes away from several Forbes and Fortune 500 headquarters. Meeting planners will appreciate the combined total of 42,000 square feet of meeting space and our state-of-the-art conference center.Come stay in the heart of St. Louis at the Sheraton Westport Chalet Hotel St. Louis and surround yourself with everything our exciting city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sheraton Westport Chalet Hotel St. Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Louis Sheraton
Sheraton Saint Louis
Sheraton Westport Chalet Hotel St. Louis Saint Louis/Maryland Heights, MO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing