We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much nicer than expect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Westport Chalet Hotel St. Louis
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Maryland Heights
Akron, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Much nicer than expect!”
Reviewed July 14, 2011

My husband and i needed a room in westport last minute for a funeral. I tried priceline with a bid of $70 for (3 1/2 or 4 stars, don't remember) and won with Sheraton Chalet. I was very nervous. I have stayed at the Chalet a couple of times for business 8-10 years ago. Not good memories. However when we got there the lobby had just been remodeled. Beautiful! Check in was quick. I asked if the rooms in the Chalet had been remodeled and was informed, not yet. Now i was even more nervous. Walking to rooms, halls dark and dingy as I remember, but when we entered the room i was pleasantly surprised. The rooms may not have been remodeled YET but the rooms had been updated. Newer beds with bedbug protection. I still had my husband check for bedbugs. No signs. Newer flat screen TV. Very comfortable pillows and comforter. And air conditioning that worked-the most important factor to me in a hotel in STL. Did not eat breakfast or dine at hotel. All in all i was happy with the hotel. Especially with a winning bid of only $70 the night of arrival.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeninohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWestportPlz, Manager at Sheraton Westport Chalet Hotel St. Louis, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Thank you for your review & for staying with us.

Glad to hear that you enjoyed our newly renovated lobby completed in 12/2010, our guest rooms with flat screen TV's & all other amenitites.
We strive to make our guests feel that they are at their home away from home & its with feedback from our guests that we continue to grow & provide great customer service.

Thank you again & we hope to see you in the future

Gina Fayek
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    133
    108
    58
    42
See reviews for
93
69
19
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

I really enjoyed our couples weekend here. The check-in was pretty smooth, with just a couple of hiccups. The room was nicely appointed, but it had a slightly funky, sweaty smell to it, as if poorly ventilated or inadequately refreshed.

The hotel's breakfast was very nice (not included). Lots of fresh fruit, eggs, sausage, beverages and the like. The front desk staff was very pleasant. Nice fitness room, too.

I think the very best part of the trip, however, was the way the chalet looked at night. The rooms glow from internal lights and they reflect on the lake. It made for a rather romantic backdrop for some late night outdoor conversation.

Perks: the hotel is just off, practically connected really to the Westport Plaza. You can literally walk to a nice range of restaurants there. There is no real shopping however. Just restaurants and a little comedy spot.

Notes on the swimming pools: There is an outdoor pool that is available at the chalet. But if you want indoor swimming, you'll have to go to the other Sheraton Hotel which is very close (about 50 meters). On our weekend, there were TONS of kids playing in the indoor pool, so we skipped it. It was Memorial Day weekend however, so I guess that's to be expected.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a great view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Complicated_Melody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWestportPlz, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Westport Chalet Hotel St. Louis, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
Thank you for letting us know about your stay at the Sheraton Hotels in Westport. We are very happy to hear that you had a good time with us. The pool is a hot spot in the summertime for sure, so I apologize that you did not really get to use it! We do usually keep our pool open later in the year than public pools, so maybe after the kids all go back to school in late August you can come back for another couples weekend! We hope to see you again in the future and again thank you for your feedback!

Thank you,
Ashley Hogan
Front Office Manager
Sheraton Hotels in Westport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

The Westport Chalet is a nice little hotel. Even though it's in a busy suburb of St. Louis right along the interstate, they still manage to make the setting beautiful. With a charming Swiss exterior and trails wrapping around a small pond behind the hotel, it has an atmosphere that is well-suited to quiet enjoyment.

The convention space inside the hotel is spacious but sprawling, with no connecting hallway on the bottom floor. In fact, there's no connecting hallway on the bottom floor between the hotel rooms and the convention area (except for a narrow corridor that is always locked on one end) NOR between two of the convention areas on the bottom floor themselves. After being in convention spaces with stranger layouts, it wasn't a huge deal, but it does make for a difficult time getting equipment around the place.

The rooms are small. Very small. A room with two beds feels like a queen-bed room with two doubles shoved in there together. If they hadn't been so expensive (over $100 a night even with the convention rate), I wouldn't have minded as much.

I believe there was free internet. That wasn't important on this trip, but it may be important if we go back again.

The staircase down to the Versailles ballroom is beautiful but seems to be marble. It got rather slippery during the convention, and I almost fell down it.

It's a fine space for conventions and conferences. The rooms are nicely-decorated but small. The pool wasn't open while we were there, and the torches in the back of the hotel were not lit. I imagine it's quite beautiful at night when they are.

No real complaints but nothing that stands out terribly either except how pretty the hotel is on the outside.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wraithofmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWestportPlz, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Westport Chalet Hotel St. Louis, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Thank you for your recent review of our property! We are glad to hear that you had a good stay. Right now our outdoor pool is open and the grounds are all set for summertime! It looks fabulous! We have recently renovated our entire lobby, with which slip resistant edging was placed on every stair of the marble staircase down to our Versailles Ballroom! Although you had a good stay, we strive for excellence at the Sheraton Lakeside Chalet and hope that you do come back to see us again soon for the exceptional experience that we know we can provide!
Thank you,
Ashley Hogan
Front Office Manager
Sheraton Hotels in Westport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2011

We didn't know what to expect after reading some of the reviews, but the place was great!
Friendly staff..wonderful room..clean...king size bed with great linens..nice assortment of toiletries...Starbucks coffee in coffee maker...good location surrounded by good restaurants in all price ranges...paper outside the door every morning.
We loved it!!

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celticlil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWestportPlz, Manager at Sheraton Westport Chalet Hotel St. Louis, responded to this review, June 5, 2011
Thank you so very much for your review of our property! We are so glad to hear that you had a fabulous stay! The Starbucks in the room is always a big hit! We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas, USA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2011

This place is old except for the lobby. Everything else has a fresh coat of paint to cover up how old it is, but the carpet tells the truth. We booked through a 3rd party and when we woke up to go eat the "complimentary breakfast" (as advertised on their website with no caveats), they asked for our room# then said we didn't qualify. What a joke! Sheraton obviously has cheapos running their accounting department. The beds were very uncomfortable, too, and I usually love sleeping on a hard mattress.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWestportPlz, Manager at Sheraton Westport Chalet Hotel St. Louis, responded to this review, June 5, 2011
Thank you for reviewing our property we certainly appreciate the feedback. I apologize sincerely about the issues that you experienced while staying with us. We are currently looking into the situation regarding the breakfast that should have been included in your room, we are not sure where the miscommunication occured, but will of course try our best to remedy this issue so that it does not happen to any future guests. If you do come back to see us in the future I would love to offer you complimentary breakfast! Also, I am so very sorry about the bed issues that you experienced. All Sheraton hotels have what is called the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper bed, which is usually know for its high level of comfort, and I can only apologize that this bed did not seem to live up to this standard.
Again thank you very much for letting us know about your stay with us!
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2011

This has to be the lousiest stay i have ever had I'm thinking a nice area should have a nice hotel well if you are booking through a agency online don't even bother staying at this hotel . This hotel was so sneaky that they placed bottles of water in the room and once you open these bottles of water they will charge you $4.00 for 2 bottles of water and will tack this on your financial statement. Not only was the deceit deceiving but they placed me down this long hall way all the way in an end room away from civilization I suppose. The room was old, dusty, and very unmaintained I would have better stayed in my car than live here in this hotel and guess what upon checkout the woman at the front desk tell me no charge. Why WAS I charged $4.00 for 2 bottles of water ?

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank epaulfrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWestportPlz, Manager at Sheraton Westport Chalet Hotel St. Louis, responded to this review, May 27, 2011
I would like first & foremost apologize for the misscomunitcation in regards to the in room bottled water this is a hotel brand standard to charge non-SPG guests $4.00 per Bottle. I am glad that the guest agent took care of the charges for you upon check out.

Again thank you for staying with us hope to see you in the future

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2011

As one of 80 reunion members, I found Chalet comfortable, tidy and clean. Staff service was uniformly excellent. Hotel shows its age, but my room on 2nd floor and Club Lounge on 5th floor were in top shape. Complementary breakfast and coctail/hors d'oeuvre hour in Club Lounge for guests in club class rooms were superior - $20 per room daily fee for Club Lounge privilege worth the price, especially if you have two or more in your party. Hotel dining room better than average and many restaurants in surrounding Westport complex, several quite good. I ate well at Trainwreck Saloon (good beers on tap), Drunken Fish, and Paul Mineo's Trattoria. Not many tourist type shops in complex - a plus for my nickel. Overall a comfortable place and good value.

Room Tip: Go for Club class room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paterfamilias99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWestportPlz, Manager at Sheraton Westport Chalet Hotel St. Louis, responded to this review, May 21, 2011
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for staying with us here at the Sheraton Hotel Lakeside Chalet & for your kind review. We are pleased you have enjoyed your guest room, club lounge & Westport restaurants.
We strive to make every guest feel like they are at their home away from home and it's with feedback from our guests that we continue to grow and provide great customer service
We look forward to seeing you next time you are in St. Louis
Thanks & Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maryland Heights
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Westport Plaza Hotel St. Louis
Sheraton Westport Plaza Hotel St...
#7 of 17 in Maryland Heights
434 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Louis - Westport
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. L...
#3 of 17 in Maryland Heights
928 reviews
0.6 mi away
Days Inn - ST. Louis/Westport MO
Days Inn - ST. Louis/Westport MO
#6 of 17 in Maryland Heights
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites St. Louis
Sonesta ES Suites St. Louis
#1 of 7 in Creve Coeur
457 reviews
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites St Louis - Westport
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Westport
Comfort Inn Westport
#8 of 17 in Maryland Heights
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Westport Chalet Hotel St. Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Westport Chalet Hotel St. Louis

Property: Sheraton Westport Chalet Hotel St. Louis
Address: 191 Westport Plaza, Maryland Heights, Saint Louis, MO 63146-3001
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Maryland Heights
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Maryland Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Westport Chalet Hotel St. Louis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seeing is believing! Sheraton Westport Hotels now boasts the completion of a multi-million dollar renovation, featuring stylish new guest rooms with impressive functionality, the ultra-comfortable Sheraton Sweet Sleeper™ Bed, and flat screen TVs. Our hotel is also conveniently located next to our sister hotel, Sheraton Westport Plaza Hotel St. Louis, and offers access to more than 20 restaurants, exclusive shops, and entertainment. We are also just minutes away from several Forbes and Fortune 500 headquarters. Meeting planners will appreciate the combined total of 42,000 square feet of meeting space and our state-of-the-art conference center.Come stay in the heart of St. Louis at the Sheraton Westport Chalet Hotel St. Louis and surround yourself with everything our exciting city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sheraton Westport Chalet Hotel St. Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Louis Sheraton
Sheraton Saint Louis
Sheraton Westport Chalet Hotel St. Louis Saint Louis/Maryland Heights, MO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing