We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Colosseum Luxury Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Century City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2009

I had the privilege to stay at the Protea Hotel Colosseum and I was so impressed! We arrived late at night - the staff was so friendly, offered us drinks and helped us to settle in! The room was beautifull and I woke up to the gorgeous view of Table Mountain. My day was made when I could walk to the Canal Walk shopping centre without any hassle to find parking and the breakfast was a real feast as well!

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a friendly, homey stay in Cape Town for the Holidays!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 14,772,280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (419)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

400 - 406 of 419 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2009

I stayed at this hotel for work and although it is a new and beautiful hotel it has a few negatives.
It is located too far out of the city central requiring one to spend between $15 and $20 USD each way for a taxi to get to the city centre/ V and A Waterfront area.There is an Italian restaurant next door along with an ATM, Woolworths and a coffee shop as part of the strip mall connected to hotel.The area is being built up but basically looks like a Dubai construction area in some parts.

The other negative is that whomever thought of the room design did not think about people would not like having an old fashioned bathtub in full view of your bed area AND that you would have to walk through the shower to go to the toilet? Seriously,it was a pain to walk through wet shower stall to go to the bathroom. Bathroom sink is clear bowl with trendy look but not practical for makeup or storing toiletries-had to use the sink in the kitchen area.Most of the rooms are ensuite with microwave,coffee supplies,hairdryer and plasma TV in livingroom area and bedroom.
The hotel has a wonderful complimentary (for me at least) breakfast-eggs,bacon,salmon,cereals,fruit,etc. The staff are very nice and the hotel is clean and very modern in its decoration with complimentary newspapers everyday.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momflys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2008

Our first trip out to South Africa, man I was looking forward to it. Especially after chatting to some of our friends who have done the South African thing before. Well our first stop Cape Town, staying over at the Colosseum Hotel in chanel walk.
The hotel was great and the location was close to one of the biggest shopping malls in the country. The wife was out of her element because we did forget to pack some very impotant items.
The room was big and comfortable and we could not ask for more. But I just have to mention a few things that did put a damper on our stay must be the bad room service and the cold food. The reception manager (Wahip) was not very helpful when it came to sorting out all the problems. Not all the staff were bad, some of them are really friendly and gave the best effort to help us. (Jolene, Natasha)
So after the first day of problems the rest of our stay was great. I just wished we had more time in Cape Town to see and do more. Maybe next time.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Irishbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
Thank Lawlau974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Colosseum Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alessandra_G672017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stephanie589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Century City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Century City Hotel
#3 of 4 in Century City
89 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colosseum Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colosseum Luxury Hotel

Address: Corner of Century Way and Century Boulevard, Century City 7441, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Colosseum)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Century City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Century City
Price Range: $139 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Colosseum Luxury Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colosseum Luxury Hotel, Cape Town's finest urban luxury hotel, occupies a prime position in Century City, just ten minutes from the city center, the world famous V&A Waterfront and 15km from the airport.Accommodation comprising of 68 spacious suites, with a choice of Deluxe, Executive Suites and Presidential Penthouses. All suites are fully air-conditioned, with two flat screen satellite LCD TVs, lounge and kitchenette with high quality appliances. Complimentary high-speed wireless internet connectivity is available throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Colosseum Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing