We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Service Beware of Shady Management Practices”
Review of Super 8 Marshall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Marshall
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Marshall
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We booked this hotel in February for a scheduled two night stay in July. Upon booking we were told that there was a 24 hour cancellation period. In the morning of our scheduled arrival we were advised by friends who live in the area not to stay at this hotel. We found another hotel and since there was a convention nearby and this hotel was full, the new hotel graciously agreed to send several customers to this Super 8 Marshal, MO. Super 8 management refused to let another guest stay in our place that was sent by the other hotel. When we arrived at the hotel we asked to remove the second day from our bill as we were giving a 24 hour notice (more like 28 hour notice). The hotel management refused, now claiming to have a 7 day cancellation policy. As we were standing there, another guest asked if there were any rooms for his friend who had just arrived who could not find a room elsewhere. In front of us, the manager said" no we do not have any rooms available, we are booked solid." We said, "yes, they could have the room we no longer want, for tonight and the next day" the manager refused. When we contacted Super 8 Corporate office (after 27 minutes on hold) the representative spoke with the manager and the manager still refused. Corporate told us that individual hotels may make there own policies. We did not stay at the hotel and will avoid Super 8 in the future.

Room Tip: We ended up statying in Sedalia, MO at the Comfort Inn and had exceptional service and outstanding a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDC118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8marshallmo, Manager at Super 8 Marshall, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

We apologise for your inconvinience.
However We hope you would have inspected the room before going to another motel,,.

Since you booked hotel with special discounted rate code ,as mentioned in reservation that this reservation is non cancellable and such there is no refund.We feel sorry that you decided to go to another motel witthou giving a look at room.
Your friend advised you not to stay , and we believe your friends view is important , however you could have atleast seen the room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 158 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2012

Nothing fancy but right place at right price,
property is claen and rooms are comfortable and having interior corridor, away from main road.
having new mattresses and hot breakfast is good to start a day.
definately recommend to all my friends for this motel.
After Chillicothe this is the main town having all kind of restaurants ,walmart and gas stations
and as such prefer to stay here whenever travelling on Hw 65 from Iowa to Arkansas.
Nolan Mike
nolanmike911@gmail.com

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nolan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8marshallmo, General Manager at Super 8 Marshall, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thanks for taking time to give your opinion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Good place to stay,nice and clean and in the centre of shopping places,just behind super walmart, restaurants and gas stations.
Good bargain at rate of $59 ,good for 1 night stay.
Mike Russel
mikerussel398@yahoo.com

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We stayed at the Super 8 in Marshall, MO. We left at 8:00am and about 9:00am we received a call from that hotel telling us linen from our room was missing. We assured them we had not taken any linen from them, and there must be a mistake. Because, "they couldn't" account for the missing linen, they conveniently added $20.00 to our bill. I guess that's one way to make money. $20.00 doesn't "make or break" most people, but it's the principle behind this unfortunate event that troubles me. It makes me wonder how many people they have done this to. I thought I would warn the next person.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marlys A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We spent five days here in February and found the rooms comfortable, clean, and spacious. The staff was hospitable and friendly. The price was right even in these hard economic times. We will stay here again when we visit Marshall. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. For the price I don’t see how you can beat it!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

I have stayed many times at the Super 8 in Marshall thru the years. It used to provide a nice clean room at a reasonable price. The last 3 years it has become run down, dirty, and expensive for basically a bed and shower. The management seems to think that $70.00 for a broken down bed and filthy shower is a good deal, maybe where they are from that is accepable, but we do not. 3 years ago we could get the same room for under $50.00, and it was at least clean. We have decided this would be our last stay at this overpriced, filty, motel!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RicardoSt_Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2010

Rooms are clean, staff is friendly and good location,near many restaurant,super walmart and local college.
At price of $62 , good place to stay.
would like to stay at this super8 whenever visiting marshall,mo.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VickySpringfieldMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8marshallmo, Manager at Super 8 Marshall, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2011

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write a review of our hotel.
We take great pride in our service and clean rooms.
Thanks again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marshall
49.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Marshall Station
14.2 mi away
Super 8 Sweet Springs
Super 8 Sweet Springs
#2 of 2 in Sweet Springs
52 reviews
14.2 mi away
Night Inn
Night Inn
#1 of 2 in Sweet Springs
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Iron Horse Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Marshall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Marshall

Address: 1355 W College St, US 65 & College St, Marshall, MO 65340-2994
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Marshall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Marshall
Price Range: $65 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Marshall 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Super 8 Marshall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Marshall
Marshall Super Eight
Marshall Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing