We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth the stop” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Walt Disney Hometown Museum

Walt Disney Hometown Museum
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Marceline
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Walt first came to Marceline by train when he was five years old. The Santa Fe train arrived at the depot that preceded the present-day one, which was rebuilt in 1913. When Walt returned to Marceline for the first time in 1946, the depot evoked his first memories of pulling into Marceline. So it is fitting that the museum dedicated to one of the most influential persons of the last century is housed in this restored Santa Fe Depot.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well worth the stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Don't expect a miniature Disneyland for kids. This is a place for adults to go to be reminded as to the joy of dreaming and creating new experiences. Expect an intimate presentation about the Disney family and stories about how Marceline, Missouri inspired Walt Disney and his brother, Roy. There are so many personal letters and belongings donated by family which could be displayed in so many other locations worldwide. However, the Disney family chose Walt's beloved hometown as it is the place that let him dream...and dream big.

I won't be able to watch a Disney classic now without noticing the subtle references to Marceline.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    20
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Port Alberni, Canada
Level Contributor
207 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Loved It”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

I am a huge Walt Disney Fan, not just of the theme parks but of the man. This museum had so much history and personal letters that were about the man himself and the rest of the Disney family. The volunteers there were so friendly and helpful. The first part of the tour was guided, the second part was self guided. After the museum the voulunteers had told us what else to see in Marceline. So we drove and seen the Disney complex, the Post Office with the Disney name, Main Street (which Main Street USA at the theme parks is modeled after) and finally we went to see Walt Disney's Dreaming Tree at his boyhood home. If you are a Disney fan this is a must see.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, NJ
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Volunteers are five stars, pray for Marceline...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

I'm a huge Disney fan (annual passholder on both coasts, D23 Expo, etc.) and when I was driving across country I made it a point to finally visit Mr. Disney's hometown. I knew the museum is a work in progress, but I was greatly surprised by a lot of the information they had. For instance, I never knew Disney had other siblings other than Roy, including a Howard Hughes-like weirdo-recluse! The museum is modest but it's set in a beautifully preserved train station. The train runs by 70 times a day (no lie!). You can sit upstairs and watch the trains roll by. There are many photos of the Disney family, taken from his sister Ruth's private collection. Overall, there's the feeling the displays only scratch the surface. There's a lot that's alluded to (for instance, it's touched upon that Ruth Disney - who hated crowds - had an unhappy life, but no more info is given).

Marceline is justifiably proud of Walt and Roy's visit and the museum is a loving tribute. The volunteers exude pride and respect, many of whom have a personal connection to the 1950 visit. I couldn't be more privileged to be in their company.

As for the city of Marceline itself... well, it's not Main Street, USA. It's modest to put it politely, with many boarded up stores. If you strain your imagination you can see the connection to Main Street. It's worth a stroll, and then a drive far away from there.

If I have any complaints, it's the typos on the information ("it's" vs "its") and lack of information for some of the displays (a series of letters between Walt and sister Ruth are shown but not explained or translated; fascinating stuff unexplored).

If you love Disney like I do, you should make a point to visit. From modest origins comes greatness. I wish the museum the best.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SingletonTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Rewarding visit to 'Small Town' Museum with surprises!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had seen the advertising for the Walt Disney Hometown Museum but what a treat! Beautifully laid out displays, excellent documentation and so much family material in addition to the models from the original Disneyland experience. We would go again!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
303 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Day trip to Marceline”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

This museum has been on our day trip list for a few years. We can't believe we've taken so long to get there. Perfect to be headquartered in the train depot... It's a trip back in time!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrcabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walt Disney Hometown Museum also viewed

 

Been to Walt Disney Hometown Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing